We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a truly wonderful place :-))”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lookout

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lookout
Ranked #1 of 12 Aberdovey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a truly wonderful place :-))”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

As has been said already by others The lookout is absolutely beautiful, we had our first holiday with Alfie our border terrier and stayed on first floor , lower deck. Right in front of beach and car park- which was free sorted by Jules like so many other amenities.
Everything was excellent- room, shower, kitchen, bed ,mattress, view,place,shops....I can go on and on.
Thanks a lot Jules and We are definitely returning next year hopefully with family and friends.

Room Tip: All three rooms have wonderful views with a small kitchen in each room...so go with family and frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
118
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Becuase of really nice weather in west Wales this past June we decided, at the last minute, to head up the coast toward Snowdonia. Very fortunately, there was a place at the Lookout and we thought it an ideal location to stay as it's basically at the gateway to the mountains yet with a beautiful beach which keeps the children happy. It was a real discovery as Aberdovey is a beautiful little town with a gorgeous beach. We were also able to head north to Beddgelert and then take the train up to Snowdon and back in time for tea! We stayed on the 3rd floor, where we really did have a lookout! The kids loved the hidden bedroom in the crowsnest! The place is clean and modern. And there was fresh milk in the fridge and tea bags waiting for us on arrival, so i was pretty pleased with that.
Aberdovey is small, but the food at the Penhelig Arms was outstanding. We ate there two nights.
Also, check out the shop on the first floor. All you need for the beach at good prices. The organic cotton kids t-shirst are better than anything you'd get in Marks and Spencers etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

How lucky were we to get a late cancelation for The Lookout Lower Deck. The place was immaculate with tons of mod cons including motion operated mirror lighting in the bathroom. Bed was enormous and very comfy. Stunning views all around, close to everything. Beautifully simple to use access system - no keys or cards needed. Being at the lower deck meant that even a rainy day in Aberdovey was still perfect as we sat drinking coffee in utter comfort watching the waves and wet people. Julian takes care of all the details including provision of free parking pass to cover your stay. Looking forward to staying here again !!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika_F555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend in the top floor apartment"the crows nest"what amazing views from the picture windows.Ever changing.Aberdovey is a lovely quaint village with lovely shops and restaurants. We ate in the Sea Breeze which was wonderful with very genial hosts....Jules and Lisa who own the apartments and the gorgeous childrens shop downstairs are lovely and helpful..There is also a."secret room" in the crows nest

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AJB728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Lower Deck is a perfect well designed modern studio appartment, wonderfully located on the front overlooking the beach and estuary. It is tastefully decorated, well equipped and spotlessly clean with lovely good quality white bed linen and a massive bed. The beautiful views over the estuary and beach provide an ever changing scene, we spent ages sitting in the bay window watching the boats and people through the thoughtfully provided binoculalars!. It has easy access to coffee shops and restaurants and some lovely classy shops and galleries. We had a fabulous few days and Jules was exceptionally helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend The Lookout, we will be back!!

Room Tip: Lower Deck is on the first floor, my husband has difficulty walking but managed the stairs quite wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillymintChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a super week in Aberdyfi. The weather was kind to us, the apartment (Upper Deck, the Lookout) couldn't be faulted and the landlord was was extremely helpful.
Fabulous week - would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Upper Deck apartment as it has a separate bedroom. The view from the bay window is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was looking for somewhere to stay for a few days in Aberdovey, for a bit of rest and relaxation, and stayed in the Lower Deck, at The Lookout, from 15th - 20th June. The apartment was beautiful - thoughtfully furnished and equipped. The location and surrounding area were stunning. Jules was so kind and helpful with tips and advice during my stay.It was all just perfect. A wonderfully restorative few days. I plan to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
0.4 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdovey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cartref Guest House
Cartref Guest House
#3 of 12 in Aberdovey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#9 of 12 in Aberdovey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout

Property: The Lookout
Address: 6 Glandovey Terrace, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Aberdovey seafront in the Southern Snowdonia National Park. The Lookout has 4 newly renovated suites with fabulous sea views over the Dovey estuary, beach & mountains beyond. All suites have open plan kitchen, dining & living area with free WiFi and parking. Beds are superking size doubles and also have sofabed in the lounge area for families.The Lookout is situated opposite Aberdovey beach for fun summer days and just a level stroll to the pier, shops, galleries and restaurants. The stunning surrounding area has mountains, lakes, castles and steam trains. Whether you want to relax or try the outdoor pursuits on offer, The Lookout is the perfect spot to tour both Mid & North Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing