We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good (but could easily be Very Good)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good (but could easily be Very Good)”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First, whilst I have rated the Farmhouse as 4/5 I was in two minds about whether it should be 3/5. In my view, the property isn't "Average" but equally I don't think it is "Very Good", What I really wanted to say is that the property is "Good, but could easily be Very Good", which I hope comes through in the following review.

The location of the Farmhouse is very good. It is not walking distance to any local amenities (the nearest pub/shop etc is a good 5 minute drive in either direction) but provided you have enough cars this is not a problem. The view from the property out towards the estuary is nice and there is a nice view towards the trees from the sun deck. However, the first thing you see when you drive up to the Farmhouse is an extremely ugly partially completed breeze block building, which is also the first thing you see when you go out the front door. It is really not ideal. Similarly the garden leaves a lot to be desired and is certainly not really suitable for children.

Inside there are three double bedrooms - all ensuite - two living rooms, a dining room, downstairs WC and a kitchen. The accommodation is spacious and furnished to a high standard. Our party had only 4 adults and 2 infants so there was plenty of room to spread out. I'd say however that you wouldn't really want any more than 6-8 in your party, as although the snug could double up as a fourth bedroom it is nice to have that room as a permanent 2nd living space (especially if you have kids - we used it as a non-toy haven)!

Inside, the property is child friendly. Two high chairs and two travel costs were provided, which was appreciated. There were also stair gates.

The local area is lovely. Aberdovey and Tywyn are nice costal towns and the scenery is spectacular.

In terms of constructive feedback, I would suggest the following:

(i) There is no mobile signal at all in the property. There is wi-fi, but I would suggest that a landline be installed because it really is not good to be isolated with no phone signal when you are away with children.
(ii) The standard of cleaning could definitely be improved. Upon arrival the rug in the living room was covered in hairs and crumbs and certain parts of the kitchen (eg the oven and cooker hood) had not been cleaned properly.
(iii) When we arrived at the property there were no "basics" (eg bread, milk, eggs, etc). Having stayed in 3 or 4 similar properties in the last few years I would say that this is not the norm for a high-end property. It would be a nice touch if such basics were provided upon the guests' arrival, particularly as it is a drive to the nearest shop.

In conjunction with making improvements to the garden and the "building site", these minor improvements would, in my opinion, definitely elevate the Farmhouse from being "Good" to "Very Good". That said, we did have a nice time and we would recommend the Farmhouse to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bathdiner82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, as you can see from all the reviews posted since we bought the property we are getting some great positive feedback and your comments are useful in helping us make further improvements as we go along.

Once again thankyou and we hope you may one day revisit us.

Kind regards

Paul Tunstall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in the Gatehouse last week ('til 31st August 2013) and the accommodation is lovely, with luxury furnishings and fittings, such touches make you feel welcome, valued and very comfortable. The small things make a huge difference, and make you want to return. As another reviewer said the property is quite close to the road, but such things are out of the owners control, the road isn't busy but it is fast, that said I wasn't bothered by this at all and I slept extremely well. The gardens are lovely, I didn't have any problems with my dog, she was always quite happy out there and never once wandered off. I have many happy memories of this property and no negatives at all. Thanks to everyone involved, the booking agent and the owner, your approach to everything ensured I had a lovely break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thankyou and so very pleased you were so impressed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The farmhouse was 1st class and a delight to stay in. The quality of the furnishings superb and alot of effort had gone into delivering every possible luxury that we needed. The bedding was beautiful and the beds top quality, with large ensuites in the 3 double rooms.My son was in the 'snug' where the king size sofa bed had also made up for our arrival . It was a large room including a t.v which was ideal for him.
The kitchen was brilliant for those who enjoy to cook.Every possible piece of equipment was there, all top quality. The china and glassware was good and plenty of it, not just the usual 1 per person.The american style fridge/freezer was great for size and good fun with an ice/cold water dispenser.Outside there was a super large bbq which cooked well and some excellent seating provided for our comfort.The outside deck situated on the first floor had beautiful views over the lake/estuary and was stunningly good for star watching as there were no street lights.
Aberdovey was ideal for families ,including crabbing from the jetty which was great fun.There are fabulous rides through the mountains and Dolgoch Falls are a must if its been raining , spectacular !!
Well done to the owners for providing such an excellent property !

A couple of small negatives- there is no grassed area which would be a problem with younger children as the back garden was slate shingle.There is a 'shell' of a building inherited by the owners which maybe developed. It is right next door and in our opinion would very much reduce the seclusion and impact on future holiday makers enjoyment

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knowthetruth219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thankyou and so very pleased you were so impressed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We approached this with some trepidation because of the previous reviews. We have stayed at another property owned by the same person and that was a delight to stay in. We could see that the bad reviews were quite old and it transpired that they originate from the previous owner who did not appear to run a very good service. The farmhouse was great to stay in. We had a large group and everything we needed was there. The owners have made sure that the best quality furnishings have been used. The kitchen was fantastic for a person who likes to cook, with good utensils and pans. The décor is of a very high standard and one of the best we have stayed in. Everything was spotlessly clean and well kept. We broke a glass on the first night and informed the owner. It was not a problem and the cleaner replaced it the next morning. We were quite impressed. The owner made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. It was certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phil_Jane_wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Very pleased now that all the hard work is paying off and guests supporting our efforts.
Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse 5 star self catering .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We booked the Farm and the Gatehouse with 12 of us staying between both properties. The Farmhouse seats 12 so we were able to all eat together. Both properties have been refurbished to the highest standards and the new owners deserve a pat on the back. The free use of the facilities at Plas Talgarth was a huge bonus, with the use of both the indoor and outdoor pools.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 29felix29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thankyou for your kind review, we are on track now to reestablish as a wonderful destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

If you like quality then this place is for you. Ignore the old reviews and book it. If the Farmhouse is up to the same standard as the Gatehouse, which i really believe it is, you will not be dissapointed if you stay at either.
We stayed at the gatehouse which has 2 bedrooms. The slate floor downstairs screamed expensive (and made me very very jelous), the kitchen was beautifully done and very well equipped with quality almost too good for holiday rentals, the plates were Wedgewood which made me frightened of breaking them. The linen was all clean and fresh and again obviously expensive. The bathroom with its spa bath was brilliant and after climbing the suposedly moderate slopes in the nearby forestry commission walks i spent quite a few hours in the bath, it was absolute heaven. The shower was quiet and didn't disturb those in the bedroom upstairs, the utility room was well equipped and the provision of the basic household products ment we could actually use the dishwasher without having to specifically buy tablets and wash and dry clothes so that i didn't have to take it all home dirty. Again these little things scream quaility and thought by the owners.
On the occassions when we had cold days we put on the heating for a short time and found that we hade to turn it off again as the radiators were so good. This place really changed my find about properties that are all electric as the heating was brilliant and the hob was so quick and efficient and easy to clean which is a clear bonus when on hols.
The hoover was a Dyson Ball which i desperately wanted to bring home and the airer ment i could hang the waterproofs up to dry in the utility.
The owners have done a fantastic job of making this a wonderful place to spend time and the practical considerations really made it less stressful for me.
I have to put in some negatives to balance out the review and make it absolutely fair but if i'm honest they weren't really negatives to us and we would definately stay again, in fact I didn't really want to leave it was so nice.
The Gatehouse does not have a secure area for dogs, the Farmhouse does, although both properties are set in a secure garden with gates to the front. The only problem was that the people staying att he Farmhouse, despite being advised that we had a dog with us, repeatedly left the gates open which ment that we couldn't let the dog out off of the lead. Not the owners fault i know but it did impact on our holiday as we were unable to leave the doors open or sit out by the pond without tieing the dog to a tree which wasn't what we wanted really, poor hound.
The shower screen leaked a bit but we cured it by stuffing a flannel into the gap, but only after I had managed to soak everything on the floor. Left a note of this in the housekeeping book so hopefully they will do something about it. The housekeeping book is a great idea to let the cleaners and the owners know about any problems.
This property is right next to a road and a railway line. The railway line didn't impact really as it isn't busy and the trains are litterally a couple of carriages long so they come and go very quickly. The road cannot be described as busy by my everyday standards but it is a busy road for Wales. This didn't bother me either but it may if you are a very light sleeper.
The bed in the downstairs bedroom was very comfortable and we slept very well in it, it is just a shame it's not a kingsize as a double was a little small for us.
The bedroom upstairs is definately better as a twin as the person who sleeps on the right of the bed cant get out when it is set up as a kingsize but our friends made no complaint and they were very happy with the quality of the bed.
The lounge area was a little small, or so i thought when we arrived, but I very quickly became comfortable on the fabulous leather sofa in front of the TV with freeview and DVD player at the end of a busy day.
I am a snob and when I go away I want better than I have at home and can honestly say that we got just that at Panteidal Farm.
We are genuinely pleased that we booked the Gatehouse and can't wait to go back and try the Farmhouse with some more friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank Catgirl2193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thankyou for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.

Paul Tunstall
Panteidal farmhouse & Gatehouse 5 star quality accomodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
5.7 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
60 reviews
6.6 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
3.2 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#3 of 11 in Aberdovey
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gogarth Hall Farm
Gogarth Hall Farm
#7 of 11 in Machynlleth
28 reviews
2.6 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
651 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse

Property: Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse
Address: Panteidal Farm Aberdyfi Road, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0RG, Wales (Formerly The Old Stables Aberdovey & Panteidal farmhouse & Gatehouse)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panteidal farmhouse & gatehouse nestles in a small valley on the edge of the Dyfi estuary, the main house sleeps 8 and the gatehouse a further 4. With a booking at our properties guests can enjoy complimentary use of the facilities at Plas Talgarth, indoor pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, gym , childrens adventure play area etc.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing