We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have had lunch and snacks at Trefeddian on several occasions. It never fails to impress me. It's location is perfect and the view from the dining room is beautiful. The hotel is extremely well kept, clean and comfortable , the staff are welcoming and warm and the food is well cooked and tasty. I look forward to the next time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    117
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
153
194
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We've been staying at the Trefeddian for many years and with every visit the place just gets better and better. From the moment you check-in to departure your are made to feel so welcome and the service you experience from reception, the bar and restaurant - in fact everywhere - is second to none.The hotel itself is located just outside Aberdovey and commands wonderful views over Cardigan Bay. Rooms are clean and tidy and to an excellent standard. Meals are taken in the spacious restaurant and there is a varied choice - including vegetarian - from the menu for breakfast and the wonderful 5 course dinner. The hotel also boasts two comfortable lounges (one for "adults only") where you can sit in peace and read your newspaper, (ordered at reception upon your arrival), or just simply watch the world go by, or for the more energetic try a dip in the pool or have a round or two of pitch and putt!! Highly recommended and we're looking forward to a return visit sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book a room with a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend at the beginning of half term week with my brother in law and family on their recommendation.

We see why they come back here year after year as the place offers great value for money, comfort and fantastic views!

We had a first floor sea view room with balcony, which I'm afraid we didn't really get to use as our stay coincided with Storm St Jude, and it was just a bit windy. The twin beds were comfy (if a bit narrow), the room was stylishly finished, and there was a nice selection of amenities provided in the bathroom. Our one complaint was the "courtesy" light which came on every time anyone headed towards the door or bathroom - ensuring that a discreet night visit to the loo was anything but - as an overhead light would come on with a loud click as you passed through the door!

Public rooms were all comfortably furnished with conversation groups, and staff were quick to rearrange them after guests left chairs all over the place. We thought the food was good, tasty and plentiful and served by pleasant and willing staff. My only complaint was that in my sausage one morning I found a very large and unappetising white vein..... The hotel could never have known about it, but it did somewhat put me off the rest of my breakfast..... The views from the lounges and dining room over the golf course, dunes and sea are stunning, and if you don't intend to spend a lot of time in your room, believe me - save the money and enjoy the view from the lounge!

Glad to hear that the wifi coverage will be extended property wide next year..... The current router only covers the main lounge, the bar and the reception area..... And lots of users means Internet is very slow.....although I had brought my dongle, the mobile reception in the area was patchy, which meant we had to rely on the hotel.

Would we stay again? Yes, I think we would, but maybe save the sea view room money...... And spend the £38/ night saving in the bar!

The entire staff deserve a mention for providing excellent service for our entire stay - it's so nice to be waited on by people who seem to actually enjoy their work!

Room Tip: Sea views are lovely - but you can have them for free from the public rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have just spent another excellent break at this hotel...we can never fault anything! The rooms are very clean & comfortable, we had a superior room and it was so spacious, with settees, coffee table and comfy chairs, rather spoilt us! The views from both sea view and hill view are amazing, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area. The food is fantastic and so much choice you don't know what to have. The staff are very kind, helpful, smiley and someone is always there for you if you need help. Aberdovey is lovely any time of year and there are plenty of places to visit not too far away and of course the scenery is beautiful. Nothing to dislike about this place, we will hopefully spend another holiday there in the new year and many more.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been perfect but the superior room beat them all, they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMayneord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Trefeddian has a large following of regular visitors who recommend it unreservedly. The visitors are almost all retired folk with a country air who chat and smile to other guests.
rooms are of a good standard but in spite of an obvious refurbishment still have a rather tired look. Wifi currently is available only on the ground floor public rooms but will be available throughout from 2014.
The hotel is very warm, staff are very friendly and kind and helpful and the hotel is extremely well heated, in fact as the windows only open a small amount as a safety measure it could be difficult to keep the bedroom comfortably cool in hot weather.
The 5 course evening meal is one of the star attractions. The choice for each course is large and varied and also varies from day to day. Presentation is pleasing and copious fresh vegetables are served separately. The meal is of average restaurant standard. Breakfasts are similarly copious with very good choice if starters including large bowls of strawberries in October. The full breakfast again has a good choice is generous and hot.Staff quickly refill jugs of juice and bowls of cereal at the buffet..The only preserve for toast appears to be jelly type marmalade in a dish at he table.Staff try to move guests closer to the windows as their stay progresses to give everyone a chance of a sea view. Daily newspapers are hit and miss in the whole locality.
The are numerous lounges with books and jigsaws for guests to use. They are light, comfy, warm and spacious with lovely views over the golf course. There is lift.
If you want a happy welcoming hotel which caters particularly well for senior citizens the Trefeddian would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Ok the hotel is great the staff friendly and did enjoy the meals, though as others have commentated a pause between courses would be good, feel as though it's a challenge to get us in the dinning room, fed & watered and all the tables set for breakfast before the staff have to leave.

But what would be nice would be some decent soundproofing - the couple staying in the room directly above us did so enjoy their 1am and 3 am walks around on both nights. I'm afraid we didn't enjoy the numerous times they woke us up. Plus an overhaul of the plumbing system would be good too as our noisy neighbours used the bathroom a lot and the noise of the cistern filling up was loud and long and intrusive as was the length the bathroom fan stayed on.

All in all a nice daytime place but not so good if you wanted a peace and quiet, day or night, and even if your neighbours don't wander around at night the floorboards still creaked and the plumbing was still intrusive.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room - not sure how to avoid the plumbing though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

As you drive up you cannot fail to be impressed by this hotel. I stay here alone but never feel lonely as you are greeted by all staff and feel like one of their large family. All areas are clean and well kept and the single rooms have more than enough room but who spends long in their room with the wonderful views and walks in the area. Regular walks are needed to walk off the large breakfasts and 5 course evening meals served by very friendly waitresses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HRKGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
1.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
631 reviews
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
150 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Property: Trefeddian Hotel
Address: Aberdovey, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing