We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation with a capital R....”
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Relaxation with a capital R....”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

.....and Location with a capital L.!
Went for Lunch on Saturday and had a savoury Cheesecake for starter, a Fish platter for main and Blackberry and Apple Crumble for dessert. All was enjoyable and the crumble was one of the best I have tasted - none of that pie
filling but actual whole fruit and not sickly sweet & mushy but had a bite to it. The waitress was very chatty and friendly and the service was just at the right pace. Then Coffee in the lounge, watching the kite surfers in the bay and the golfers opposite. £56 for three of us with a couple of drinks and coffee. This is what hotels used to be like, alas not many of them left now. Next time we shall call in for Afternoon Tea which we hear is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    117
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
153
194
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Called in on Saturday for lunch, setting is wonderful especially with a window seat in the restaurant.
The pace here is slow - no rushing about there is plenty of time between courses to allow you to relax.
Food is well cooked, it's not fancy just good old fashioned British food.
Coffee can be taken in the lounge - again lovely views & you can take your time & let your lunch go down!
Worth a visit if you are in the area & reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Having been to the Trefeddian hotel on many occaasions, it was like coming home again, to a wonderful, peaceful and tranquil haven.

Great to see Bryn again at Reception, and as usual wonderful service from the lovely June Humphreys in the restaurant.

This time I went with a friend, who also loved the hotel and has requested to come again very soon.

Keep up the good work everyone!

Room Tip: Love the rooms with balconies overlooking the sea and links golf course, well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

As can be seen in other reviews if it is entertainment that you crave, this is not for you. On the other hand if you appreciate elegant caring service, furnishings with more thought to comfort than style (no minimalism here ) and everything presented in a leisurely but courteous and efficient manner then this is your (and my) kind of hotel.
Although we live only a few miles away we have always used the hotel for lunches and the occasional dinner but for once we decided rather than a drive home after a good dinner and may be a little too much wine, an overnight stay would be preferable, so we booked a short break and were very glad that we did so. The rooms are very comfortable and the atmosphere is so relaxing we can quite understand why many busy people living in large towns find this hotel and this part of Wales so desirable. For some I can understand the negative comments which liken the hotel to an old peoples home, but then this is the wrong hotel for them. Maybe it is the older generation who can appreciate the relaxed charm of hotels like the Trefeddian.

Room Tip: Top floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coalabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We returned back to the Trefeddian hotel, but this time my wife & I decided to bring her parents along with us for a weekend break away. I left it abit late booking, so we didn't have the rooms we wanted available on the 4th floor, which are very nice & spacious with a fabulous view. We ended up have a sea view twin and a hill facing double. Thankfully my wife & I took the hill facing room the weather was scorching, 30 degrees!! Having a hill facing room was a god scent in the end, it was very warm and stuffy in the rooms during the evenings.

Our 2 night stay were very good, we really couldn't fault the food, rooms, staffs professional approach to every situation when it comes with dealing with customers, you can really tell the hotel is flawed & has a a very consistent Management style. We all enjoyed the afternoons on the lawn having afternoon tea. But it was that hot in Wales that weekend I ended up going swimming in the sea!! The hotel was very busy especially during the dinner service in the evening, I recommend getting sat down early because it does become busy. Whilst I was sat in the lounge during the evening I read through the family history of the hotel, the Cave-Browne-Cave will have ran this special hotel for 110 years next year! There surely isn't many hotels left in the UK these days with out a big chain stamped there name all over it! It was a brilliant couple nights and my wife and the in laws thoroughly enjoyed there stay, helped along with the warm weather as well. If you are looking for a relaxing, leisurely weekend away, spend that little more and come and get a taste of the Trefeddian you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scandola67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was a first visit to the Trefeddian Hotel which is in a lovely setting on the edge of Aberdovey with stunning views over Cardigan Bay. I have recently moved to the area so this was not as a resident of the hotel but a lunch date with a group of local ladies. There were around sixteen of us, as a large group we chose from the lunch menu in the bar before we were seated in the restaurant. Two courses for £12.95 or three for £15.50, with seven starters and a good range of main courses there were plenty of choices that appealed to everyone.
I personally chose Smoked Trout and Cream Cheese Pate as my starter followed by a fisherman's platter which consisted of poached and smoked salmon, smoked mackerel, prawns and salad.
An enjoyable meal reasonably priced and good service in a location with stunning views means that I have every intention of eating here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyLouMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions over the past fifteen years or so. We are a discerning couple in our 60s, and having both followed busy careers (and two daughters!) we look for premium service when we visit hotels and restaurants. The Trefeddian continues to offer a magnificent standard of customer care, and all staff extend a courteous, friendly and efficient service.

The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, and in our many visits we have never found cause to make negative comment.

The dining room has a friendly atmosphere, and the menu (which you can see on the hotel`s website) provides an extensive range to cater for all tastes. Prices for the food (and wine list) are fair and sensible.

External facilities (tennis court, swimming pool, putting green) and in excellent order.

If you want an all singing / all dancing holiday with entertainment provided, this is not for you. if you seek a leisurely, relaxing stay at a high quality hotel, then it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CWETetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
1.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
631 reviews
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
150 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Property: Trefeddian Hotel
Address: Aberdovey, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing