We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
roi388
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We enjoyed very much Ty Bryn. Judith was very helpful in corresponding before we arrived and things were straight and simple. It has a wonderful view, and the place is well equiped, although a coffee machine would be a good addition. The place was spacious enough for 8 of us (4 adults + 4 children), and the garden was good place to ran and release some energy. The location is quite good, albeit if you are looking to have more time in Snowdonia, a location more toward the north would be preferable, but we still had good time in Aberdovey

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tailor45
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“House with view to die for”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After travelling nearly three hundred miles you would really like a pint of milk in a clean fridge waiting to enable you to enjoy a cup of tea, unfortunately neither was the case. Our first task was to clean the fridge which obviously hadn't been cleaned properly since the last occupants, butter stuck to the side and shelves unclean too. This wasn't the only unclean item, the grill pan was caked in burnt on food, the frying pan had fried egg stuck to the side and food slice thick with bacon fat. The shower cubicle in the main bedroom didn't look as if it had been cleaned properly for some time, orange gunge in between the tiles and the back of the shower black mould. In the bedroom the bedside lights had a thick covering of dust and the windowsill covered in dust and dead flies. The lights in the shower of the other en suite weren't working properly making it impossible to see. When we tried to contact the handyman on the telephone number provided we were told it was the wrong number, so had to contact the letting agent and they organised this to be fixed promptly. If you had been left items to clean with it wouldn't have been so bad, as it was we had to purchase these, the brush and dustpan was also filthy also. That is all the moaning done. Now for the best of Ty Bryn, it has the most wonderful views you could wish for so on a day when it rains non stop, and it did, you can sit and look out at an ever changing view before you. When the sun is out and it was for the rest of our week, you could sit outside on the extensive deck and admire the superb view. The open plan living area makes it very sociable. We enjoyed an amazing week in Aberdovey. Would I recommend Ty Bryn, of course, but it was disappointing to find the cleaning not up to what you would expect in a property such as this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The wonderful views
Liked least: Having to clean everything in the kitchen on arrival
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your comments. We are sorry that Ty Bryn was not as clean as it should have been. We use a well respected company in Aberdovey to clean and launder for us and usually clients are very complimentary about the standard of cleanliness. Obviously something went awry on this occasion and we - the owners - and the cleaning company apologise for this. We are told by our agent that the issue with the lights was dealt with swiftly. If they had been told about the cleanliness issues we know that his would also have been rectified immediately. However we are pleased to hear that you had an 'amazing' week in Aberdovey and that you would recommend our house to future potential clients.
Judith and Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola A
1 review
“Amazing house!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from a perfect week away in Ty Bryn. The house is very well equipped and the views are spectacular! All in all a perfect house for a family holiday. I've no doubt we'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Hello Nicola
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you loved our house.
Judith and Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane a
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderfully stylish, comnfortable and well situated holiday home”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I joined a group of friends for a holiday in Aberdovey and we were thrilled with the comfort and quality of this beautiful and well equipped holiday home. Set on a hill overlooking Aberdovey, we could enjoy views from inside the house but also from the good size balcony. Aberdovery has a lovely sandy beach, excellent walks and places to eat out and on the one drizzly day that we had, we took a tiny local train to Portmeirion and enjoyed exploring there. I have already recommended this to both my children to take their families as it would also be a perfect place to go with children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the house was well abover normal holiday rentals.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trishwill...
northampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing. Perfect for 4 couples, long time friends who meet up annually”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

picked this property for the views and location, and of course, amazing aberdovey. 4 girls have walked together annually for years, and this year we chose aberdovey and were joined by our spouses for the first time, for the last 4 days. we all loved the house, well equipped with quality fittings and appliances, the bedrooms were perfect, nice bed linen and towels, very user friendly for heating and LOTS of light at the lounge level, with views to die for. The walk back from the sea front is steep, but we did it every day and by the end of the week, hardly noticed it (we are all mid sixties) we also found a cut through opposite the main entrance to the property. Train trip to Barmouth is wonderful and the steam train in Trywn delightful. Highly recommend/

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view and quality of accommodation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B0dders01
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We keep coming back!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I'm surprised to read the niggily review below. We have returned to Ty Bryn 4 times over the last 3 years. We love the view, trees included... We love nature and how get house is set back from hubbub of the village... It's quiet, relaxing, well equipped and maintained. I guess that is what the owner is trying to do, ask guests to look after and respect the place it as they would their own home. We will be back for more walks, sunsets, steam train rides, fun on the beach and ice creams in 2016...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill471
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Oh dear. I didn't like it very much at all! There is no doubt it is a beautiful place (little decorating/maintenance needed) and there but not very relaxing. A welcome hamper - just small - would have helped

It really is a long way from anywhere, and we found ourselves traveling quite a way to find any attractions (apart from the beach) and the sea view was virtually totally obscured by trees.

The booking agent has very strict 'rules'. We couldn't pay straight into his bank account and only by credit card. There were more 'rules' when we got there. Couldn't park the car outside as it upset the neighbours, the curtains had to be drawn, we had to use a window wiper after a shower etc.

The bed pillows were as flat as pancakes, no 'niceities' in the bathrooms at all which for the price we paid I was expecting

I maybe a little particular about my bed when I am away, but the crunch came when we were leaving. the bed sheets had to be stripped and left in the bath. Thats OK, but the mattress protector had to be left on! Its protecting me though as well!

Sorry, not my kind of place, no attention to detail or anything to make one welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing