We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seaside hotel in Wales!”
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Recently returned from a superb stay at the lovely trefeddian hotel.
It was our return visit, we stayed for short winter break early this year to get away from all the hussle & bussle back at home, my wife is doctor, and I work away a lot so we both wanted a weekend away.

We stayed in one of superior rooms on the 4th floor sea facing, stunning coastal views of cardigan bay and the golf course.
The room was spotless, spacious and quiet! and the chambermaid was friendly and helpfull.

The quality of the food never disapoints In the dining room, don't think I ever had so much choice of food to choose from, always varied every evening as well, all the staff are polite and well trained. My wife has a shell fish allergy we kindly asked reception to get a menu marked up by the head chef every evening, which we were very gratefull for!!

Great facilities; in door pool, tennis court which we were tempted by but the weather wasn't Playing ball ( pardon the pun ) so instead we indulged on afternoon tea, and relaxed and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of the lounges.
And then enjoyed a pleasant sea side walk down the Beach towards towyn.


The free wifi on the ground floor is good addition, maybe could have the use in the rooms as well..

All in all we couldn't fault our stay, truly stunning location and a wonderfull hotel,
thank you Trefeddian, we shall be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scandola67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is the first time we have stayed at The Trefeddian Hotel but it certainly will not be our last. The service from the moment we walked in to the time that we left was absolutely perfect. The hotel is well booked throughout most of the year and it is easy to see why. The sea view from our room was fantastic and the 5 course meals were amazing. The hardest decision each day was which choices to have for the evening meal! The lounges were perfect for relaxing after or before meal times and the bar was well stocked with many beers wines and spirits.

There is a swimming pool there as well but with everything else going on we just did not get the time to try it out this time but will have a look the next time we stop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ateasd5941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have stayed at the Trefeddian Hotel for a number of years, mostly long weekends. There is a feeling of quiet efficiency coupled with traditional values that greets us each time we arrive, together with a warm welcome. Our rooms have always been comfortable and very clean, always plenty of storage space. The beds are well made with blankets, sheets and bed covers rather than duvets and sheets and very comfortable, so we always enjoy a good night’s sleep. The food has always been very high quality with a wide ranging choice for breakfast and dinner. Dinner is 5 courses and I cannot remember having the same meal twice. All the food appears locally sourced and is very fresh. The new digital televisions in the rooms and the free wi-fi on the ground floor are welcome additions. The manager tells me they are hoping to extend the free wi-fi to all rooms by next year. This would certainly add to the enjoyment of the facilities. The small swimming pool is always clean and a pleasure to use. I had hoped that they would stock one or two local welsh beers in the bar but I was disappointed, let’s hope they take the hint. Overall we find the hotel comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable and will continue to visit as long as we are able.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on 4th floor cost a little more but are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

What a stunning hotel!! Me, my wife and two children stayed at this hotel for a weekend break during the beginning of September.
This was our first stay and did not really know what to expect. The welcome received on arrival was warm and friendly, everyone was polite and we had help with our luggage (which included the kitchen sink!!).

Our room was superb; it was a family room on the 3rd floor (room 317) which had views over the estuary and down the coast towards Aberystwyth. Our room had a balcony (which we did use even thought the weather wasn’t the best). The family room had a double bed and two single beds a large bathroom with a walk in shower and bath! This room also had a dividing partition between us and the children which gave us a bit more privacy.

The Hotel has three lounges which are all with wonderful views over the golf course and coastline. Each of these lounges are really relaxing and perfect for afternoon tea (which was excellent).
Food at the hotel was fantastic and dinner was included in the price. This comprised of 5 courses (which we did manage to eat, and so did your teenage sons). The kitchen must work like a well oiled machine!!

My wife had a massage in the Beauty Salon which is located at the top of the hotel and really enjoyed it. Our children loved the pool and games room and didn’t stop playing snooker and pool during the entire duration of our stay!

Whilst my family were keeping themselves busy I did have a few chances to check my emails using the free wifi in the bar whilst having a cheeky pint.

Overall this is a fabulous classic Victorian hotel which have been thoughtfully been brought into the modern era. You can tell that it is a family run establishment as the service is impeccable. We really enjoyed this hotel and will hopefully be returning next year for a week!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank food4thoughtabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Wow, what a wonderful hotel.
The welcome we received on our arrival was superb.
The room was divine, service was excellent.
The dining room has such a warm, family feeling. It was super to see gentlemen wearing ties and jackets, looking smart and good that ladies could dress up too.
The staff are so considerate and professional and helpful.
Food, marvellous, what an amazing menu.
How wonderful to have sheets and blankets not horrible hot duvets.
Cannot wait to go back, a truly traditional hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the sea, fabulous. Watch the sunset over the dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisP509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Talking to various guests in the bar and restaurant, it seems that many come several times a year, year after year after year. So if a hotel has that many repeat customers, it is clearly doing a lot of things right and maybe feels it doesn't need to change. Many of the guests here when we visited were in their late 60's, and 70's and 80's and perhaps the few things with this hotel that I did not like, are the very things that keep those age-groups returning.
My positives - the breakfast and dinner food was fabulous, as were the dining-room and bar staff. The location is wonderful - a seaview room looks out over a narrow links golf course, a quiet railway line, some sand dunes and then over Cardigan Bay and beyond. There is plenty of parking. The hotel is very comfortable.
My negatives - there is no wired or wi-fi internet access available to guests, free or charged, at all. Men must wear a jacket and tie for dinner. You don't sign for anything, or show them a registration card, when ordering food and drink; instead you just give your room number (how do they know a guest is telling them the right room number?). The bed linen is sheets and blankets (the blankets were probably clean but smelled a bit musty), not duvets. The hotel does not accept Credit Cards (so make sure you have the cash in your current a/c to cover things).
All of my Negatives will probably mean I don't return to this hotel, even though I had an otherwise lovely time. There are other lovely hotels in this area that I can choose from where things are a bit more 2012. But I am in my late 50's and, potentially, my age-group is this hotels repeat customers of the future and I don't think I'm unusual in wanting something a bit more up-to-date.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have got to be worth the little extra the hotel charges. The views are spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Very friendly hotel. Nice rooms and excellent food from the resturant. Timing between courses was just perfect, staff curteous and very helpful.

All in, a very enjoyable stay and we will be returning sometime in the future.

A real bonus would be Wi Fi in the rooms, although it currently can be accessed from the public areas.

It is within walking distance of the town, or a lovely walk across the beach to the town.

Views from the hotel are just lovely, and if lucky enough to get a sunset, even better.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
1.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
687 reviews
15 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
345 reviews
9.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
9.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
332 reviews
0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range: £51 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perfectly-positioned between the Snowdonian mountains and the Cambrian coast, just outside the pretty seaside village of Aberdovey (Aberdyfi in traditional Welsh). With panoramic sea views, the Trefeddian Hotel's accommodation is the perfect place to enjoy crisp mornings and sun speckled afternoons. Each of our 59 hotel bedrooms and three self-catering units are well equipped with all the modern comforts you need to feel right at home. We have a range of sea view and hill view bedrooms, with a lift to all floors. Quietly charming and traditional, the Trefeddian Hotel has been passed down the generations of the Cave-Browne-Cave family who firmly believe in 'good old-fashioned hospitality'. Nothing is too much trouble, just let us know any special requirements, we will do our very best to meet them. Being an award winning family friendly hotel, the Trefeddian is the ideal place for a family holiday in Wales, there is just so much to do, rain or shine! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing