We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, great staff and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penhelig Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great staff and delicious food”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Love visiting this hotel. The fishermans bar is lovely ! Had some great food and manager Phil was a great host. Cannot recommend this place enough!! I particularly enjoyed sitting up the top area and enjoying a beautiful view over the estuary !

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dj459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    178
    68
    34
    21
See reviews for
83
403
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our family stayed in the Penhelig House, this is self-contained accommodation attached to the main hotel, it was very pleasant with great views. We ate twice in the bar and the food was good with friendly efficient service. Breakfasts were very good. Parking is tricky due to the waterfront location, but that is a minor quibble given the surroundings and the perfect location for exploring wider afield - Blaneau Ffestiniog was particularly striking

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in August with my golfing amigos.Great location overlooking the Dovey Estuary and a short 3 minute stroll into the main hub, well hub is maybe pushing it. 3 minutes from the Dovey Inn!

Stayed in the annexe which is a pretty modern affair.The Superior room was fab.Beautiful views from windows and a well equipped bathroom - lots of tiles and a walk in shower.

Welsh brekkie was yumola and the staff most excellent.

Thanks PA.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Called in the Penhelig whilst visiting Aberdyfi for the day. Thought it would be good to pick up a brochure for a possible stay. As there was a sign outside saying coffee being served we thought that would be good. We found a table but after being ignored by staff I approached a young waitress who was very unhelpful and told me would have to order at the bar. Waited at the bar for over ten minutes again being completely ignored by barman. When I asked if it would be possible to order coffee was told that I would have to wait. At that point decided to leave and I most certainly wont stay there in the future. Staff need to be trained in how to treat customers.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

good welcome from hands-on manager Phil and his staff.Suite at back ideal for our labrador.Food in restaurant and fishermans bar good especially mussels in cream and wine!Our first visit to Aberdovey but we shall come again to the Penhelig.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our second stay with friends at the Penhelig, this time the experience was much improved, even though we stayed in the smallest rooms which were adequate, comfortable and with lovely views of he estuary. We ate in the bar on both nights of our stay, the service was friendly and professional, the food was excellent in both quality and quantity as was the breakfast.

This is a real gem, thanks to Phil and his staff for a fabulous weekend!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

never stayed in this particular hotel but have been to aberdovey many times this hotel is beautiful our room was small but very comfortable nice and clean good tea tray in room lovely view from window very helpful courteous staff meals are lovely breakfast very good I think it seemed to have a dutch element to breakfast mixed with traditional welsh but that's my slant on it prove me wrong and go check it out you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garner1redditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
315 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
240 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
0.3 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdovey
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Property: Penhelig Arms
Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing