We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillcarter Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Marine Hotel(Hartlepool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norton Hotel(Hartlepool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Staincliffe Hotel(Hartlepool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynyard Hall(Billingham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
45
50
26
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
50
26
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantz bedsqueaky floorboardsxmas partyset us up for the daypublic car parkbar downstairssandwichespleasant stayreception areathe hotel is cleanon arrivalfull english breakfastdouble bednoisefunctionbath
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had a great celebration on 7th december at the hillcarter roof restaurant. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and helpful. The disco catered for everyones taste, on the whole a professional performance. Will definitely return.

Angela and Terry Connor

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank angiec999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Hotel is great, greater by a very nice girl on reception who was very helpful. We had breakfast that was a disappointment, some food was over cooked( could of been left "keeping warm" for too long).
Saying this we would use the hotel again, just not eat here. I can imagine It would get noisy over a weekend, as I woke to people shouting. This can not b blamed on the hotel and they do warn weekend bookers it will be noisy.

Room Tip: Don't eat here.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andhpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Couldnt get accommodation in Middlesborough, so booked here. Apprehensive with the warning notice on booking receipt and even more so when I had a phone call reminding me, prior to arrival. There are 10 reserved parking spaces at rear of hotel and an adjacent pay and display one. Very friendly receptionist and all staff I came in contact with. Noise! on arrival bumped into a Wedding Party taking place, so feared the worse but no problems to be honest. Quieter than a number of hotels, I have visited but at least they do prepare you. The family room, really was good, 2 large rooms with a bathroom in between. Decorated with character and better than I expected. Breakfast was included and served on the top floor, with a good English breakfast on offer. Good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordHafod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed on a Saturday and yes there was some noise late at night,just thought its a good value hotel,all staff good and Night Porter was really helpful will stay again very soon,great buissness stopover

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Hillcarter on a one-night stay in Hartlepool, attracted by the low price in comparison to other hotels in Hartlepool and Middlesbrough. We stayed on a Saturday night and were warned about the noise from local clubs by hotel staff before arrival. Yes, it was quite loud but nothing that wasn't fixed by a pair of earplugs which are offered by reception if you don't have your own.

The room was clean and had a very comfortable bed. Other furnishings were good as well with the exception of a crack across the mirror by the door. The full English breakfast was very good too, cooked to order rather than from a buffet. My only complaint about breakfast was that the only coffee available was some very cheap instant coffee that didn't really give me the caffeine fix required!

Overall the stay was good, especially considering the price, and I would recommend it to others (although probably not if you have young children).

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews