We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britannia Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Aberdovey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We recently ate here on our last night of a 3 day break in Aberdovey. Our main concern was the briskness of the manageress, we felt we were being rushed even though the restaurant was not full. My crab salad was ok but small and I felt a bit pricey at £13, I've had better. My husband ordered the chilli which he said was very bland. When I went to pay the bill I noticed on looking at the menu that his meal should have included both sour cream and guacamole, the manageress snapped that she would 'mention it to the chef' and refused to discount anything. We also had quite a wait to be served drinks at the bar downstairs because apparently the staff were 'helping in the restaurant'. Wouldn't eat here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucefan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I decided to visit Aberdovey again last Saturday. We go for the day two or three times a year from the West Midlands, depending on the weather. It is just over 2 hours each way, but we enjoy the journey through lovely countryside.

Upon arrival, as usual we chose to go to The Britannia Inn for lunch. Having sampled other places over the years, The Britannia is hard to beat. As always, the food was excellent. I had the best fresh dressed local crab salad ever, served with buttered new potatoes - mouthwatering! My husband had grilled plaice and also enjoyed it very much. Our waitress was kind, funny and very welcoming.

I agree with some comments below that redecoration would not go amiss on the stairs and landings leading to the main restaurant, but I cannot fault the food or service. The toilets were clean and tidy - always a good sign.

There are beautiful views, both from the outside balcony seating area and from the tables near the windows inside the restaurant - but be early because these do go quickly. We were there for 12 noon, sat by the window, were served promptly and had a lovely time. Well worth the trip! I cannot comment on the rooms, as we only went for lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayneH34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Our first impressions of this establishment weren't good. The entrance and stairs up to the restaurant are shabby and off-putting and we actually only decided to give it a try as there was nowhere else available.This is a pity, as the restaurant itself is perfectly fine, with great views over the estuary (depending on where you sit). On our first visit, they were very busy and we were told that there was a table but that it would only be available for an hour and a half or so as it had been reserved for later. This was fair enough as we were only looking to have a main course in any case. The waitress (owner?) was friendly and helpful, if a little stressed. However, to her credit, she took our order promptly and we received our food soon afterwards. We had gammon and sea bass and both meals met with our approval. There was a choice of 2 cask ales, which was good.

After trying unsuccessfully to get in a couple of nights later, we made a reservation for our last night. Again, the meals (Madras Curry and Cajun Chicken) were very good and we were even tempted to share a tasty rhubarb crumble. The service was friendly and efficient and the prices reasonable.

Would definitely go again if we return to Aberdovey. However, they really should do something about the entrance and stairs as it could put some people off. Having said that, the place was busy enough, so what do I know?!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lycrafreebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The accommodation here is very modern, clean, stylish and comfortable, you pay a little bit more for the best room, but it is well worth it when you wake up over looking the beach and sea.
Really lively restaurant and bar as well which worked well for us being a young couple, breakfast was also yummy!
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem-Gem2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel situated in delightful Aberdyfi has goodt rooms, modern, clean and well equipped but is let down slightly by the public aras downstairs and approach to rooms. I was not sure where to check in as there didn't seem to be a reception area, and whilst the welcome was pleasant enought I would have appreciated a little more practical information regarding restaurant times etc. The journey up to the room was a little dismal - chipped paintwork on stairs and entrance to restaurant kitchen door was very scruffy, carpet on the stairs was a little grubby - Nothing that a fresh lick of paint and carpet clean could not resolve. I had a really good fish and chip supper - the fish was excellent and portion size generous and the waitresses were very attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Six family members were recommended this pub with sea views.We were sat behind a large chimney breast so no sea views. The meal took one hour to appear with an apology coming from a very stressed waitress after 45mins.The roast dinner was adequate but the vegetarian guest ordered a jacket potato with salad and sautéed mushrooms.Bacon appeared after 2 mouthfuls and the response when questioned was I thought it had been taken out!CLEARLY a staff training issue.
We left without ordering dessert.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The bar area of the this inn is quite basic but go upstairs to the dining room. The food is lovely. Had Garlic prawns to start with they where lovely and came with a chunk of bread and butter. Followed by the lamb steak. Very good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Davegj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdovey hotels
0.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
683 reviews
0 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#2 of 11 in Aberdovey
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
0.1 mi away
Brigydon
Brigydon
#4 of 11 in Aberdovey
124 reviews
3 mi away
Nyth Robin campsite
Nyth Robin campsite
#1 of 3 in Aberdovey
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Inn

Address: 13 Sea View Terrace, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdovey
Price Range: £67 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Inn Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing