We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penhelig Arms

Penhelig Arms
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have been coming to Aberdovey for years and always eat at the Penhelig -- the beer is good, as is the food, however our experience last night was far from good. The beer was ok, as was the food, but it was not good, and the service was poor. The staff were trying hard, but the restaurant had obvioulsy been over booked resulting in people having to stand before going into the restaraunt even though their tables had been booked. We will try again - as we hope it was a blip in their service, but at the prices they charge things need to improve.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mero359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    88
    43
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“just awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

such a awesome meal, lovely setting, the seafood pasta dish was amazing, will return soon! shame about the noisy arrogant bunch next to us who seemed to complain about both items of which I had had and were fine. think they were just being snobby and trying to be clever. could not fault my meal though and will be back soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jamescorbett95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Had an evening meal, thanks especially to the manager Paul. We phoned to be told the bar was full but he advised us to come in early anyway and he'd see if he could fit us in. He was happy to tell us there had been a cancellation so we had a nice table. Our dog was made as welcome as we were. Gorgeous food, beautifully presented. We went back for lunch a few days later and were treated to the same high standard even though it was for a sandwich rather than a full blown meal. A coffee on the residents terrace overlooking the harbour was an extra treat.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sally-Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Experienced some better meals but plenty not as good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Slightly above average food and service at average prices. Clean and inviting , I would recommend it. Wife and I both had a double Jack Daniels in the bar before dinner and thought that the over £12 cost was at the very top end of hotel prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurieroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Poor Menu Selection & Food Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

After being recommended by friends we visited for a meal expecting good things, but unfortunately this was not the case. Firstly the premises is inviting and tidy outside which is good to see in Aberdovey.
The menu is pretty basic in terms of what you can select to eat. It boasts a range of fancy named dishes, but they are not what they seem. We chose coq au vin and pork escalopes. Expecting proper chicken and sauce and rich pork we eagerly awaited our meals. However when they arrived we were greeted by chicken breast and deep fried escalopes that were oozing fat. Basically they could have been bought from Iceland and not the quality food we were led to believe we would be served. The food was pretty awful and the spring onion mash that accompanied the pork was near enough runny.
The steaks looked nice as the cltabke next to us had them, however clearly the cook could not tell the difference between rare and medium well...
Staff were ok although when asked if the calamari was a starter or main course they had no idea and on asking the chef his response was that it was a 'large starter'. If this was the case then surely it should say so on the menu.
Staff although polite didn't look like they had a clue about how to serve drinks behind a bar and this was clearly obvious to us and other diners.
All in all this is not a great place to eat. Yes it has a nice setting blah blah blah but it's the simple.things that would make this place very good. However they seem to have lost those simple things in the dovey estuary and unless things change in the kitchen this place is long lost.
Wouldn't recommend based on our visited and you would probably get a better meal for your money up the road in the Dovey Inn.

Helpful?
Thank Shropshire78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penhelig Arms also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing