We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beer and Food”
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penhelig Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Love this place. We have visited Aberdovey several times staying in a cottage. We alway eat and drink here. The beer is the best kept in town (followed closely by the Britannia Inn) The food is great. Good atmosphere and if its a nice warm night there is seating opposite the pub overlooking the harbour and estuary. Great place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Penhelig Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

hotel very clean and welcoming but parking can be an a problem room very clean but small as we were told before hand shower had a problem not hot water dinner and breakfast was good on departing found bill was wrong charged to much but this was righted otherwise would stay there again

Room Tip: sea view rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had a fantastic two night stay here. The room was comfy and clean with a scenic view.
The staff were all friendly, very accommodating and we couldn't fault t service.
We ate in t restaurant and t food was delicious.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowdon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here for one night having called in here for a meal many years ago when we thought that the location and general ambience warranted a longer visit and stay.

The first thing that we were asked when we arrived was whether we would be dining in the restaurant that evening. We asked to see the menu before committing ourselves but were informed that the menu was not available yet (it was 4.00 pm). We said that we would wait until it was before committing ourselves.

We found our room for the night, which was excellent. Lovely view over the estuary, comfortable bed good facilities.

We were told that the menu would be available at 6.00 pm, so we went for a walk and on our return (at 6.00 pm), we asked once more to see the menu. This time we were asked if we had booked a table to which we responded, no, as we were waiting to see the menu, to which we were informed quite curtly that the restaurant was full, we could book a table for the next evening or eat in the bar. We expressed our disappointment at this especially as we were offered the menu to look at - which seemed a bit pointless as they were now unable to accommodate us.

Another member of staff then appeared who said that of course we could eat in the restaurant - very, very odd!
We looked at the menu and booked a table, having been given the options of many different times -again, very odd for a restaurant that 2 minutes previously had been fully booked!

We arrived in the restaurant and were somewhat surprised that only one other table of four was taken. We were even more surprised when no other diners arrived. The food was OK, nothing to write home and was spoiled by the fact that we felt that the staff would really rather we were not there. once the other diners had left, shortly after we arrived, the waitress proceeded to clear all of the other tables around us and set them out for breakfast. It was not even 8.00 o'clock in the evening and certainly did not help create a relaxing ambience. We couldn't wait to finish our main course and leave.

After going for a walk we returned to the bar, which was deserted and there was no real ale due to a problem.

Next morning we had breakfast. Again the quality was OK but the wait was excessive.

So, would we stay again. Sadly no. Reading the other reviews it does seem to be a bit of a lottery, perhaps depending on which staff are on duty. We would not want to risk another experience like this, which is a great shame as the location is superb.


Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank subeees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

After reading the recent reviews i was worried. No need !!! Fabulous room with views of the railway from the bathroom window. My husband was over the moon with the view between two tunnels. Lovely bathroom, comfy bed. The food was great, beautifully cooked scallops and tender lamb. We had a meal in the bar on the last night and enjoyed properly cooked chips after having to put up with the tasteless oven variety everywhere else. The staff were fabulous, attentive and friendly. We will be back, no worries.

Room Tip: The house at the rear with 4 good sized rooms and balconies/ terraces. Lovely views from the 1st flo...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnSW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Overnight stay on a tour of the UK. This place was a real surprise and great value for money. Lovely location with fabulous views over the stunning Dovey Valley from the lounge, restaurant, bar and our bedroom. The views were mesmerising as it was possible to watch the changes of weather, light and shade over the very wide river, its banks and up into the distant hills.

Great walks along the banks of the Dovey within a couple of minutes on foot from the hotel. Also, very convenient for Aberdovey itself and other local places of interest.

Extremely friendly and service-oriented. Excellent dining in the restaurant. Breakfast also boasted a good mix of cereals, fruit, toast etc as well as a very good range of cooked dishes.

Comfortable, cosy room.

We'll definitely be recommending - and returning to - this delightful find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveloholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a charming and very inexpensive hotel with lovely views over the Dovey. Our room was perfectly appointed - although one word of warning: if you are travelling with a lot of luggage, there are a good number of difficult stairs to manage if you're at the top! The restaurant was also very good. The menu was imaginative, a good choice and well-prepared. Service was very friendly. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a good view of the river!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSH-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
340 reviews
8.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
0.6 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#3 of 11 in Aberdovey
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range: £71 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing