We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening Dinner”

The Britannia Coaching Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Restaurants in Aberdovey
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Evening Dinner”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Having been to the Britannia in recent years for a drink and a meal we again made our annual visit after a days golf.But this year the quality of the food was very disappointing to say the least.The food there is not expensive but you do expect it to be of a reasonable standard.After this visit i do not think we will return in the near future and i would not recommend anyone to dine there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    35
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A Good Evening”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Went to the Brit for dinner and we had an excellent meat. The staff were very friendly which made it into a very good evening. Excellent food in good surroundings with friendly staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Lunch”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent lunch here with my family. The upstairs has a lovely view of the sea. The seafood mains were extremely fresh and were good-portioned sizes. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Raza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great evening meal!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I came to The Brit for an anniversary meal and loved it! We booked seats near the window in this cosy restaurant upstairs and when we arrived early the staff were friendly and let us sit at the table and order drinks.

The wine was wonderful and the food was plentiful and full of flavour! We had soup, seabass, Cajun chicken and crumble to share! Great little place!
Can not fault this place one bit. It was a tight decision between this place and the sea breeze but found the menu was more to our taste. Atmosphere was superb and I would def recommend this place highly.
5 stars without a doubt.
To sum this place up it would be clean, relaxed, good menu and food portions are fantastic and quality of food superb. Just for the added touch there is free wifi.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and friendly pub”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Sat outside this place with a drink and watching the world go by. Good food and drink. Batman gave good local reviews on places to visit in and around Aberdovey

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah7472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Britannia Coaching Inn also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Britannia Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing