We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keen amateurs”
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Keen amateurs”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location and good intentions are let down by many small glitches. Wifi that drops out all the time, a shower that runs hot and cold, small bath towels and an out of date TV set etc.
Clientele seems to be mainly older people who perhaps are happy with this step back in history.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cremoinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    120
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
158
200
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Great location for the best beach in Wales! Having self catering suited our holiday with friends! Eating in and out in Aberdovey is a good option. Had a power cut one morning and the hotel called inviting us for breakfast very hospitable. Excellent breakfast! Our major gripe, the slowest internet ever at the hotel and none in the self catering, they need to address this?

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RPW1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just back from two days of wonderful weather in this seaside hotel.
Booking in could not have been bettered.
Our seaview room was fine.
The dining and reception rooms were all excellent.

Booking here involves dinner, B&B.....there is no opt-out from dinner, even if you do not need it. This I found quite unusual. However, in fairness, management were happy for us to take lunch in lieu of dinner.

Given that the majority of guests were "mature" (I am 69) the lift was a disaster. It is neither large enough or fast enough to cater adequately for guests. This really cries out to be rectified.

The food is satisfactory, but no more than that.

So, in short, a pleasant enough stay, but I would not be tempted to re-visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GOURMET4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just come back from a weekend here, with the most glorious weather. What a truly relaxing break.

The room on the third floor, facing the estuary, had a lovely view and was very comfortable and spacious. The hotel's terraces and lounges all have fabulous sea views, so if you don't want to spend the extra money on a sea view room, you won't miss out.

The food was very good, especially the breakfasts, and the service is excellent - I thought the staff were friendly, helpful and professional throughout.

The newly-refurbished pool has been done beautifully and the putting green was very well-looked after. The hotel is a great example of a well-established family business which has moved with the times - it is unusual in being geared both towards older guests and really well-equipped for children too - the games room is a very good idea.

My one gripe would be the single, painfully slow lift - with a high number of guests really unable to use the stairs, I think investment in a better lift would make life easier for all, especially when getting luggage in and out. But overall, a great place to stay - we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freelance99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My parents come here each year to celebrate their anniversary, 65 this year. I bring them to help out, so I get well fed and cared for as well.The staff are very attentive and know everyone's name, especially those that come on a regular basis The hotel staff had an anniversary card for my parents delivered to their table, thank you for your consideration.
Dogs are allowed to stay which I think is marvelous, they're all well behaved and most of their owners. Food here is excellent, hence if you want to keep your weight down walking up and down stairs helps and the re-furbished swimming pool is well worth a visit

Room Tip: Sea view rooms cost more. The rear of the hotel looks onto the vegetable garden and a hill where rab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC67Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a quintessential British seaside hotel. Family centred with nice rooms, good food, ample parking and spectacular views. The large, superior rooms on the 4th floor are very spacious but could perhaps benefit from having mini-safes and bathrobes. The one lift has a "relaxed" approach to its duties and the wifi connection is not at all good. The staff, however, are outstanding.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for a weekend with friends on DBB. Recommend rooms with sea view and if warm a balcony. Good range of evening meal options and very good quality. Staff are very friendly and professional with a lot of customer focus. Breakfast really good options both cereal, fruit and cooked. Rooms a good size and nicely decorated. Plenty of space to sit and relax from the lounge to the bar to a small library. Reasonable walking distance to Aberdyfi (about 15-20 minutes steady not fast pace).

Room Tip: Sea views are extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ffiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
9.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
478 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
10.4 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
101 reviews
12.1 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Property: Trefeddian Hotel
Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perfectly-positioned between the Snowdonian mountains and the Cambrian coast, just outside the pretty seaside village of Aberdovey (Aberdyfi in traditional Welsh). With panoramic sea views, the Trefeddian Hotel's accommodation is the perfect place to enjoy crisp mornings and sun speckled afternoons. Each of our 59 hotel bedrooms and three self-catering units are well equipped with all the modern comforts you need to feel right at home. We have a range of sea view and hill view bedrooms, with a lift to all floors. Quietly charming and traditional, the Trefeddian Hotel has been passed down the generations of the Cave-Browne-Cave family who firmly believe in 'good old-fashioned hospitality'. Nothing is too much trouble, just let us know any special requirements, we will do our very best to meet them. Being an award winning family friendly hotel, the Trefeddian is the ideal place for a family holiday in Wales, there is just so much to do, rain or shine! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing