We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so suite experience at the hillcarter”
Review of Hillcarter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillcarter Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence
Harstad, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not so suite experience at the hillcarter”
Reviewed 3 February 2008

We stayed at this hotel on two occasions in december, from the 13-15.12 and from the 23-27.12. On both occasions, we'd booked a suite and judging from the information and pictures on their website, the price was very reasonable, given the overall standard of the accommodation. Although room was spacious, one could hardly call it a suite. Room was furnished and decorated in earthy tones, the carpets desperately needed steam cleaning. At the foot of our bed, you could see a huge stain where someone had obviously thrown up, which hadn't been entirely removed.

OK storage space, large wardrobe and space in the bedside tables and dressing table. Bathroom was spacious, cheap toiletries didn't do much to enhance the exclusive feeling one should get when staying in a suite. Bathroom facilities were average, but one criticism was that there was no proper shower as such; a hand held version fixed to the mixer taps was not my idea of a power shower. It couldn't be used at full effect either, as due to lack of either shower cabinet or curtain meant that the least wrong movement meant potential flooding of the bathroom floor.

Location had both pros and cons. Very central, just 5 mins. to most facilities and shops in the town centre. However the Hillcarter's location was also a source of much noise pollution, but in all fairness, they had explicitly informed us of this prior to arrival. Owing to location of the hotel and the proximity of a nightclub in the basement, combined with the timing of our stay (before and during Christmas period), meant that noise from party revellers was very disturbing. Noise from the heavily trafficked Church St. below had no problem penetrating the old, poorly insulated windows.

Tea and coffee facilities were supplemented daily, which was good, however lack of minibar was odd, given that this was a suite. Hotel gets a plus for the in-room ironing facilities and the TV entertainment selection. Restaurant was nice, offering hearty breakfasts, but not with any kind of buffet. This could however be explained by the time of our stay and that we were more or less the only guests. We also ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and the food served was a pleasant surprise and very reasonably priced.

Staff were very accommodating and friendly, and even though we were the only guests staying over Christmas, they had someone come make breaksfast for us.

The biggest shock came upon arrival for our second stay. After a cancelled flight from London, and a 9 hour bus trip we arrived tired and just ready for bed. Imagine our disgust when we pulled back the covers to find what were clearly dark pubic hairs on the bed linen! Upon closer inspection, the linen couldn't been changed since the previous guest, with visible dirt and other stains on both sheets and pillow cases. No contact could be made with the reception, so an improvised solution had to be used with spare quilts and blankets from the wardrobe.The matter was raised the following day with the cleaning staff, but we heard nothing back from the management.

The range of hotels on offer for visitors to Hartlepool is not that great, so I'm unsure as to whether we'll be staying here again.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Pubic hair in bed and vomit stain on carpet
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristjanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillcarterMgr, General Manager at Hillcarter Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2008
This review is not reflective of the hotels general policies, all hotel rooms are fully serviced after each guest, which includes changing of all bed linen. I am not sure exactly what took place here although i would certainly offer a complimentary stay to this guest as to demonstrate that this experience is not reflective of the majority. Mark Coates, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    46
    23
    13
    4
See reviews for
24
42
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin\Meath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2008

When I originally booked a room in this hotel the receptionist warned me about the noise. This wasn't as bad as we expected on the Saturday night. Our room was on the third floor and we didn't even have to break out the earplugs!

The hotel is very centrally located in Hartlepool town and also has designated smoking bedrooms.

While the rates are in the budget/Travelodge type range, the rooms were nicely decorated with real furniture.

The breakfast buffet will be a bit of a let down for anyone not wanting a cooked breakfast; no croissants or pastries were laid out and on our second day the bananas went on the turn and started to stink!

Interestingly, the HillCarter has two 'suites' available for a very modest £85 a night.

Overall, the HillCarter is that most endangered of hotel species in the UK, an independent hotel offering a lot of character.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DublinGuy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2007

I stayed at the Hillcarter in October, and i must say that the room was fantastic! Apparently the hotel has just added some new rooms or is updating the old ones, and i wasn't dissapointed, the decor was very modern, the bed was extremely comfortable and the all the facilites were brand new including a stylish digital wall mounted lcd tv. I stayed on a Thurs and Fri and i was pre warned on booking that the hotel operated a nightclub on a weekend and that there would be noise but i didn't mind that as i was attending a function on the Friday anyway so was up late drinking. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast in the Rooftop Restaurant which overlooks the marina was really hearty. The only downside was that the hotels parking bays were full so i had to pay and display but in all fairness this was because it was so busy and judging by my first impressions i'm not suprised it was! Great and will definatley return. Thanks. Bill

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Wat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2007

I Tried to book online...... they never got the mail even thought i sent it twice.......Does not inspire confidence at all. Well will not recommend this place to any of my business clients.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stroober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2006

Stayed here on a Friday night. There is a disco/nightclub somewhere very close to this hotel and the music was extremely loud and continued until 4am! the fire doors in the hotel are also extremely noisy.

The room was large and reasonably nice with a lovely bathroom and breakfast was plentiful although we appeared to be the only guests and they were cleaning the restaurant whilst we were eating which was a little annoying.

We would not stay here again despite its central location

Helpful?
2 Thank jdaviesMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
468 reviews
1.6 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
136 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcarter Hotel

Property: Hillcarter Hotel
Address: 31-32 Church Street, Hartlepool TS24 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillcarter Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcarter Hotel is situated in the centre of Hartlepool directly opposite the railway station, ideally placed for both business people and visitors to the area, with close proximity to the marina, the award winning Historic Quay and local multiplex cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hillcarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcarter Hotel Hartlepool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing