We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standard remains in all areas!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“High standard remains in all areas!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

It is a few years since our last visit to the Trefeddian and we thoroughly enjoyed our recent weekend there. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi have been upgraded to a high standard and we enjoyed a couple of swims to cool down after some very hot weather. The bedrooms are of a high standard with all the expected extras including tea, coffee and biscuits. The bathroom has plenty of high quality soap and shampoo. The inclusive weekend package included a five course dinner on Friday and Saturday evening. The food was of a high standard with excellent service from pleasant friendly staff. We played on the excellent nine hole putting green, just in front of the hotel, just before we left. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveHChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    107
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
141
183
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We recently spent a weekend at the Trefeddian after not having visited for about 7 years. We found that there had been some upgrading of facilities which were much appreciated, particularly the new swimming pool and Jacuzzi, which was very welcome on an extremely hot weekend. Our room at the front of the hotel seemed to be newly refurbished with new carpets, wardrobes and bathroom. All was spacious and well presented.

We were booked for dinner bed and breakfast, and found the five course dinner to be very good. As you do not book a specific time and can wander into the dining room at any time when they are serving, obviously the food has, to a certain extent, be of the mass catering variety, but we found it very good, service was excellent, and the only problem was the heat, which is hardly the fault of the hotel. I am not going to mark them down for not having air conditioning, as I imagine it is not very often needed. We brought our own fan, but I noted that other guests had fans obtained from reception.

You can't beat this hotel for its views and beautiful front garden. It is bliss to sit on the terrace with afternoon tea, looking out across the dunes to the sea. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Front room for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Ok, I knew up front that this hotel would have a different atmosphere then the hotels I would normally choose, but as it is quite difficult to find suitable accomodation for a few nights in this region I thought I'd give it a try.
The hotel is very nicely situated overlooking the dunes, sea and golf course. Shared the room with our 3 kids, no problem as the rooms are spacious enough. Service was just fine and very friendly. Game room & indoor pool nice for the kids and a wonderful beach at walking distance. Also, we enjoyed the putting course in the evening. The hotel offers bed, breakfast and dinner (+dresscode!) and we noticed the average guests where all returning guests of age.
So, did we enjoy the hotel? Yes. Will we recommend it to our friends/people travelling with younger children? No.
Ps. be aware that there are no highways in Wales, travelling by car takes time!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank gotravelwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having stayed at Tref eight times now, I'd love to give it five stars. In almost all aspects it deserves it - the location is beautiful, the staff polite and welcoming, the rooms are lovely and the food is absolutely spectacular - possibly the best you'll get in all of wales. Unfortunately, I have a few niggles that bring down this wonderful hotel to four stars. As an avid user of social media and the internet generally, I've got to say that the wifi is appalling - it constantly cuts out, and often you'll have to rejoin the network every time you want to do something different on the web. Considering there's very little phone signal in the area, this is especially bad. Also, the showers aren't great - the control is dodgy and at the height of six foot my head bashes against the unadjustable shower head a bit too much. However, these are comparatively small problems, and ones that a lot of hotels suffer from. I would definitely advise anyone who loves impeccable food, spectacular views and beautiful grand decor to stay here any day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed at the Treff. for five nights in early June. Randomly picked this hotel from the recent positive reviews as we were looking for somewhere to stay along the west coast, we had stayed in the north and the south of wales previously and Aberdovey seemed about the right location.

We were not disappointed, first impressions on arrival were of this huge, pristine white building set high above the coast line in well kept gardens, inside, although being over a hundred years old, has been kept (and refurbished) to a very high standard with décor and furniture of high quality.

There are two large well furnished lounges overlooking the sea as does the restaurant.

We got to our room and were impressed with the size of the bathroom and the quality of the furniture, not your usual flat pack rubbish but real quality newish oak furniture, the room (314) had a walk in shower as well as a bath all of high standard.
We chose a 'hill view, room as the sea view rooms were quite a bit more expensive and you don't spend much time in your room do you, but we could see that the sea view rooms with a balcony were a good option as you could make use of the sunbeds in the lovely weather we were lucky to have.

In the lounges there a books with copies of walks and drives to choose from, and with the relevant number from the page the reception will give you a copy, we used this all week, a nice touch.

Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice, the Five course dinner was also good with plenty of choice, but personally found the menu to be a little OTT, as I'm a fussy eater I did find it hard to choose something 'basic' enough, and there were a lot of fish dishes and I'm not to fond of fish, but that was just me!

Tried the swimming pool, it had just been refurbished and again was pristine, nice and warm, with a small area for sunbeds outside, seemed under used though which is a pity.

Most of the guests seem above sixty years of age (as am I) and seemed to be returning every year, ( reminded me of Warners but without the entertainment ) which shows how good it is.

The only slight downside is the lift, there is only one lift and its very small and slow, we are still quite active and mostly used the stairs, but if you cant use stairs then at busy times there seemed to be quite a wait.

All in all we had a lovely five days, the staff were all wonderful, we have already recommended it to friends, its in a lovely location and we were lucky to have glorious weather, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upopup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I took my family to this hotel for my 70th Birthday celebration (12 of us of all ages) and could not have been more pleased with the choice. The rooms, particularly on the fourth floor, are spacious and attractive.
The food is excellent, with a five course dinner in the inclusive rate and the choice of wines superb.
There are also excellent facilities to keep youngsters `quiet` with a superb games room and many other possibilities including a very nice indoor swimming pool and excellent access to a superb sandy beach a short walk away.
What stood out however was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They all exhibited a natural professionalism and not the rather forced `guest procedures` you find in chain hotels.

Room Tip: The sea view from any floor is superb but any of the rooms on the fourth floor are particularly spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmgn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nice place to be well run great views many people return time and time again. better rooms are the ones at the front some with balconies, and sea views. Great breakfast. Good service.
Friendly people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
1.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
6.3 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Property: Trefeddian Hotel
Address: Aberdovey, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing