We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fron Haul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fron Haul
Ranked #6 of 12 Aberdovey B&B and Inns
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

My partner and I stayed at Fron Haul for three nights in mid-September. Our room was ‘Mid-Ships’. WOW! The room is on the first floor with large picture windows looking out across the Dyfi Estuary. There are two comfy armchairs in the window and we spent some very pleasant times just watching the sea and changing weather conditions. Reeve (we didn’t meet his wife Susie) was the perfect host and made us very welcome. For breakfast you choose from a wide menu the night before and it is then served in your room at a time to suit you. The downside of not eating in a breakfast room is that there is no one who comes to ask if you need more tea/ coffee/toast etc. However, this is more than compensated for by the quality of the food provided, and the sheer decadence of eating breakfast together in your pyjamas whilst sneaking a look at that amazing view. Fron Haul has recently been refurbished (Spring 2010) and our room was full of high quality fittings. There was a beautiful bathroom with separate double shower cubicle. We also had a huge bed which clearly was also high quality.
So, a great place to stay. ‘Would we stay here again?’ ‘Yes, definitely’. Fron Haul is a B and B that just ‘oozes’ quality.
While staying at Fron Haul, we ate at Seabreeze, a new restaurant which opened in May 2010. It’s a one minute walk from Fron Haul. We had an excellent meal and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
47
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Good rooms, we had "Fore" and "Aft" and both were as spacious as you would normally get in a B & B, were well equipped and very comfortable. We were met in a very friendly way even though we had arrived later than anticipated and the owner had to make a special journey to let us in! Breakfast is very novel as it is served into your room rather than a separate room and again plenty of it and good quality. We would definately stay there on a future visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveP313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in 'Midships' room - certainly as good as most 4 star hotels I use. View is worthy of the stay itself, everthing you need on hand including a decent size fridge in rroom. Parking in car park opposite easy & secure. Reeve very helpful re where to visit & eating out (I recommend the Riverside). Overall a 10 out of 10 break (we will be back!)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tonyh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Our room had the wow factor. It was newly decorated to a very high standard, spacious and over looking the beach. It felt like a real home from home.
We had a lovely stay and we finally solved the breakfast mystery on the day we were leaving ........see if you can!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JarvisandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Fron Haul really is a quite excpeionally good B&&B, its ideally situated slap bang on the sea front in very picturesque Aberdovey and the rooms we had, Midships & Bridge, we were 2 couples, both had beautiful views of the beach and sea. The rooms were spotlessly clean and extremely spacious, the fixtures and fitting were all of the highest quality and the beds were a dream! Breakfast is served in your room and we all opted for the full English which was supberb, and so lovely to be able to sit in the window and eat it while watching the world, and the seagulls go by!! The owners were charming and cound't do enough for us. I really cannot speak highly enough of Fron Haul. We were there for my Parents 61st Wedding anniversary, and this truly was a very special palce for a very special occasion. B&B doens't really do it justice - its a lot nicer than most hotels!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed at the Fron Haul with some friends whilst touring Wales.
Very friendly owners who could not have been more helpful. From the minute you enter you notice how much effort has been put into making your stay as comfortable as possible. Our rooms were beautifully clean and tidy with a crispness about them. We stayed in the crows nest with spectacular view across the estuary. Be warned as there was is alot of steps to this room - after all it is in the attic, so not for the weak kneeed - but well worth the view and space when you get there, as it has a lounge area as well. Our friends enjoyed their room on the ground floor as it was comfortable and clean, but alas did not have the sea view, however we were told this beforehand, so there was no shock ( and its cheaper too). This alone should not put you off staying in this specific room. Breakfast is served in your room at a time convenient to you and was a tasty treat - delicious and hot and a good start to a days touring. Overall I would recommend this accommodation as excellent and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed at the Fron Haul Bed and Breakfast for a three night stay in July. Its relatively new to the accommodation market and boy was it impressive. A lot of money has went into renovating this gorgeous beachfronted townhouse and boy was it impressive. The rooms are stylish, quiet and spotlessly clean. The add on service's such as SKY TV and WiFi are a real boost too. The accommodation is right in the centre of town, less than a stone's throw away from the beach, shops, bars and restuarants. No need to worry parking though as there is a large car park just over the road - perfect. The owners Susie and Reeve couldn't have been nicer and were glad to help with directions and tourist advice. The value for money is excellent and I would happily recommend Fron Haul to anybody. Cant wait to go back myself.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IHGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
0.4 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
0.3 mi away
Cartref Guest House
Cartref Guest House
#3 of 12 in Aberdovey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdovey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fron Haul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fron Haul

Property: Fron Haul
Address: 7 Glandovey Terrace, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fron Haul 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fron Haul offers luxury, seafront bed & breakfast accommodation in the picturesque village of Aberdovey, with spectacular views over the beautiful Dovey estuary and mountains beyond. Our rates include a choice of breakfasts which are served in your bedroom at a time to suit you. The bedrooms are modern and contemporary having been fully refurbished and offer excellent facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fron Haul Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing