We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Food!”
Review of Dovey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dovey Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Aberdovey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Having eaten at the Dovey Inn three times since Christmas the food has never been brilliant but ok for the money, however on our recent visit with some friends I could only describe it as awful.
The cajun chicken was like cardboard , when i ate the coleslaw which had obviously been left to stand and was covered in a greasy yellow film , i bit into a piece of broken cocktail stick when i complained to the waiter, the chef said it was a piece of rosemary from the fresh herbs they use,(no it was a cocktail stick!) I think the chef must have thought for a minute he was working at Jamie Olivers with all those fresh herbs that they dont use, there was nothing fresh about any of the food we had, the gammon wasnt cooked properly and had white scum over it the food seemed very portion controlled in fact the whole meal was like it was bought from Asda and put on a plate, next time well just have a drink and eat elsewhere!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tracey450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Enjoyed are stay at the Dovey Arms ,fantastic place for hillwalking The only complaint about the room (No 2 ) the noise from the front door closeing and opening below the room and the high pressure in the pipes after flushng the toilet which made a hell of a noise for several minutes afer.On a posivtive note the view from the room is one of the best inWales overlooking the Dyfi river .The staff and manager very friendly and a good breakfast We will be back

Room Tip: try room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesShamElSheik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We loved that the reception was actually the bar counter - and couldn't help but tuck in to some beers before heading up to the room. We had a lovely large room overlooking the water - newly renovated and very comfortable. The only issue were the plumbing pipes - which made a racket - but that aside, all was well. Food in the pub was typical pub grub - solid and filling - our only challenge was that we came late and the last order comes early - take note!! Aberdovey was not originally on our itinerary - but this lovely little seaside town is definitely worth a visit - and if you do, stay at the Dovey Inn!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bensonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Sadly got here when some obnoxious young locals thought to ridicule us and our accent!
When such pubs rely on passing tourist trade, it does them no good to have their daily bread taken insulted. Worst of all, the landlord agreeing with his young patrons by laughing in agreement!
As for the food, Basic acceptable pub grub!
Shame for some of the young staff who seem to get it and dotheir best under the circumstances!
For an area that relies solely on tourism, SHAMEFUL!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Durberville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Having just moved to the area we tried The Dovey for a Sunday Lunch. The first member of staff we met, a young man behind the bar was immediately friendly and helpful. They don't do bookings, you find an available table and then order at the bar. There is plenty of seating in so you are not sat on top of each other.
Towards the rear there are large screen TVs if you want to watch the sport whilst you drink or eat. These were not at all intrusive when we ate in this part of the pub. There was a book shelf by our table with several books on the area, including locals walks and guide to Aberdovey. I found those far more interesting than the usual racks of pamphlets advertising all and sundry commercial ventures.
We both had the roast lunch, with a good choice and good value. The young lady who served us was very pleasant. The portions were generous and well cooked and presented, washed down with a very pleasant pint of Brains bitter.
I will certainly return to The Dovey for more, the comment of my husband said it all 'a nice roast and a few pints of good beer here, and then get a taxi home, perfect Sunday!'

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Beautiful old world inn, not long been re-furbished. Lovely room with king size bed, air con and a great view over the Dovey Estuary. Situated in the town of Aberdovey, great if your into biking, walking or just looking to chill out. Only down side was that we were unable to book a table for an evening meal, as it was first come basis, so i would recommened you aim to either eat around 6.30 - 7 or 8.30 - 9. Food was to a high standard and staff were very helpful. All together a lovely relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms here are of an excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidinwales60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed in a family room (number 3) which was clean, comfortable, had a sea view and great breakfast all for £80 which is great value.There was a door between our beds and the childrens beds which meant we could watch TV and chat after the kids had gone to bed rather than read books by torch light!

Room Tip: Number 3 had a sea view and a seperate bedroom for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdovey hotels
0.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
682 reviews
0 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#8 of 11 in Aberdovey
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#2 of 11 in Aberdovey
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lookout
The Lookout
#1 of 11 in Aberdovey
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brigydon
Brigydon
#4 of 11 in Aberdovey
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovey Inn

Address: 8 Sea View Terrace, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdovey
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dovey Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dovey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovey Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Dovey Inn Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing