We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welsh & wonderful!!!”
Review of Fron Haul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fron Haul
Ranked #6 of 11 Aberdovey B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Welsh & wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stayed at Fron Haul B&b & I would like to say it was just wonderful. The owner was lovely and tended to our every need, without being in your face, so to speak, the room was lovely, spacious and clean, & also very modern, with I-pod dock, mini fridge, flat screen tv, DVDs, everything you could want, & the breakfast was fresh & hot, & just great! I would recommend this lovely little B&b to anyone seeking a little break in Wales, this place is right on the beachfront, & it's just lovely to sit in your room at the bay window & enjoy the view whilst enjoying your breakfast! Thank you so much Fron haul, for a lovely time, & apologies for not posting this sooner! (miss Harrison)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ditarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We booked here as we had delivered our daughter to uni. in Aberystwyth and wanted a couple of nights for ourselves, not too far away. Boy, were we impressed! We had the ground floor room, the standard and quality of which took our breath away! The bathroom was 5* and then some, the personal touch of the breakfast delivery made this a very special stay. Reece is a first class host and we certainly plan to visit again! Have already passed the details to some friends who may travel that way next year!

Room Tip: The rooms higher up obviously have a better sea view but we loved sitting at the table, watching the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

What a lovely B and B! We stayed for 4 nights in "The Bridge" a lovely room (more like a small suite) with a couple of armchairs in the bay window, with fantastic views of the estuary, dining table and chairs, and a settee, and a massive bathroom with large shower cubicle and separate bath.
The breakfasts were lovely, served at a time to suit, and it was great to be able to sit at our table and look out over the estuary watching the boats and people go by! The best place we ate out was the Seabrease, a few doors down. The food was great and presentation was lovely.

Room Tip: The bridge room has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaandgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in Aug/ Sept and picked it on the basis of these reviews. We had the Crow's Nest room right at the top- yes a good few stairs but we needed them after all the eating!
The room is big, bright and airy and the views are spectacular. The location is excellent and the car parking pass for the main car park opposite right in front of the beach means there is no expense needed for this and you can keep a beady eye on your car too! ( not that you would need to). There is also a mini DVD library and book swap in the B and B.
We took the owners advice on some of the local eateries- Pharoah's cellar Bistro was very good, Riverside in nearby Pennal, again excellent food and we did partake in a curry from the local Indian which was pretty tasty.
Breakfast is served in your room and each day we ticked the sheet requesting what we wanted. You can either have continental or cooked. To be honest we probably would have liked cereal and then maybe a bacon sandwich or something but this didnt appear possible- though to be honest we didnt ask. Instead filling up on cereal, yoghurt, fruit and bagels.
Would we recommend this B and B- yes definitely.
Also if you like an active dayhire a bike from Dolgellau cycles and do the cycle path along the estuary to Barmouth- stunning! and a pub on route by the waterside. No cars , 9 miles each was but flat and beautiful...

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zara76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

A great place to stay, clean, comfortable, spacious, great views, lovely breakfast. It was such a pleasure to stay at this family run hotel. We stayed in the Crows Nest (top floor) which allowed privacy peace & quiet & a fantastic view. Very relaxed attitude from Reeve which was very refreshing compared to the many hotels that we have stayed in. Felt like staying at a friends home, especially when you get to select your breakfast the evening before and have it delivered to your room at a time to suit (or as we said, just bring it when its convenient with other guests times!)
Other great things in your room - a big comfy bed with great linen, duvet & pillows; plenty of storage space; binoculars to spy on everything & everyone down below or across the estuary; towels and a heated towel radiator; mini fridge (handy for a bottle of wine, or 2); TV with freebies, DVD player and iPod docking point; free wifi; handy guest information folder; table and chairs; sofa. Also available to you on the various landings, DVD library, books, tourist leaflets, iron & board. The hotel is on the main road, don't worry it's not noisy. You also get a pass for the car park which was very handy.
Location was spot on. Across to the beach or up to Seabreeze for a meal or The Brittania Inn. We experienced both and have written separate reviews for each.

All in all we really did enjoy our 2 nights last week & even wanted to take our daughter back a few nights later however it was full!

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the top floor, just remember it's the TOP floor, no problem to us but as exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for four nights, the room was lovely and spacious (midships) with a fantastic view. The bed was big although a little hard but all immaculately clean. It was great having breakfast in the room, an inspired idea removing the need for a breakfast room! We recommend the Sea Breeze restuarant a few doors down as well as a walk up the nearby waterfalls.

Room Tip: Great views presumably the higher the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsB190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2011

As the title suggests, we loved the place. the Fron Haul was all we were hoping for, sea views and relaxation we had a marvellous time, and yes we would love to come back soon.
Now for the "but", as always there is a BUT, we have some small suggestions for change, the offer of cereals with the continental breakfast only, why? it would make a much improved offering with cereals and even fruit salad and maybe yoghurt to all forms of breakfast and sliced bread for toast with a bakery delivering next door why not try some better bread, a small oversite i'm sure but the milk in the room refrigerator not replenished for the second and third day, well enough about food. The second suggestion is could there be provision of a bath robe or two, for the comfort of guests and modesty with room service, the charging of hotel prices for the accomodation maybe some hotel touches could improve the stay. The room was however spotlessly clean and well appointed and the bed was wonderful. I would and in fact have recommended the Fron Haul to many friends and business aquaintences and feel confident in knowing they would all enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: Suggest booking upper floor rooms as the view is wonderful, the ground floor could be noisy and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladysandivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
0.4 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
631 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#5 of 11 in Aberdovey
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#9 of 11 in Aberdovey
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fron Haul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fron Haul

Property: Fron Haul
Address: 7 Glandovey Terrace, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fron Haul 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fron Haul offers luxury, seafront bed & breakfast accommodation in the picturesque village of Aberdovey, with spectacular views over the beautiful Dovey estuary and mountains beyond. Our rates include a choice of breakfasts which are served in your bedroom at a time to suit you. The bedrooms are modern and contemporary having been fully refurbished and offer excellent facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fron Haul Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing