We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Value”
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penhelig Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned from one of the very best one night hotel stays we have ever experienced. In all respects this is a great value hotel with quite exceptional cuisine and staff hospitality. The hotel has acquired an outstanding chef who demonstrates a very high level of food presentation. The room was spotless and even provided fresh milk with the tea/coffee making facility..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVID E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

After reading some positive reviews about this place and that it was returning to its former glory, we decided to book a two night stay.

Firstly the location facing the estuary, the short walk into the village, and beautiful beach make this a great base. It's the perfect place to unwind and take in the natural beauty of the surroundings, grab a coffee or walk a few miles on the clean golden sands.

Now the venue: The team at the Penhelig are warm and welcoming, and I have to say that the food was fantastic especially the evening meals served in the Bar. Breakfast was ok, although some items ran out on the cold buffet table and took ages to get replenished. Also the atmosphere was a bit flat with no background radio playing, which meant most people just sat in silence for fear of making noise.

For me the only real disappointment was the room. We had a first floor room directly above the entrance of the pub, and although it was reasonably spacious it was in desperate need of some TLC. There were two large patches of damp on the bedroom walls, and the general cleanliness could have been better. The clock radio alarm didn't work and neither did the kettle. The secondary glazing on the French doors almost come off their rails if you try to slide them back to access the doors to let in some fresh air, and could be quite dangerous as you could step out onto a flat roof without any safety rails.

The bathroom again was large, but a bit dated and with an awful shower curtain for the above bath shower. For £100 a night B&B I would have expected a higher quality room to be honest, and for that reason probably wouldn't stay again.

The cleanliness really needs to be addressed, because if you scratch the surface it definitely wasn't up to par. There's an old adage in hospitality... ''Inspect what you expect'', as this really comes down to simplicity like better management of the house keeping staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here on a Travel zoo voucher and we were given a suite just 100 metres from the hotel, this was excellent. The room was large, had a separate seating area and a large bathroom with a large shower cubicle and separate bath. The floors were heated which was fabulous. Each suite had its own parking space which was handy. Each suite had its own table & chairs outside. The view of the estuary is something I will never forget. This would be lovely in the summer. Included in the voucher was a three course evening menu, I had scallops and sea bream and my husband had pate and pork both were lovely. We then tried the pub in the hotel, this was very cosy and homely. Breakfast the next day was included too, I had the Welsh breakfast which was nice but my husband had the eggs benedict which was swimming in sauce and made him feel sickly. The only negative is about that their is no pavements nearby so you have to dodge the traffic. This said I would recommend this Hotel and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Suite 15 away from the hotel is a lovely large room with a excellent view.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank lilackeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend for a birthday celebration. Room lovely, with sea view and fantastic shower (albeit in a tiny bathroom). Staff couldn't have been more helpful and did everything to make our stay special. Had a full breakfast on the Sat morning and couldn't eat again until our evening dinner - both first-rate! Delightful stay - can't wait to retun for longer next time. Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here on a TRAVEL ZOO voucher, which was a great deal. The evening meal was included and unlike other deals, we were able to select options from the full menu. The room was small but had beautiful views over the Dyfi estuary. No bath but a powerful shower with plenty of hot water and a hot towel rail. Hair dryer supplied and plenty of sockets near the mirror to use it. The room was lovely and warm when we arrived. Breakfast was lovely. Lovely stay in a beautiful village.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidjo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here 27th march and could not find fault with anything. Room was lovely with sea views, evening meal excellent and had a really good night sleep. Again food at breakfast was delightful and a very good choice. All in all a great place to stay and excellent value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank maesyffynnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for one night on livingsocial deal. Most welcoming staff in all areas. Our room was fairly small but we were made aware of this before we booked but it was warm,well-appointed and an excellent view across the estuary. A very friendly atmosphere in the Fishermans bar used by visitors and locals alike.
Our evening meal was excellent and unlike many "deals" there was no restriction on choice from the main menu. Service was a little slow but the quality and quantity outstanding - steak done perfectly to order and can recommend the scallops. Breakfast,too,had a lot of choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wales65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
269 reviews
8.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
0.6 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#2 of 11 in Aberdovey
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range: £99 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing