We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Penhelig Arms

Penhelig Arms
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We went here for lunch. A pleasant meal, lots of choices on the menu and handily for us, they let dogs into the bar area.

Thank suzanneritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us.

Hope to welcome you all back soon.

Nicola & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

We went there to celebrate our daughters birthday with all the family and were given a private dining room. The member of staff who served us was really great and added to our enjoyment of the visit.

Thank 812tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Hope to see you again soon.

Nicola & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We visited the pub only but managed to grab the last table as it's very popular. The food was excellent as was the service. We hope to visit again and stay here next time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chris19622017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Hello,

Many thanks for your fantastic review, we hope to welcome you back to us soon!

Nicola & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

First visit and done on previous trip advisor recommendations.
Nice decor. Staff friendly.
Daily specials board offered as well as normal menu. Specials menu offered lots of fish dishes.
Normal menu had a good selection of dishes.
We didn't bother with starters as we had already made a decision to have a dessert.
Hubby chose the vegetable Indian curry (he asked if the chicken option was breast meat but was told it was stringy?!)
I had the pan fried sea bass with crushed potatoes and fennel.
Didn't wait too long for dishes to arrive. The curry tasted very artificial as tho spices had just been thrown in at the end. My sea bass meal was very bland and had no taste at all.
When asked for dessert we were told no cheesecake available yet lots of people were asking for it. We had the crumble and posset. Crumble arrived lukewarm with custard altho we asked for clotted cream-this was swapped when we asked. The posset was tasty and a decent portion.
Not sure if we just chose the 'wrong' dishes but we won't be returning.

2  Thank jaynem24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hello,

Many thanks for your review, I'm sorry to hear that your meals where not to your expectations. I shall be passing your comments onto the kitchen team, who are always developing our dishes.

It's a shame that you have mentioned you wont return to us, but I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Nicola & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We visited the Penhelig Arms whilst staying near Aberdovey for a few days. We'd originally booked the restaurant for a late lunch but decided to change our booking to have dinner instead and they were very accommodating at doing this for us.

On arrival we were seated and unfortunately the service was very unfriendly. It was several minutes before we were approached and when the young lady came to take our drinks order she was very cold and abrupt. Whether this is purely from lack of customer service training or just her general manner I'm unsure. We then had to ask for menus as none were offered.

The food was absolutely delicious. We were a party of six and there was something for everyone. I had the prawn, crab and avocado tian to start and the seabass for main which were both delicious. We had two children in our party and the children's menu was great and good value for money.

We were served throughout the meal by both the lady and a gentlemen and both were very disinterested and their interaction was minimal. The basics you would expect were just not delivered. Like a previous reviewer suggests, holidaymakers just seem to be an inconvenience to the staff and not worth the effort and yet I would imagine, makes up a large proportion of the customers.

The setting was perfect with lovely views across the coastline, the food was delicious but the service lets it down and needs to be addressed.

1  Thank RHM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your review, It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. I'm sorry to hear that the service was below par, I can reassure you this is not how we operate, and I shall investigate this immediately, to make sure it does not happen in the future.
Again thank you for your review, and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Nicola & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penhelig Arms also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing