We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of The Sweet Shop

The Sweet Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: At The Sweet Shop we make all our ice cream on site using fresh Welsh cream and milk. In the main season we offer over 20 flavours on a variety of Antonelli Brother cones in various sizes including gluten free ones! However we are not a restaurant, and are not sure how we came to be listed as such - we tried to get Trip Advisor to remove us because we do not want visitors to be disappointed when there are no tables and chairs but they wouldn't. The Sweet Shop is a cute but tiny shop specialising in take away ice cream, old fashioned sweets and chocolates!! We are also a seasonal shop and shut between October and March.What we lack in size we hopefully make up for in great, Welsh ice cream and we look forward to welcoming customers old and new!
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Absolutely amazing home made ice cream = very friendly staff - whole family loved it and we went back several times during our holiday !!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank judy091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed visiting The Sweet Shop and thank you for commenting on our friendly staff who do such a great job! Do hope you will be back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Called for ice cream today. Stunningly tasty. I had white chocolate and others had raspberry ripple and strawberry. Lovely choice and great choice of cones too. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Victoria1719Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your ice creams! Thank you for taking the time to review our product and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

On a sunny day in Aberdovey, the queue at The Sweet Shop is out of the door and onto the pavement outside. Don't be put off, the yummy ice creams are well worth waiting for. An excellent range of flavours and always a couple of frozen yogurt choices too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our shop. We now make our own yogurts as you mentioned and our own sorbets too! We hope to see you back soon in lovely sunny weather!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic ice cream”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This shop has the best ice cream in Aberdovey and way beyond. It is super creamy and they make many different flavours. All the ice cream is home-made.

When we visit Aberdovey, we simply have to have an ice cream from here.

Love it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ice cream”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Wonderful selection of home made ice cream. Some fairly unusual flavours as well as popular old favourites. I had salted peanut flavour and it was lovely.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your Salty Peanut ice cream. We are always looking for new ideas for more adventurous customers as well as keeping the old favourites too!! Thank you for reviewing our shop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sweet Shop also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Sweet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing