We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll keep a welcome in the hillside...like the Welsh riviera look you!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cartref Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Aberdovey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“We'll keep a welcome in the hillside...like the Welsh riviera look you!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We managed to get a long awaited couple of days by the seaside choosing Cartref for its location and the bonus of the offroad or free roadside parking outside which I beleieve is unique to it as compared with the other B&B's and inns on the seafront. Our B&B was an amble from the little town - an artist's delight of pastel coloured shops and houses by the harbour. The town is tiny and rises steeply in a maze of former fishermens' cottages, 5 chapels 3 pubs and a plethora of cafes and tearooms up the cliff to gorse filled fields of cattle and sheep where their is a walk. Our B&B was by the bowling green and the golf club. 2 minutes stroll from the tiny station and no sound from the trains. We accessed the wide sandy endless beach at the mouth of the estuary, by a little tunnel under the railway and a path through the dunes. As for the B&B itself we had a king size at the back. Very quiet. Even their dogs don't bark. We were awoken at 5 o'clock though by the seagulls who let up after their version of the dawn chorus. The house is 1900's with modern colours and traditional Welsh furnishings in the comfortable lounge which is for guest use and where we struck up a conversation with some of them. The breakfast room is light and modern as was our bedroom. The ample breakfast was locally sourced and we liked the laid back atmosphere of the owners who were knowledgable welcoming and attentive to the individual guests's needs. The extra touches like the fresh milk available all day and the bottled water in the room were welcome. We don't need fluffy white towels just clean towels of any colour but for those who do, these were white and fluffy!
All the rooms are en suite, I found the sink too low for me as I am tall but the huge walk in shower made up for that. The bathroom was immaculate, pristine. I kept clouting the flat screen TV on the wall, again I am not small. We didn't use the TV but it was there should we have wanted it. Four of us guests managed to burn our toasts because one of the plonkers had turned it right up. I am used to toast being served to me but my partner liked this idea as she likes her toast piping hot and I don't. I allowed myself a small finger of their home made bara brith, and I sat on the sun terrace with a cup of tea like Lord Muck. I could get used to this. Our hosts told us that it was their first year for this B&B but I think they are old hands at it. We are solooking forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front appear to be larger. All rooms are on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Every need is unobtrusively catered for in this immaculate Guest House where a warm welcome awaits all guests.An imaginative choice of food makes breakfast a pleasure with 'bottomless cup of freshly brewed filter coffee' the icing on the cake!A wonderful find in a fascinating area with so much to do and see.. .T.C. . Rye,

Room Tip: Twin beds in Room 2 were big and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERESA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

An excellent guesthouse in a quiet part of Aberdovey opposite the railway station. Plenty of parking at the guesthouse and on the road. Really friendly hosts who ensured we had everything needed for our stay. Stayed in room 1 which was very large with a king size bed and view of the front garden. Well equipped shower room. Breakfast was very good although a short window of 8.30 to 9. Eating and drinking places nearby and lovely beach walks.

Room Tip: Room 1 is recommended. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Cartref offers a convenient location and excellent accommodation - will certainly stay here on any future visits to the area. The cooked breakfast consisted of locally sourced ingredients (always a plus) and the bacon was particularly tasty. (From our window we could see home grown tomatoes ripening and these will no doubt be included for future guests.) I heard a younger guest complimenting the Bara Brith that was served with tea on arrival - an old family recipe apparently. Linda and Mike were very welcoming and will recommend local eateries and places to visit if required.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestatynWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely welcome and really comfortable accommodation. The Breakfast was superb. Spotlessly clean and ideal location. Owners very friendly. We will be back! Thank you Linda and Mike.

David and Jenny Stanton

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worcestermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I always hope for a comfortable bed with beautiful bedlinen, best quality towels and a really good shower and I got all of them. Cartref would certainly be my first choice when we return to Aberdovey. Well done Linda and Mike for getting it just right.

Oh - and the breakfast was amazing....

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Five of us stayed here after playing a ladies match at Aberdovey Golf Club. Linda gave us a warm welcome including nibbles for our wine and tea, coffee and biscuits on tap. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well equipped - super shower in mine, the single and breakfast was excellent. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
312 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
57 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#5 of 11 in Aberdovey
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartref Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Property: Cartref Guest House
Address: Cartref Road, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0NR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartref Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartref is a stylish and relaxed Guest House that has recently been completely renovated, in the picturesque and sought after sea side village of Aberdovey. Our aim is to provide four star quality on a small scale for visitors who want comfortable, contemporary accommodation set in a beautiful Edwardian detached house, without the formality and expense of a top hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing