We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paella in Wales!!”

Pharoah's Cellar Bar
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Paella in Wales!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Great night with excellent service, love the white gloves! Whilst I enjoyed the Paella it was a little over cooked most of fish had fallen apart! The sweets were outrageous the death by chocolate in particular! Will return in the not to distant future?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RPW1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    47
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First time we've eaten here but it won't be the last! The food was fabulous and the service excellent. We've booked to eat there again tomorrow. We've tried four eateries in Aberdovey so far and this outrates the others by miles. Ought to be number one on Trip Advisers' list.
Ruth and Alan Jowett.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is my mother-in-law's favourite restaurant in Aberdovey, so an extended family group met up here for dinner. It's a cosy place to eat; not many tables, but a varied menu, decent wine list and most of all really good food!

I had the classic duck with orange sauce and it was absolutely delicious. Plenty of meat, well cooked and served with creamy dauphinoise potatoes and vegetables. Followed by a creme brulee with raspberries, it was one of the best meals I've had for a while.

Others in our group had sizzling chicken and vegetarian savoury pancakes, which also met with approval.

Yes, it is a bit expensive, but certainly worth it! Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claribelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb food!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Can't fault the quality of the food or the level of service and we were a party of nearly 26 hungry golfers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A little gem!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Visited here with our 9 year old at 8pm. Menu states children's menu is available until 7pm which presented us with a dilemma...however staff were very accommodating & allowed us to order from kids menu. We ordered 3 tapas to start & the hake special for main..all were fabulous & the service & atmosphere were both fantastic. Recommend booking at weekends/bank holidays.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pharoah's Cellar Bar also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Pharoah's Cellar Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing