We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food we've eaten in Aberdyfi in 15 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Breeze

Sea Breeze
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food we've eaten in Aberdyfi in 15 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The plain frontage conceals a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Service was excellent: calm, attentive and not intrusive.

I had grey mullet on samphire to start with, followed by a summer vegetable risotto and bara brith bread and butter pudding. The wines were a Verdejo and a Malbec, inexpensive and delicious. We were offered a complimentary cream of sweetcorn soup: superb and far from superfluous. The flavours of the mullet and samphire worked perfectly, especially with the charred lemon. The risotto rose above the ordinary with crunchy summer veg, a generous sprig of pea shoots and a wedge of goat's cheese. The bara brith bread and butter pudding was all the better for the remains of my daughter's crème brulee (the idea of an pina colada shot was inspiring and it was to die for).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcandPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    76
    9
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More Than Just A Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We visited The Seabreeze Restaurant on Monday evening (bank holiday). This was our 2nd visit to the restaurant. We stay in Aberdovey regularly and have eaten out just about everywhere there. I have to say that The Seabreeze is head and shoulders above the rest!
Dining in our party were my wife and I with our two young children plus my parents. All of our starters were amazing, 2 of us had scallops, 1 had fish cakes and 1 fillet of mullet, the kids didn't have starters and were catered for with a splendid portion of fish goujons and chips and sausages and chips! We all were really impressed with our starters, as fresh as can be, tasty and generous. For main course, my dad had sea bream which he said was the freshest he's had and beautiful (he is a big fish fan with his mother being from Grimsby!). However, my wife and I opted for the rib eye steak, which was cooked to perfection and was so tender that the knife cut through it like butter - by far the best rib eye either of us have ever had!! My mum had welsh lamb and said it was amazing, cooked pink to her liking and soooo tasty!!
Our meals were washed down with a rather lovely Shiraz Cabernet called Redfin, which accompanied our meat perfectly.
We enjoyed our meal so much that we all decided to have pudding - sticky toffee pudding, bread and butter pudding, creme brûlée and cheese board, all of which were delicious!!
I would highly recommend The Seabreeze and we will definitely be booking to go there agin the next time we're in Aberdovey!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_H_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We ate on two evenings here. The food was delicious - a highly recommended chef. We enjoyed crab then half lobster on the first occasion, then sea bass (locally caught) on the second.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hmmm...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

A pleasant meal, but it gets an 'average' rating because it was a bit expensive for what it was and it didn't, frankly, hold up to our previous two evening meals out in Aberdovey that week-end.
Staff seemed hassled and busy and little touches needed prompting from us (a spare plate for fish bones, etc). Wine was lovely and fish dishes were v good. My starter salad was v good and the main of 'hake on bed of puy lentils' was well-cooked, but the spicy lentils with chorizo really just blew away any flavour of the fish; shame. The (rich) puddings were good.
We nonetheless enjoyed our evening. £35 p.h. incl. drinks (all had two courses; only two of us had three.)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice morning coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We called in here for a quick coffee before heading to Barmouth on the train. The gentleman who served me was very nice and efficient. We had a cappuccino and hot chocolate which were great. Thank you Sea Breeze x

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Breeze also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Sea Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing