We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Y Bwtri Blasus

Y Bwtri Blasus
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Llwyngwril, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Lovely weather in Aberdovey. Went for a nice walk on the beach then we thought we would have some lunch. We ordered Welsh Rarebit with bacon...after a lengthy wait 30-40 min a very pleasant and smiley waitress brought us our food. Unfortunately, although we were very hungry by this time we were unable to accept the meal as it not only looked burnt but also smelt burnt...it was surely going to taste burnt! We explained to the waitress that the food was just too dark, she seemed to understand what we were saying and took the food back to the kitchen. To our astonishment the owner then appeared at our table insisting that 'this is how welsh rarebit cooks', we expressed disagreement whereby she again insisted that this was how welsh rarebit should be. We did not accept this, we have eaten welsh rarebit many times, we've even cooked it ourselves!She reluctantly offered to prepare something else for us, not having too much time left to waste we hastily ordered a bacon sandwich and a bacon and brie sandwich......40 mins later we received our cold food. The thing that took the biscuit was that the returned rarebit was then served to the table next to us! They immediately realised that they had been given the same rejected food as it was not only burnt, but by this time, cold! AND AGAIN, the staff refused to acknowledge the situation!!! Its a pity, our visit was not only disappointing but unfortunately it will most defiantly be the last. Our advice...have a look around, there are other places to eat, go along to Tywyn, you will not only get decent food but also good, honest value for money!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorraine707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    21
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
523 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

One day back in September we decided to have a day out to the seaside as the weather was glorious. As we have done a number of times in the past, we called in for lunch. It seems the deli is popular both with locals and tourists. There are not many tables but we were lucky to find one free.

A warm welcome, plenty of choice to eat and drink. It was a little busy that day, even for midweek and we had to wait a little to settle up at the end. No worries - a nice place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast or lunch time snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Love to have the cheesy beans on toast for breakfast.

It is a cosy deli environment with personal service and really nice food to both eat in or so many items to browse on the shelves and take home.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent little cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

If your visiting Aberdovey and want breakfast a snack or afternoon tea, this is a lovely little cafe, food is always delicious, freshly cooked. Always have a specials board with a few items on too. The only problem you might face in holiday times and weekends is it is so good with only 4 tables ( 2 for 4 persons, 2 for about 6 persons) that you might not be able to get in. They do takeaways though & my husband says the coffee is excellent. If you see a table free whilst walking past grab it, otherwise someone else will.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dizzybabybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tywyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lovely tasty food and fantastic friendly staff, well worth a visit. Good choice of meals with delicious puddings and cakes. Always busy there so sometimes hard to find a seat as limited space. Nichola the owner and Catherine her sister are always with a smile and ready for a chat make you very welcome. My husband and I love to call for afternoon tea, scone, jam and fresh cream, yummy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Bwtri Blasus also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Bwtri Blasus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing