We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, even better service!”
Review of Norton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Reviewed 30 June 2013

LOCATION
Superb sea views and located in a beautiful part of Hartlepool. A Few good places to eat locally and some lovely walks. Hartlepool town and Marina are a 30 minute walk for 5 minutes in the car.

FOOD
breakfast served from 6am during the week so that contractors can eat before work. Starts later on a weekend. Lovely cooked breakfast plus toast and cereal. Choice of cooked breakfasts and nothing too much trouble. They serve evening meals during the week which you order at breakfast. Didn't try this but did see a big bloke eating one with a huge smile on his face.

ROOMS
Clean and tidy. Well presented and full of character. Again nothing too much trouble. Views were amazing and shower very hot and powerful.

OVERALL
Great trip and will use it again as I have many times. There is a very good reason why contractors go back time and time again. Rates are very reasonable, especially compared to some in the area. I have taken large groups here on football trips on a few occasions and they all loved it. Howie is great for advice and chatting, whilst Sue mother's the many guests who she has come to know due to them being regular visitors. They really do know how to look after people. Cheers

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMillerzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Norton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

I would recomend this place to anybody they make you feel so welcome there stayed there during this summer2012 for 2 weeks whilst working in the area.Nothing is to much trouble for the owners the evening meals are great and the place has a nice relaxed atmosphere to it will stay there again for sure keep up the good work ColinJones

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed at Sue and Howies for three weeks whilst working in the area , the rooms were clean warm and very comfortable and the food was fantastic , proper home cooked food . Their hospitality was outstanding and I look forward to returning there hopefully in the future .

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Best digs have stayed in top notch bed and breakfast very friendly made to feel right at home, look forward to staying there again, Howie and Sue were great, Sue served terrific meals morning and evening and Howie is a top bloke, rooms were great, brilliant sea view from most rooms, I stayed at the top of the house view was terrific.
Overall premises very clean, company very pleasant, Howie and Sue couldn't do a enough for there guests also other staff were most helpful and very friendly.

Jeff rangers man

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Arrived at the Norton Hotel to a very warm welcome.
Shown to our room which had a very special view over the Seafront.... In fact almost every room has a Sea view!
The Seafront looked inviting on this warm October afternoon, so we took a short walk over the road to take in the views along the coast.
Back to the Hotel and into the shower, not the most powerful but clean and with with lovely fresh fluffy towels, before we headed out for our evening meal at a local Italian restaurant.
After Dinner we returned to the Hotel and were offered drinks before we headed to bed. The lights along the front looked lovely as well as the Ships out to sea.
In the morning we headed for the Breakfast room where cereals & juice were laid out ready. A full cooked breakfast was on offer and was served on a large plate.
Checking out, both Howard & Sue were there to wish us well and came and waved us off.
It's a nice Hotel with great views across Seaton Carew Beach and out to sea.
Definately value for money and we will go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View.... he,he they almost all have one! Check if it has a shower or bath.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Sorry the family who wrote on the 25th July had such a bad time. We have experienced quite the opposite. Sue and Howie made us very welcome, and couldn't have been nicer. All the guests at breakfast and at evening meals seemed happy, and Howie even serenaded us one evening! The rooms were clean and the staff looked after them on a daily basis and they too were friendly and helpful. Meals? Home made and excellent. Value for money? Absolutely! Would we go back? Sorry to leave actually, and yes we will be back. Martin Henderson. PS two other friends thought the same.

Room Tip: Fantastic bath in Room 23!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendersonBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Well ..where shall we start. We arrived on Monday 16th July; greeted by Sue who from the expression on her face didn't appear to know she had any guests arriving! Upon stepping into the building, there were drilling and hammering sounds, due to a leaky shower and we were told on numerous occasions, 'if we could buy a hotel all over again, we wouldn't buy an old building', ofcourse leaving us with a really pleasant feeling about our forthcoming stay there ..not! We were then shown the room, which was 'supposed to be a family room'. They told us that it would fit the three of us and our large dog! Room was small, cramped and the bathroom was horrible (in need of maintenance). The shower didn't have any pressure and we couldn't keep it at a constant temperature, they expected us to put our daughter in this shower as there was no bath (in a supposed family room), shower was taped up in various places, it was awful and untidy! Window in bathroom didn't open and there was no extractor fan. We were just lucky that we were also visiting family on our trip as we had to bath our daughter there every night! Towels were very few and it took me stripping the beds one morning just to get the sheets changed. A couple of days later, we had spilt a small amount of tea on the duvet cover and it was never changed again for the rest of the trip! We returned to the hotel one evening, ready for bed, to find that the bedroom window had been left open and due to the warmth outside, the room was full of flies! To the point where we had to ask for a hoover to clear the flies from the window. There was no apology and they offered no assistance. Breakfast was good but the water for tea/coffee was mingin' and left a scum on top of the water. The agreed price prior to visiting was £46 per night when we booked over the phone, but they charged us £50 per night upon leaving. We queried the price and she said this was the price of the 'supposed family room'. We were about to head in to say a final Goodbye before leaving, only to overhear Sue bad-mouthing us in the kitchen to her staff about us querieing the price of the room. Leaving a sour note to the end of our trip. Moral of the story: If you can't run a hotel, don't run one at all! We will never stay there again ..ever! Just warning all you people out there, avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaysKEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.2 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
476 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Hotel

Address: 1 The Green, Hartlepool TS25 1AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range: £22 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing