We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here recently and what a great place to stay. Friendly staff, good food and we happened to stay on the quiz night. Overall everything was superb and we would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelled79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    41
    32
    7
    16
See reviews for
34
39
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
rishton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We set off from the North West for a weekend away with no destination in mind, as we often do - we found this charming little seaside resort 'Seaton Carew' and booked in at the Marine Hotel. What a find! The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, reception, bar staff and breakfast staff. The room was spacious and comfortable and the food excellent. We enjoyed it so much we have booked to go back for New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel just after the tidal surge and it was still all there!

The staff were very friendly, booked us in efficiently and sorted out a couple of small issues in the room immediately. We did wonder why we were on the top floor but it became apparent that there were several Christmas Parties going on over the weekend and we were far enough away that we barely heard them. The room was spacious and comfortable with absolutely glorious views of the sea. It is a Victorian building, with original fireplace in our room, and it does show in décor. But it was a perfectly acceptable standard and very clean.

Breakfast was excellent, served promptly, nice and hot and my husband couldn't finish his generous full English. We did try a bar meal one evening which was acceptable but nothing great, however there is an excellent Italian restaurant just next door.

A friendly, comfortable hotel and very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

On attending the hotel for a 3 night stay in October 2013 we were greeted pleasantly and given our room promptly, even though we had arrived early.
The room was basic but very clean and comfortable. The hotel does have the option of upgraded suites but as we were on a budget we decided against this. We didn't have enough towels in the room, but a quick mention to reception and fresh towels were brought up straight away. These were replaced every day.
We had breakfast included in our room rate which was plentiful and hot. At the weekend there was a buffet to help yourself, then during the week food was cooked to order. We didn't have evening meal at the hotel but it did smell lovely and they do a very nice carvery on Sundays.
The only issue we had was that there seemed to be a lot of youths hanging around the hotel at night, but the manager soon went out to move them on. They would return the following evening, but again would be moved on.

I would recommend a stay here for a short break, and would insist you try the local fish and chip restaurant "The Almighty Cod" it was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, you pay an extra £12 per night but the view is beautiful and the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clwyd
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a real find. On the promenade in the seaside section of Hartlepool, this is a good quality and very reasonably priced hotel for those wanting a North East base or a night away from from the kids,

Not the Ritz but with a friendly focus, it offers big and comfortable rooms with a first class breakfast. It offers wedding and function venues and has a big feel and good parking. Next to a real but small italian restaurant - worth a try. Mostly reps mid week - and they are a deserving bunch...the lights of Hartlepool are 3 mins away by car along the promenade.

No lift or air com but wide stairs and a ' northern' feel.

Croeso da yma!

Room Tip: Sea Views are a plus but over bar area or quiet at the side looking over car park. Mid week for best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Called in for the Sunday carvery very reasonably priced at £7.90. I had the beef and it was stunning a good selection of veg as well the cauliflower/broccolli cheese was beautiful. The staff and chef were charming and courteous. We called in about 4 pm and the place was virtually empty, I will go back here for the carvery and some of the specials also sounded very appetising.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chipper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salhouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We checked in on friday unbeknown to us its disco night if you plan to sleep before 10:30 forget it
Most of the guests are working people who have very early starts in the morning and do not appreciate rock music.... Also there does not seem to be a single screw in any floorboard in the entire hotel, it sounds like a heard of wildebeest are grazing in the room above, my work colleges also commented on the incessant creaking I have stayed in most of the rooms on the ground floor they are all have the same level of noise
The rooms are clean and pleasant but the tiles in on my bathroom floor could do with grouting
Same of the staff do manage to say good morning or hello the rest are indifferent or pretend your not there
The food I have eaten on previous visits, its just pub grub frozen then fried.

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs and give the staff so wood screws for the floor boards
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hartlepool hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.4 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: The Front | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25 bed 3 star hotel. Beautiful sea views with a very popular restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Hartlepool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing