We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penhelig Arms
Nearby Hotels
White Lion Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queensbridge Hotel(Aberystwyth)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
365
206
79
42
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
206
79
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravelzoo dealthe main hotellava breadparking spacecocklesboth nightseggs benedictsteakevening mealno liftsteep stairswine listfish dishesstayed for one nightlarge bathroomscallopslovely food
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just come back from a much needed two night stay at the Penhelig Arms. The room was clean and comfortable the bed was excellent, had a fantastic sleep! Phil the new owner had only been there 10 days, incredible! The staff could not have been more friendly, nothing was to much trouble. Well if that was not enough, to top it all was the food, it was simply amazing some of the best food I have ever eaten and I have eaten at some very nice places. IF it is like this after only ten days them I cant wait to go back as Phil is planning on making even more improvements......

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have just returned from four nights at the Penhelig arms and could not fault it. We have known and eaten at the hotel in the past but not stayed before. We therefore did not hesitate to book, particularly as there was a winter, two for one offer on at the time.
Having made our reservation we were surprised to read some of the poor reviews from the recent past and became a little apprehensive regarding our visit.
No such concern was warranted. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive, the room was great, the food and service was excellent and they were most flexible in accommodating our dog.
We gathered that there have been some management and staff changes which could account for the improvement but what ever has happened it has been for the good so don't be put off by poor past reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

...at last!
Fire's lit, candles lit, bar transformed!

Seems to be a new man at the helm who knows what the Penhelig (and the village) has been waiting for.

Had a great sandwich on Saturday, all the other food looked great especially what looked like whole sea bass. New chef?

Things seem to be happening...at last.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Celt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We returned on Tuesday evening from a 2 night stay. Our room, No 9 was on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel. It was good a comfortable bed and bathroom and we had ample hot water, it was very close to the rail track but this didn't bother us. We ate in both nights at the Fisherman's Bar but were disappointed that the menu featured on the web site, which included some really interesting fresh fish dishes was no longer available and there were no 'specials' on the specials board, the food we were served was OK . We liked the bar which had the atmosphere of an old fashioned pub and the customers were not restricted to hotel residents, but were really disappointed at the lack of fish dishes. We understand that the hotel now owned by Brains and the chefs do not have a free hand producing menus but have to stick to dishes dictated Brains, also there were agency chefs in the kitchen ( which is never a good thing) however a new chef will be in place soon so hopefully things will improve, The breakfasts however were good and although the buffet table could have been better the rest of the breakfast was of good quality and all dishes were beautifully cooked.

All the staff were pleasant and very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

Brains beware please don't let this lovely gem become run down ( there are signs that some maintenance is required) and loose the character and features, especially all those lovely fish dishes, that has given it its reputation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel is in need of a cash injection the rooms are past there sell by date although there is a separate annex where I am told the suites are very nice. The food is only OK. [and yes the chips are awful] we had to ask for serviettes the steak knives came half way through the meal and they had never heard of French mustard all very strange ?.Some breakfasts were better than others and no brown sauce. I am sure they could do better although the staff were pleasant but in need of better supervision.
I must mention the plumbing in room 6 the shower went everywhere the sink plug is stuck and you can only flush the loo by removing the cover from the unit.
All in all I have had much better for £95 D.B.B.

Room Tip: Only book if you can get a room in the annexe ,but you will need to be fit to climb the steep steps to reach it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews