We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Hillcarter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillcarter Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I have stayed twice in this hotel now due to family living in the area ! I was attending a wedding so was an easy choice ! Room as always clean comfortable but later that evening our loo broke,we did report it and after a mix up we were given a jug !!!! Not sure if we were to use it so used pulic ones ! Breakfast In Bed the next morning was cold and missing milk for cereal and loo still broken left not happy at all and did complain ! Received a call from manager hours later with regard to bein givin a jug to use as a toilet and have been given a free stay in top suite which have given to family normally a top hotel that cud not be faulted but this time a massive let down !!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    46
    22
    13
    3
See reviews for
23
42
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northeast england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

we booked a room to stay overnight as our son was married on the friday afternoon. our welcome was good, the receptionist personable. we had a bedroom on the second floor, over the reception entrance. The room was quite large, the bed comfortable, but no air con, the only choice is to use an open single glazed window, which is unfortunate, as over the weekend, the area around the hotel is a mecca for drinkers and revelers...and gets very busy, and very noisy. We had however been warned about this after booking, via a phone call...however was totally shocked at the noise levels, all night long, disturbing my sleep.The breakfast was ok, but seem`d a marked abcense of staff....you were left to your own devices...

Room Tip: the rooms at the rear of the hotel, would probably be a little quieter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bliscoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china spring, tx
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

there is a bar in the basement that goes until 4am on the weekends. needless to say the noise and the hoodlums make it miserable. the resto doesn't open until 530pm so we had to go some other place for lunch. the staff was friendly. i have told my company not to book me here again. its an old building with a long history. the bathroom is nice. depending on your room location, it can be confusing due to the layout of the hotel. its across from the train and plenty of taxis in the area. just be careful after dark during the weekend due to the number of bars (drunks) in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trebor_skraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Fantastic receptionist on check-in and out. the room was immaculate and huge. the breakfast was delicious and the bed was comfortable. Considering it was thursday(student night in Hartlepool) and it is on the main club drag it was really quiet and we had a pleasant and relaxed evening and a great sleep. got a fantastic rate through Booking.com. will certainly be back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraisabelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is my second time to book Hillcarter Hotel. I will highly recommend this to everybody who want to stay a couple of days in Hartlepool. The hotel is just ONE minute from train station and 10 minutes walk to the seaside. Perfect breakfast,perfect customer service and very comfortable room. A little bit noisy for the night I stay due to a person who get drunk.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen-faye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Excellent food, great service from the reception and v.clean room, just the job. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkWalkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Checked in to the hotel which was located on a bit of run down street in the center of Hartlepool. Reception area looked a bit strange (full of sofas and chintz, which is not altogether unusual for a hotel but this seemed a bit strange here). Check in fine and receptionist friendly enough. Had to walk through to lift area past long row of fire doors and access to the bar. The lift was a bit smelly as were the corridors upstairs.

However my room had clearly been recently renovated and was fine, with view down onto the shopping street.

Bar was OK, not like a hotel bar but more like a high street bar. This is also where we took breakfast, which was fine and a full choice of hot food made to order.

We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but instead ate at an Italian on the marina, which was horrible, would not recommend.

Not sure why i wouldn't choose to stay again even thought the price was OK, just something about the place that didn't appeal but that could be a personal thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank animalthatswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
463 reviews
1.6 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
5.6 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
470 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcarter Hotel

Property: Hillcarter Hotel
Address: 31-32 Church Street, Hartlepool TS24 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillcarter Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcarter Hotel is situated in the centre of Hartlepool directly opposite the railway station, ideally placed for both business people and visitors to the area, with close proximity to the marina, the award winning Historic Quay and local multiplex cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Hillcarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcarter Hotel Hartlepool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing