We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the attitude”
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penhelig Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shame about the attitude”
Reviewed 23 October 2006

Fantastic food - but occasion wrecked by a female member of staff who I think might be the owner or at least someone in a position of seniority. We didn't actually stay at the hotel but booked a meal in the bar by phone. When we arrived (on time) we were told there was no booking in a manner that suggested we were making it up ! We had booked only that day, and explained that we'd been given two time options and chosen the later one. They eventually said we could have the bar menu in the restaurant (the menus turned out to be the same - the difference being you could have a single course with the bar menu) and were treated by the same staff member like something she'd scraped off her shoe. When she brought the bill she slapped it on the table, saying the amount out loud. Very rude at the best of times, but even more so as we were treating a guest to the meal. The food was brilliant - but I won't be going back to pay for that attitude. Looks as though we met the same person as the previous post !

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank merched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    179
    68
    35
    21
See reviews for
84
404
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2006

We stayed for one night at the Penhelig Arms in September. Before I start the assault on a particular member of staff, I'll talk about the good points!

The best thing about the Penhelig has to be the food. The menu is comparable to a London restaurant and is fairly priced; £28 for three courses, which is quite reasonable given the high standard of the food.

Secondly, the position is great, a stone's throw from the sea wall. It has the atmosphere of a genuine little fisherman's pub.

However, I am dismayed to say that our stay was marred but the surly attitude of a female member of staff. I am shocked to say that I think that she is the owner! She was working in the bar on the night that we stayed and to say that she lacked customer service skills is a vast understatement. When I asked for a dry white wine, she barked at me "WHICH ONE?" Without a wine menu, how was I supposed to know what wines were available?! She then slapped my change down on the soaking wet counter and stalked off into some back room. Sorry for asking for a drink in a pub!

She then proceeded to ignore customers waiting at the bar so that she could put glasses away. One gentleman left because he'd been left waiting for a good five minutes. Yes, it was busy, but a nod of the head in acknowledgment wasn't beyond her capabilties, surely?! When she finally decided to assist her customers, she began shreiking at one elderly gentleman. I couldn't hear why, but she gave him a real hard time!

We didn't stay in the bar for another drink after that because we were loathe to put more money in this woman's pocket. However, as we were leaving the horrible woman decided that she wanted to move her 4X4 car (surprise, surprise!) as the sea was coming over the wall. Rather than ask us to let her past, she simply barged us out of the way. If I'd thought faster, I'd have tripped her up!

It's a shame that our good impression of this place was ruined by a bad-tempered, rude and unfriendly member of bar staff. She turned the whole experience sour and we won't be returning!

  • Liked — Position and restaurant.
  • Disliked — Rude staff!
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend your money elsewhere!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LeChatNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2006

I can't recommend the Penhelig Arms highly enough!

Set on the gorgeous banks of the Dovey Estuary on the outskirts of Aberdovey (approx. half a mile from the centre of town), the Penhelig Arms is an absolute gem.

The food is worthy of any 5* hotel in London and there is wine list of over 300 wines/champagnes. In fact, the hotel has won many awards for its seafood and wines.

We booked small double, which although very small, was extremely comfortable and had a wonderful view over the Estuary. It only cost £67 (or £69 at the weekend) per person per night, which included dinner, bed and breakfast. What a bargain!

You will not be disappointed if you book a short break here!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank U2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
220 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2005

I stayed in Penhelig Arms last August with my husband and son,during our summer holidays in Wales and Central England.
In fact we have stayed in Penhelig House wich is adjacent to the Hotel ,with the same beautiful views and excellent service!!
Penhelig House is a loft style apartment, lovely decorated with design furniture, with all that we need to make our stay memorable!!
We have booked a Dinner,bed and breakfast package and we think that we have made a good choice because of the high quality of the food that they served in the Hotel restaurant!!
During our trip we have stayed in 9 different Hotels in Wales and England and Penhelig Arms is really the BEST!! We will return!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 July 2005

The saying " Everything Good Comes in small Packages " very appropriately sums up this excellent Hotel. Good Food, Good wines and comfortable accomodation says everything needed to know about this Hotel and it's very friendly staff.Book with every confidence.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
0.3 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 11 in Aberdovey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Property: Penhelig Arms
Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing