We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent!”
Review of Brigydon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brigydon
Ranked #4 of 11 Aberdovey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2014

By creating a lovely en-suite room over their garage (great view over the estuary), Linda and Nigel have managed to retain a family feel to this B&B while separating the guests from the family - everyone is happy! Everything is top quality, be it sheets or bacon, as Linda's attention to detail is as excellent as her cooking and we look forward to our 4th visit before too long.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Brig Y Don, Aberdovey, Saturday 17th May (2014). It was our first visit to Aberdovey and Brig-Y-Don but will certainly not be the last. Our room was just lovely with great view over the estuary and the hills beyond. Gorgeous large bathroom and just the BEST shower!
Linda and Nigel are charming, welcoming hosts. Having got Linda out of bed at midnight, because we stupidly thought the door was locked, she still smiled and told us not to worry, it was not a problem. The breakfast on Sunday morning was just fantastic; lovely fresh fruit and delicious yogurts, a great choice of cereals, all followed by a wonderful cooked breakfast.
The garden at Brig-Y-Don is well worth taking a walk round and next time we visit Aberdovey I know exactly where we'll be staying.
Thank you Linda and Nigel for a great stay, from Michelle Thomson and Stephen Percival.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We think Brig y Don is not only the best B& B we've stayed in in Wales but also the rest of the UK, Europe, USA, Middle & Far East and New Zealand. We have stayed at Brig y Don 4 times now and each time is excellent. The location is superb with great views of the estuary and the hills beyond from both rooms, we prefer the room above the garage, it is a little haven of peace and quiet and superbly comfortable; but so is the other room it's just a matter of preference.
The breakfasts are superb, lovely fruit and cereals etc. followed by Linda's delicious home cooked, locally sourced full breakfast which removes the need for lunch altogether. The lighter choices are good too. The beds are superbly comfortable, the linen first class and of course everything is immaculately clean, tasteful and well prepared and equipped rooms. Finally the hosting, Linda & Nigel are welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and so easy to get along with. There are no negatives to Brig y Don, only positives, after a stay here we always come away relaxed, refreshed and happy and wouldn't stay anywhere else in the region.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed just one night in this bed and breakfast and were not disappointed! We were desperate for a last-minute place to stay after arriving in Aberdovey fairly late. Our last-minute call was handled very well and our bedroom was already ready! Breakfast was absolutely heavenly, with a lot of choice and a relaxed environment. The host was always ready to help out, and was lovely throughout our stay. Bedroom was beautifully furnished and clean. Would recommend to any couples :) Thank you for such a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: You get a lovely view of the beach in the upstairs room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldenchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our stay at Brigydon was a very relaxing and enjoyable...Linda made us feel really welcome and as for her Berry pancakes!!!!!!! The room and the scrumptious breakfast were excellent and would highly recommend a stay there. Thank you Linda. x

Room Tip: A view to die for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Brigydon and would like to thank Linda by writing this review. This is a B&B with excellent views over the estuary and because it is set back from the front it is very quiet and peaceful. The room we stayed in had it's own acess, the bed linen and towels were immaculate and Linda provided those extras like home made cake on arrival, biscuits, water, a chocolate and even a packet of real ground coffee. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and on the table were so many extras such as fresh grapefruit, cheese, yoghurt and even nuts that one could add to the meusli. The bacon, sausage and eggs are of the highest quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandEminibreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just come back from a week away feeling totally refreshed. We enjoyed the lovely location and even had the pleasure of listening to the Aberdyfi male voice choir Bro Dysynni. Our visit was made extra special by our caring and attentive host Linda at Brigydon. She was very approachable and easy to get along with. The breakfast was amazing. It was very fresh, tasty and organic with a lot of choice. Our room was very clean and cosy with a very comfy bed. We had a lovely view of the estuary and we could see the sun setting in the evening. It was perfect! We will be back again next year. Jane and Paul x x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdovey hotels
0.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#8 of 11 in Aberdovey
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#2 of 11 in Aberdovey
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lookout
The Lookout
#1 of 11 in Aberdovey
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigydon

Address: Balkan Hill, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdovey
Price Range: £94 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brigydon 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brigydon is by far one of the finest houses in the beautiful village of Aberdovey. Your room has en-suite facilities along with all the comforts that the modern traveller seeks in his Bed and Breakfast. In addition to this, your room has stunning views across the Dovey estuary and around the coast of Cardigan Bay. There is ample secure parking. Recently re-awarded Five Stars by Visit Wales, Brigydon is the only Five Star Bed and Breakfast in Aberdovey. Brigydon was recently given its second Gold Award by Visit Wales - one of only five given in the whole of the county of Gwynedd! Discover a quality B&B; Discover Brigydon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brigydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigydon Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing