We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Hartlepool”

Rothbury Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartlepool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rothbury Guest House
Ranked #5 of 15 Hartlepool B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for Hartlepool”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We found this guest house on the internet so it was a gamble as we haven't been to this area before. It is on the sea front at Seaton Carew which is a small resort just outside Hartlepool. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. All the usual mod coms ie ensuite, TV, tea & coffee and the sea can be seen from some rooms. The breakfast was 10/10 cereal or porridge and a full English with toast and you will be set for the day. The owners, Gill and her husband were friendly and helpful. To top all this, the room was only £50 a night. Just down the road is a good and reasonably priced Italian restaurant and a fish restaurant. It is ideally situated for a visit to the Tricommelee 1817 ship and sea front museum. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are single. We had No 1 which is large and quiet with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999chris999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
elmtreepark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is our second stay at the Rothbury. Lovely location on the sea front and the dining room has beautiful views across the green to the sea. Breakfast very good indeed and everything catered for. The Owner's are very accommodating and friendly and the guest house itself is very well decorated throughout. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Can't fault and would highly recommend to anyone. Will be coming again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmtreepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Could not find a single fault with the Rothbury Guest House.
Stayed Saturday night April 2013. The room was. clean, the bed
comfortable,beautiful sea view. Wonderful breakfast and the hosts
Steve and Gill made us feel very welcome, will certainly stay
there again in the future.
Jim & Irene
Bury Lancs

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmym908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Rothbury for a weekend in October 2012. We arrived late on Friday night, getting there about 11pm. I rang ahead to let them know and Gillian and Steven were perfectly accommodating and stayed up to let us in. The room was clean, comfortable and cosy and the whole place has a very homely and warm atmosphere. Breakfast was lovely and both Gillian and Steve were attentive and friendly throughout, making the whole experience very relaxed and enjoyable. I have family in Hartlepool so will be back many times throughout my life and will most certainly have the Rothbury as a 1st choice for future trips. Asha & Aiden from London.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

my husband, myself, my son and grandaughter stayed in the Rothbury Hotel for one night to atted a wedding, stephen and gillian made us so welcome, they were very friendly, also very accommodating to my families needs, the hotel position is fantastic, a stones throw away from the beach just across the road, and only a short distance from the town centre. The room was clean fresh and spacious, the en-suit bathroom was spotless The full english breakfast was delisious, with ample alternatives available. I would certainly reccomend the hotel to others. Thankyou stephen and gillian for making our short stay in seaton carew a memorable weekend. Anne-Marie

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barmynannieannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Lovely position in Seaton Carew. The sea is just on the other side of the road. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts excellent. We had a very pleasant stay visiting family in the area and were pleasantly surprised by the really good level of restaurants both in Seaton Carew and Hartlepool. Gill was very helpful with brochures and advice where to go to eat in the evening etc. The Maritime Museum in Hartlepool is super!! We can highly recommend this guest house and will certainly return again. A minor inconvenience is that one has to pay in cash as credit cards are not accepted.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My wife and I are both from Hartlepool origenally,we freqently return on family visits .
We have stayed in several establishments in and around the town, non compere in warmth
and friendliness.Rooms are well appointed ,breakfasts great and cater for every need,we
will be back !! Thanks for an enjoyable two days. Regards Keith & Val .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.1 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
43 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
134 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothbury Guest House

Property: Rothbury Guest House
Address: 9 The Cliff | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a family run guest house we provide you with a friendly warm welcome and a pleasant atmosphere.The Rothbury Guest House is situated on the north east coast with magnificent views of the sea and spectacular sunrises.We provide off street car parking,excellent food and we are only yards away from the beach and promenade. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing