We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penhelig Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for one night on livingsocial deal. Most welcoming staff in all areas. Our room was fairly small but we were made aware of this before we booked but it was warm,well-appointed and an excellent view across the estuary. A very friendly atmosphere in the Fishermans bar used by visitors and locals alike.
Our evening meal was excellent and unlike many "deals" there was no restriction on choice from the main menu. Service was a little slow but the quality and quantity outstanding - steak done perfectly to order and can recommend the scallops. Breakfast,too,had a lot of choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wales65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    172
    67
    33
    21
See reviews for
78
392
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for one night last week at the Penhelig Arms, arriving in absolutely atrocious weather conditions. We had a lovely lunch of fish, chips (crispy, twice cooked - super), mushy peas and homemade tartare sauce in front of a roaring fire. A good start! We had a room on the top floor which, on entering, we thought was small and cramped and disappointing. Our deal should have been in the Bodhelig Suite but we fully understand that it is subject to availability. However, once we settled in it really was fine with a nice modern bathroom (lovely and warm with a large heated towel rail - what a treat!) and a well designed wardrobe with folding doors making the most of the space under the sloped roof. The room was lovely and warm at all times (nice to arrive to a warm room - so often overlooked, and it makes such a difference). We had read online about the radiator needing a spot of paint - Spot? It was down to bare metal over a large part! Not a good first impression; it was that bad we laughed! The towels were large and luxuriously fluffy although there were make-up stains on one. I had read about that online too but the previous reviewer had been assured they had been laundered. They had. Dinner was very good indeed, particularly the pate to start. Loved the crème brulee. Service was excellent. I love low lighting in the evening but it was nearly dark with one tealight in our area, and it was very drafty sitting in the window bay.There was a good selection for breakfast, although the sausages were not at all good (skins well tough). Everything cooked very nicely. Nice to have fresh daffodils on the table. Yes, you do have to be careful leaving due to it being right on the road but you soon remember. We were expecting traffic and train noise but we were not disturbed (a Thursday night). We enjoyed our stay and guests we talked to were returners, which is always a good sign. Two of the staff had only started that week but everyone was very friendly and helpful. Overall, a very enjoyable and peaceful stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My girlfriend and I visited Penhelig on Saturday and were pleasantly surprised by how cute the village (Aberdovey) was. The drive in from the Midlands was full of amazing views, especially the lake 10 miles out of the village.
The b & b itself was brilliant- comfortable room, nice cider and the food was outstanding. We had a room that overlooked the estuary, brilliant to wake up to. The staff were genuinely attentive; no fake helpfulness that some places give off. They really wanted to make you feel welcome. I have to say again, the food was brilliant. They have a cosy pub area and lit a fire, which added to the charm of the place.
All in all, well worth visiting- we definitely will!
(Check out the local ice cream shop- best i've tasted)

Room Tip: You can ask for a larger room, which are located up on a terrace behind the main building. We'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

stayed on the friday and saturday 14th & 15th March in the Bodhelig Suite, the room was fantastic, really spacious, tastefully decorated with beautiful views over the estuary.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was very good. The staff were very welcoming and we would definitely go back.
Paul and Jean. Huddersfield

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollykrolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a two night kgb deal costing £99 for bed and breakfast and an afternoon tea. The room (No 3) was large as described below in earlier review and the bathroom large with powerful shower and loads of hot water. The location is excellent overlooking the Dyfi estuary and on the edge of the village so very convenient for a stroll into the village centre with its shops and pubs and for longer coastal path and countryside walks. The breakfast selection was very good and the afternoon tea a real treat. We have had afternoon tea thrown in on other deals which ended up a pot of tea and a piece of cake but this had salmon and ham sandwiches, bara brith, toasted teacake, scones jam and cream and profiteroles. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the manager seemed to be pretty hands-on. All in all a very pleasant experience. Just one minor constructive comment - the glass shelf in the bathroom needs fixing as it is loose and slopes and the stuff just slides off it into the wash-hand basin.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very good but I guess the others could be just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GazNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at Penhelig Arms. Lovely hotel in a good location with great views over the estuary. Excelllent breakfast and evening meal on both nights. Lovely relaxing atmosphere at the hotel with pleasant hard-working staff. Would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast on a KGB deal. Room was very large, attractive and comfortable. Size-wise, it had a large bedroom area with tables and chairs overlooking the estuary, large bathroom with bath and shower over (loads of hot water for my bath - much appreciated!) and a small dressing area. It was Room 3 and overlooked the bay directly. The bedroom area was really attractive with a lovely slate fireplace down one wall - gorgeous - and the bed was really comfortable. We only ate breakfast there which was excellent with fresh fruit, yoghurt, porridge, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, etc, etc - just about everything you could think of but done very nicely. Staff were really pleasant and helpful even though the hotel was quite full and I could see that they were busy. I would definitely stay there again and can recommend. Also, merlot wine in the bar after a day out was of good quality - am very strict about this as being a measure of the quality of a hotel!

Room Tip: Room 3 is superb with wonderful estuary views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
9.2 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Property: Penhelig Arms
Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing