We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, we would stay again”
Review of Staincliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staincliffe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yes, we would stay again”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 2 nights as part of a large party. After reading previous reviews we were expecting the worse but were pleasantly surprised.
Yes, we would agree that a little TLC would not go a miss and certainly all the bedrooms we saw could do with a little investment.
We had a small room with a cabin style bed, the type where you have to climb over one another. However it was extremely clean and we got a decent nights sleep.
Also struggled with WiFi in the room, and it was only slightly better in reception.
We could not fault the bathroom with 'modernish' fittings, plenty of hot water and clean fluffy towels.
The reason we would be happy to return is first of all the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and very helpful. All the staff seem to work very hard and nothing is too much trouble.
Secondly every meal we had was amazing and of excellent quality. The chef deserves a bonus , I am going to leave a restaurant review too, because the food is so good.
Final points - this hotel does not break the budget and it is just opposite the beach.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyDayYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    43
    35
    44
    49
See reviews for
52
50
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is beautifully located at the coast. Within 10 steps you're at the beach. Therefore, it's quiet and peaceful - definitely a plus. I slept really good for 3 nights.
However, I've never ever seen such a small hotel room in my life. I almost couldn't turn around. There was no space between window-bed-wall. It smelled like fish and the bathroom was extremely old & not very well cleaned.
Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were good; the fish & chips in the bar were alright. However, the staff definitely need some training in service culture and friendly customer service.
Worst part of the whole stay: the WiFi - really bad reception. No connection at all in my room so I had to go down to the lobby / bar to be able to check my e-mails. After 10pm no way to get online. Many business men (and women) stay in this hotel; how are we suppose to work without WiFi???
Sorry but won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to not end up in room number 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyKitty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hartlepool hotels

Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Irene family wedding 1 august 2014. Had a great day .no problems at all .food for wedding reception and evening buffet was very good. Staff very friendly and gave excellent service.stayed the night in a sea view room , had a lovely breakfast which was delicious .

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Booked a sea view room which was situated at the end of the accommodation and therefore quiet.

A good basic room with no frills but the sea view provided a good all round vista of the Bay.

Breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious just like home cooked exceedingly good value

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

On arrival I was pleased to see a large, seafront hotel but I was soon a little dissapointed when entering the reception area via a tatty front door step. There is a smell in the lobby area which is a little off-putting but you soon get used to it!

Biggest issue we had with the hotel was the stifling heat in the upstairs corridors. The radiators were on constant even though outside the temperature was above average. On entering the bedroom facing the rear garden it was stuffy and although the small window was open it was again stiflingly warm all night. We asked for a fan which was given but it did not give much relief. Also, the bed was designed on a ships cabin theme which meant one had to climb over the other to get into it. Also, our matress dipped in the middle so we were constantly rolling into each other - and with the heat in the room made for an uncomfortable nights sleep!

On the plus side the staff were very friendly and polite and the full English breakfast was very good and served by a very friendly waitress. The sea front location was also a plus!!

Sadly, I do not think there was value for money at this hotel as it is very run down, lacking a lot of TLC and in need of a refurb both inside and out. I would have been happier if the cost was much more in line with it's present state.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible but they are more expensive!! Rooms att he rear are facing the direct sun all d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suhowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A hotel that needs a little TLC. In need of a lick of paint and a little run down inside. Was once obviously a very mod art deco Hotel, but very tired décor now. Very friendly staff excellent value for money o the bar food. Dissappointed In the cleanliness of the grill bar. Burgers could do with more seasoning, Ribs are excellent though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crabb523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed overnight for my nephew's wedding. On arrival there was no one at the desk which to be honest did not look like a reception desk. We got a drink and went back later to book in. Had to pay up front for our room and breakfast, but we did receive a discount as part of wedding party. Breakfast was good and drinks from the bar were reasonably priced. Service was also good, staff were polite and friendly. Rooms were clean, beds comfy and shower adequate. The hotel itself could do with a lick of paint, carpets were patched on the stairs and very worn. Staff in the breakfast restaurant need a uniform, one of the staff wore a mohair style cardigan which she wrapped around herself like she was in the Arctic! Overall I would recommend, just look past the tired facade.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get early sun and therefore hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staincliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staincliffe Hotel

Property: Staincliffe Hotel
Address: The Cliff, Hartlepool TS25 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Staincliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront with breathtaking views across the North East coastline the Staincliffe Hotel has 20 luxury boutique bedrooms. This Victorian hotel also boasts a fine dining restaurant, cocktail and champagne bar, public bar, Grill Room steak restaurant, Function Suite, the Grand Ballroom and private walled gardens. After undergoing a massive refurbishment programme during winter 2009/2010 the Staincliffe Hotel is without doubt one of the northeast's premier venues! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staincliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staincliffe Hotel Hartlepool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing