We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a thoroughly enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A beautiful hotel. The rooms are always immaculate, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The bar is very cheap and well stocked and the breakfast is always amazing. I always stay at The Grand when I am in Hartlepool or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Damian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Damian L, Thank you for your great review of the hotel, we look forward to seeing you in the future, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Again we have visited The Grand, Best Western Hotel, Hartlepool. The staff are a credit to the management. Always happy and smiling, always ready to help.. We have been to a wedding, the young girl who greeted us with drinks on our return from then church with a smile also greeted us the next morning at breakfast with the same beaming smile, it felt like it was the same staff all weekend. The Duty Manager did an amazing job ensuring everything ran smoothly at the reception. The rooms are always clean and tidy and the bar area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, Thank you again for making our stay enjoyable and hope to see you all again in December.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Maria A, Thank you for your great review of the hotel, we look forward to seeing you in the future, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I recently visited this hotel for my friends wedding which I worked as Toastmaster. I have to say the service was excellent, kelly and her team did an amazing job despite several delays. Well worth a visit

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Gavin, Thank you for your great review of the hotel, we look forward to seeing you in the future, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Really friendly staff and clean spacious room. However, twin room only had towels for one and only one locker light. Breakfast was terrible. Tea served from a flask of warm water and the worst poached eggs we've ever had. Also heating going full blast on the corridors on a very warm night. Real pity as this hotel has great potential

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B0naparte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Boneparte, Thank you for your review, since the issues we were having on breakfast we have brought in new staff and the change has been very positive, if you were to use us again the change and high standards would be very noticeable, we hope to see you again the near future, Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is supposed to be the best hotel in Hartlepool and this might be really the case.
The rooms are modern, very well furnished & decorated and clean - however, extremely hot. You can only sleep with the open window. Therefore, ask for a room to the backside as the street side is very noisy (mainly due to traffic).
Reception is friendly and helpful but nothing more. During check-out I wasn't even asked if I enjoyed my stay. On the other hand I did receive a free upgrade to an Executive room during my second stay (without asking for it).
Breakfast is ok. You can choose croissants, cereals, yoghurts and some fruits from the buffet or ask for the (full) English breakfast. Stay away from the bacon - it's very tough and really doesn't taste good.
All in all it's a nice hotel for your business trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SunnyKitty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Sir.

Thank you for you comments upon your recent stay here at Best Western Grand Hotel.
Our apologies that you were not asked if your stay was a pleasant one. I hope your stay was pleasant and enjoyable.

We would very much like to hear back form you and hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a brilliant wedding at this venue the room looked fantastic everything went to plan staff couldnt do enough they were all so pleasant all our guests commented how lovely the day was from start to finish still talk about it today nearly a year after will never forget this venue for makeing it such a lovely day for my husband and myself and all our guests would really reccommend this venue for a wedding or for any important function HappyDays xx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impressedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear ImpressedD, Thank you for your great review of the hotel, I will ensure the staff see the comments we look forward to seeing you in the future, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and parked out car in the rear carpark, we were early and couldn't check in, however the receptionist still let us park there whilst we had a look around Hartlepool. Once we checked in at two o'clock we were informed we had been given a free upgrade. We attended our room which was the best hotel room we've ever stopped in. It was huge and had a good theme to it, spa bath two double beds ect. We went for a drink in the bar on the night and was happy to see the drinks were very reasonable prices. The staff were friendly enough and for the money you can not grumble. The only bad points of our stay were; when we put the spa bath on it was kicking out dirt ( I understand these are hard to clean) and the sinks and bath wouldn't drain and a smell of sewage kept coming up. The noise from the town centre was really bad and kept us awake all night. I understand the hotel can not help this. Overall a great hotel and we all had a great time. Thanks!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Kingy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Kingy199, Thank you for your great review of the hotel, we look forward to seeing you in the future, Kind regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartlepool
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#7 of 9 in Hartlepool
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
523 reviews
2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
145 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#11 of 18 in Durham
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel

Address: Swainson Street, Hartlepool TS24 8AA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range: £40 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing