We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lookout

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lookout
Ranked #1 of 12 Aberdovey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easter break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in the upper deck which has an open plan kitchen, dining& lounge area with a separate bedroom & shower room.
The bedroom has a big comfortable bed,wardrobe, dressing table, chest of drawers and TV, the shower room was very clean & tidy with a good shower.
The view from the lounge & kitchen is fabulous. The kitchen has everything you need for a short break, the lounge has a big TV with a sofa bed.
Jules (the owner) was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble, prior to arriving Jules booked us into 3 different restaurants all of which we enjoyed.
We have been to Aberdovey many times and intend to return in the near future to The Lookout.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view and are very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
118
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in the Lower Deck apartment with our little dog at the beginning of March. The apartment was lovely with everything you need and the views are amazing. The milk and teabags were a nice touch as we had forgotten ours! The dog loved his walks on the beach - you can walk for miles. I just hope it's going to be avialable for a return trip in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent a fantastic weekend in The Crow's Nest (upper floor) in the The Lookout. The apartment is open plan and decorated to a very high standard. The entire apartment is stunning and very, very clean. Being on the upper floor in The Lookout when had the most amazing view across the bay and enjoyed numerous glasses of wine watching the trainee sailors down below. Although we did not manage to meet up with Jules everything was ready for our arrival and we Jules checked to make sure we arrived safely, knew where the thermostat was, best place to park etc .

Aberdovey has really good restaurants as well - all within short walking distance from The Lookout. If you are planning a trip to this area- The Lookout is worth a stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We have returned from the most wonderful three night stay at The Lookout in Aberdovey. We stayed in the Lower Deck on the first floor which was of an open plan studio design all very Ikea/ Habitat, wonderfully light and airy, well equipped and spotlessly clean. It was wonderful waking up in the mornings, drawing the blinds and having the first early morning cup of tea in bed whilst looking out to sea. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had a good powerful blast.

The loveliest part of the day for us was in the evening after returning to The Look Out following some spectacular walk and pre going out for a meal. We would sit in the large bay window with a glass of wine and some nibbles, chatting about the day and watching the world go by on the beach. Some reviewers have said the higher up the building you go the better, but if you - like us - are people watchers we delighted in watching families arriving early evening in their cars with excited little ones, armed with crab buckets and nets ready for an evening crab fishing.

My remit for the break was a sea view and the ability to walk out in the evening for a meal. The Seabreeze and The Penhelig were both very good places to eat. Being just out of season was fantastic and the weather was lovely.

We will certainly be back and have no hesitancy about recommending it to friends. Aberdovey is as wonderful as it was when we last visited 25 years ago and The Look Out was the icing on the cake. This break was a birthday present surprise for my husband and he was thrilled with every aspect of it.

Thank you Julian, you have a little gem there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was mine and my partners first time to Aberdovey. After looking around on the internet we spotted this B&B and after reading the reviews did not hasite to book it. How true the reviews are. Its a woderful place. Jules is very welcoming and made the process really easy. We stayed in the Upper Deck level at the end of February and loved it. To be honest I didnt want to leave, the apartment was very well furnished and the bed is massive! We will definitely look at going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha_francombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to Aberdovey most of our lives and have found the perfect place. Jules the owner could not be more accommodating, nothing is too much trouble (including assisting with a flat battery on our car and a runaway dog!) The apartments are furnished to an extremely high standard and are exceptionally clean. Plenty of towels and fresh bedding are provided along with a fully fitted kitchen and thoughtful creature comforts making you feel really at home. Cool contemporary decor, trendy bathroom, Flat screen TV and DVD for the kids and real Welsh cakes as a welcome treat. Add to that the central location, great views overlooking the estuary, walking distance to all the good places to eat and it doesn't get much better.

We stayed in the lower deck with two kids and two dogs and found it ample room. This is our second time and we'll certainly be back, can't wait!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at The Lookout on 9th and 10th March with Hugo our cocker spaniel. The weather was fabulous and Julian made us very welcome. We stayed in the first floor studio which was excellent and ideal for a short stay, with lovely views of the beach. The studio has everything that you will need and is very clean and bright. There is some very handy parking over the road, and a decent pub meal at The Dovey Inn, plus a very nice meal at The Sea Breeze which made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
0.4 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdovey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cartref Guest House
Cartref Guest House
#3 of 12 in Aberdovey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#9 of 12 in Aberdovey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout

Property: The Lookout
Address: 6 Glandovey Terrace, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Aberdovey seafront in the Southern Snowdonia National Park. The Lookout has 4 newly renovated suites with fabulous sea views over the Dovey estuary, beach & mountains beyond. All suites have open plan kitchen, dining & living area with free WiFi and parking. Beds are superking size doubles and also have sofabed in the lounge area for families.The Lookout is situated opposite Aberdovey beach for fun summer days and just a level stroll to the pier, shops, galleries and restaurants. The stunning surrounding area has mountains, lakes, castles and steam trains. Whether you want to relax or try the outdoor pursuits on offer, The Lookout is the perfect spot to tour both Mid & North Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing