We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality B+B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penhelig Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Quality B+B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is a great hotel/pub/restaurant in a pretty flawless location. Great food and drink. Prices are slightly above average but you get feeling that there is generally a well heeled crowd drinking here. Not that its snobby - far from it. We took a small double as it was bargain break for us - great value. Would and will return. Questions - please send a DM

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulyt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    171
    67
    33
    21
See reviews for
78
391
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I stayed for a night here in May 2012. An excellent hotel. We had a gf room in the Bodhelig building behind the main hotel. Lovely views across the estuary, very good parking right next to our room. Our own small terrace just outside the patio doors to our room/suite and a sitting out area with tables for other hotel guests to use about 10 yards away overlooking the sea.
Chris, the manager, was very helpful showing us in and explaining things.
The suite was spacious - a large L-shaped main room with comfy settee (a bed-settee, so the room could accommodate 4 people) and armchair, very large bed (2 x 3ft singles arranged as a double as we requested) with nice bedlinen and bedding, and a chest of drawers and dressing table and large built-in wardrobe with spare pillows and bedding and a small fridge with milk in for tea/coffee and some bottled water. Tea and coffee and biscuits were also supplied.
The room had a good size flat screen TV wall-mounted opposite the bed but could be swivelled. A Bose radio/CD player - excellent quality. The en suite bathroom was large, very clean and very well done, with a large bath and a separate large walk in shower - an excellent shower too. Thick towels. The room was nice and warm.
On our private area outside the patio doors were two comfy seats and a table. There was also free WiFi in the room and in the hotel.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening. An excellent meal and a very good choice of wines (72). My only complaint was that the chips with my (excellent) steak were too crispy.
The service was very good and the setting very pleasant.
Our breakfast the following morning was also excellent - with a wide choice of things to try.
We had an excellent and relaxing break here and would recommend it to anyone wanting real comfort, nice food and a lovely setting. I agree, it is not a cheap B&B, but it was excellent value for money and I am sure we shall be visiting here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveC2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

A really quaint seaside hotel. Small but welcoming. We stayed one night here and enjoyed ourselves. Our room(looked out at the sea) was clean, tidy with a very comfortable bed. The food was excellent and the service was good.

One minor flaw is that hotel is right on the roadside so you can hear some traffic noise etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed here for one night when the sun was actually shining! The hotel is situated overlooking the sea in Aberdovey. The location is superb. I was met by Chris, the manager, a friendly relaxed guy, who showed us to our room. Bod helig is the larger rooms situated behind the hotels main building. He had upgraded us for free as he was aware we had a dog with us and thought it would be easier for access etc. The room was stunning! 6ft bed, bose stereo, large lcd tv, sofa, balcony with sitting area...I could go on! Useful having a fridge in the room for pet products and so nice to have our own parking space!
We ate in the bar during the evening and had a great steak and vegetarian dish. The desserts were wonderful, home made. Breakfast is excellent, I unfortunately could not eat all mine as the portions are more than adequate!
The staff who served breakfast, Christina and Andy, were friendly and polite.
The town has a great vibe to it and the beach is one of the nicest in Wales. Check it out.
Will be visiting the Pen helig again soon!

Room Tip: Bod helig is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetreka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed in Bodhelig, one of four suites in a separate building set above the pub, and would definitely recommend paying the extra £20 per night over the standard double room rate for such modern, spacious accommodation with its own terrace to enjoy the wonderful views.

If you are travelling with children, this is the perfect option, with a large sofa bed, two arm chairs, private terrace or balcony with reclining padded chairs, large additional communal outdoor area just for residents, designated parking. A welcome addition especially during hot weather was the small fridge stocked with fresh milk and bottled water - a very thoughtful and handy extra. Good variety of traditional and herbal teas/coffee/biscuits. Even wine glasses are provided. Plenty of wardrobe space. Very large bathroom with separate double shower cubicle. LCD TV with lots of channels & CD player. We didn't use the sofa bed as our toddler is still in a travel cot, but the room easily accommodated the additional space needed for her cot so worth bearing in mind if you are travelling with an older child and one in a cot as such accommodation can be difficult to find.

My only critisism is you can easily hear the guests staying in the room above due to some very squeaky joists - next time I'd ask for a first floor suite. This causes more disturbance than the railway line directly behind the Bodhelig building, which as there are only 2 trains every couple of hours does not cause any nuisance as the bedrooms are at the front of the building.

We ate in the pub and the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the food - a good selection of food available but with an emphasis on fresh fish and best of all, REAL chips! The cheese plate for dessert was the best I've ever had - 4 different cheeses, good variety of biscuits, two slices of fruit cake and fresh fruit which included strawberries! Enough for two after a good sized main course. Breakfast was also enjoyable with a good selection including full cooked welsh and also salmon/eggs/kippers. Also had the afternoon cream tea with freshly made scones and clotted cream - lovely.

One thing I didn't like when dining in the restaurant was being kept waiting in the lounge area supposedly 'to view the menu and have a drink' - I prefer to be shown to my table straight away, a personal preference but something you may wish to request if you are like-minded rather than have a 20-minute wait before your order is even taken. A toddler's patience doesn't extend to pre-dinner waiting time in a confined space!

Aberdovey is a lovely, unspoilt fishing village with both small pebbled and an expansive beach and some very nice little shops/cafes along the promenade. The Penhelig Arms is situated at the opposite end of the village to the shops/cafes/beach but it is only a 10-minute stroll along the sea front. There is a request-stop train station a 2-minute walk from the pub so you can leave your car at the pub rather than go to the other end of town to the main station where you have to pay to leave your car in the public car park.

The staff (especially Mark, the manager?) are very helpful and accommodating. We had car trouble on the morning of our departure and he not only contacted a local mechanic for us but let us occupy the room free of charge for an extra couple of hours past normal checking out time while the problem was being sorted out, a very gratefully-received gesture during a stressful time. We would definitely recommned this palce and also intend to return.

Room Tip: Bodhelig suite best for savouring the view, for spaciousness or if travelling as a family, ask for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VOB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Having heard mixed reports about the hotel management I can say that all is well at the Penhalig Arms now. 4 golfing couples have just had a superb 3 days in this hotel on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. The food was excellent and our accommodation in the Bodhelig annexe was well worth the extra cost. All 4 couples enjoyed what can only be described as a great value for money break.

Room Tip: If your budget can go a little bit further book a room in the Bodhelig annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrankyNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
493 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stopped off at the Penhelig Arms for a quick late lunch in the bar. The sandwiches were freshly made, very generously filled - we went for a mixture of prawn and salmon and a couple of people had Welsh Rarebit. There was only one member of staff present but he was friendly and engaging. Views across the estury are stunning and the hotel is just a short walk into the main town. Car park is directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
9.2 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Property: Penhelig Arms
Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing