We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put off!”
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penhelig Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't be put off!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have just returned from four nights at the Penhelig arms and could not fault it. We have known and eaten at the hotel in the past but not stayed before. We therefore did not hesitate to book, particularly as there was a winter, two for one offer on at the time.
Having made our reservation we were surprised to read some of the poor reviews from the recent past and became a little apprehensive regarding our visit.
No such concern was warranted. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive, the room was great, the food and service was excellent and they were most flexible in accommodating our dog.
We gathered that there have been some management and staff changes which could account for the improvement but what ever has happened it has been for the good so don't be put off by poor past reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    179
    68
    35
    21
See reviews for
84
404
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdovey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

...at last!
Fire's lit, candles lit, bar transformed!

Seems to be a new man at the helm who knows what the Penhelig (and the village) has been waiting for.

Had a great sandwich on Saturday, all the other food looked great especially what looked like whole sea bass. New chef?

Things seem to be happening...at last.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We returned on Tuesday evening from a 2 night stay. Our room, No 9 was on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel. It was good a comfortable bed and bathroom and we had ample hot water, it was very close to the rail track but this didn't bother us. We ate in both nights at the Fisherman's Bar but were disappointed that the menu featured on the web site, which included some really interesting fresh fish dishes was no longer available and there were no 'specials' on the specials board, the food we were served was OK . We liked the bar which had the atmosphere of an old fashioned pub and the customers were not restricted to hotel residents, but were really disappointed at the lack of fish dishes. We understand that the hotel now owned by Brains and the chefs do not have a free hand producing menus but have to stick to dishes dictated Brains, also there were agency chefs in the kitchen ( which is never a good thing) however a new chef will be in place soon so hopefully things will improve, The breakfasts however were good and although the buffet table could have been better the rest of the breakfast was of good quality and all dishes were beautifully cooked.

All the staff were pleasant and very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

Brains beware please don't let this lovely gem become run down ( there are signs that some maintenance is required) and loose the character and features, especially all those lovely fish dishes, that has given it its reputation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel is in need of a cash injection the rooms are past there sell by date although there is a separate annex where I am told the suites are very nice. The food is only OK. [and yes the chips are awful] we had to ask for serviettes the steak knives came half way through the meal and they had never heard of French mustard all very strange ?.Some breakfasts were better than others and no brown sauce. I am sure they could do better although the staff were pleasant but in need of better supervision.
I must mention the plumbing in room 6 the shower went everywhere the sink plug is stuck and you can only flush the loo by removing the cover from the unit.
All in all I have had much better for £95 D.B.B.

Room Tip: Only book if you can get a room in the annexe ,but you will need to be fit to climb the steep steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a great weekend recently at this really nice little hotel, and were especially delighted to find that pets are welcome.

We stayed in one of the 4 suites which are separate from the main hotel, with a fabulous view over the estuary and to the hills beyond. We thought a balcony would be good, but they were already booked and the room available was on the ground floor with patio doors and a seating area/terrace, which worked perfectly, particularly having a dog. We were able to go out without going via the hallway so - with luck - we didn't disturb anyone. The rooms were excellent, smart, comfortable and spacious with a huge bathroom, with underfloor heating no less!

The food was pleasant, with fresh fish featuring, although I'm not sure the chef quite executed all dishes as you would hope, overall it was a good meal. The Welsh breakfast was enormous and had everything you could hope for, even laverbread (a bit like porridgy frog spawn in my opinion) - so you don't set out from here hungry!

This part of Wales is beautiful and Aberdovey is delightful with a good array of eateries. Try The Britannia for more fresh fish dishes. Definitely a good place to visit.

Room Tip: Choose the Penhelig suites - expensive but worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The plus points of our stay were the rooms which overlooked the sea and were very well furnished. The inn is in a very convenient position but has very little parking. Some more information about parking would have been useful. How about permits for the nearby council car park. During our 2 night stay we only had hot water once. There had been a power problem in the village but it seemed to be a problem with the inns heating. We kept being told the water would be hot in 10 minutes but it wasn't and the problem seemed to be taken quite lightly. We ate in both and thought the D,B&B offer was good value. The food was good with a couple of exceptions. We waited over an hour for our starter on the first evening and had to send a chicken dish back because it was undercooked. On our second evening we sent back a sticky toffee pudding which was a piece of dry sponge with no sauce at all.
The cooked breakfasts were good but you didn't always get what you had ordered. The buffet table on our second morning was rather sparse.
Overall we felt that someone wasn't keeping their eye on the ball. We will probably stay again sometime because we really want to like the place.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safariUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Once again another story about what was once a great little pub. evening bar meal no fire and the chips wer very poor, the only thing good about it was the barman reduced the double meal coast by £10 when we complained

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
0.3 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 11 in Aberdovey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Property: Penhelig Arms
Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing