We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff training needed”
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penhelig Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visited for lunch Sunday 15th June.The food was v.good,but the service was awful,although only one other table of 4 occupied(so not really busy) and 3 waiter/waitresses ,after being shown to the table as soon as we arrived had to eventually get up and go to find someone and ask for the menu,the food was good and beautifully presented,but again after along wait had to get up to find someone to give us the dessert menu( by this time we were the only occupied table in the resturant) ,this spoilt what could have been a lovely meal(some staff training needed I think)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank weninwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Penhelig Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very accomodating at short notice, we stayed in 2 different rooms - both very comfortable, clean and luxurious. We had 2 small children, and this was not a problem - bed were provided in our room (sofa beds). The evening meal in the pub was very good - in particular the fish of the day (best fish meal I have had in a long time). Good breakfast, varied hot options. Again, looking after our children was no issue. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here two years ago as a couple. This time we took some family members and happy to say just as good - possibly better.

Food and service still great - I think they have improved wifi - it's way beyond usual hotel fare.

What I like about this place are the little touches. It's a cut above the usual B+B experience without being stuffy and formal. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulyt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from four nights at the Penhelig. It was my first stay. Not only was the location excellent, with it's fine sea views from bedroom and dining room, the staff and management were friendly, quick to help and efficient. The food, (breakfast and the one evening meal we had), were very, very, good and the bar/pub part of the hotel was clean and cosy with a great range of real ale beers and other drinks.

All in all, top-notch. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had rooms 3 and 5, both were really good and had lovely views across the estuary.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had one night's stay here before moving into a cottage nearby and really enjoyed our stay here. We returned many nights for dinner during the week in our cottage. The atmosphere is really warm and friendly, nice roaring fire in the winter.
Excellent selection of wines by the glass and real ale for my partner. Food is really innovative and you can tell it is created with passion, which is very unusual in this world today.
We will be back again to sample some more as we have another cottage booked in July. Cant wait.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria1719Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Best steak ever! Lovely food although wrong menus were handed out and some items not available. Disappointed we weren't told this before ordering. Same thing happened to other diners, I felt like telling them. Service not terribly attentive. A row had occurred and a member of staff had gone home. Would eat here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As other reviewers have said - there is no 'Reception' and the hanging about at the bottom of the stairs is not welcoming. There did appear to be a distinct lack of 'management' and although the staff were pleasant little problems weren't quickly sorted out and therefore became an annoyance. The restaurant food was of reasonable quality but expensive for what it was, several items were unavailable and the service was too slow. Breakfast was extremely slow in arriving and the lava bread and cockles had turned into a hash brown - with no explanation. Have been before and there were no faults, but this time was somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FJS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
340 reviews
8.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
0.6 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#3 of 11 in Aberdovey
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range: £71 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing