We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdovey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 10 walkers. The farmhouse and gatehouse was the perfect location for us. Beautifully furnished to a very high standard, (loved the gorgeous oak doors throughout). Comprehensive information pack with a vast list of things to see and do in the area. It was lovely sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine , admiring the view of the estuary after an arduous walk! The icing on the cake would be a hot tub! I recommend the Sea Breeze restaurant in Aberdovey. The crab, mussels and sea bream is excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kinz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the gatehouse for 4 nights for a pre Christmas break. The gatehouse has two floors, upstairs us the 2nd bedroom with 2 single beds, downstairs is the master bedroom, living, dining and kitchen area all open plan. There are stable doors leading to the bathroom and utility room and the upstairs bedroom. The house has underfloor heating, wall heaters and an electric fire. There is a TV and DVD player in the living area and the room had been decorated with Christmas tree and decorations which was a nice touch. The kitchen was stocked with tea, coffee, sugar etc but make sure you take milk if you want a cuppa on arrival.
Aberdovey is a short drive away, it is in walking distance for the average person but the roads are bit safe to do so. The beach is nice but due to the time if year shops and restaurants were closed so we travelled to Machynlleth to the Coop to get our main groceries, we had to self cater due to everywhere being closed but still had a nice relaxing break.
I would love to come back here again in the warmer months to explore the garden and the walk alongside the gatehouse as it was cold and dark whilst we were there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A beautiful farmhouse in a lovely location, very relaxing.
We stayed from the 2-6th January 2014.
The farmhouse is furnished to a very high standard with lots of extra touches that make it very homely and welcoming.
The kitchen is very well equipped with good quality utensils.
The views are lovely from most angles of the house and the balcony is a must for star gazers
(even on a winters night).
The bedrooms are spacious with comfortable beds and the whole property is a treasure.
We will certainly recommend the farmhouse and gatehouse to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our second vist to the Farmhouse and just as good as the first,blessed with lovely Autumn weather which helped, cannot fault the property and we had a great friends get together, must recommend the Riverside Inn at Pennal for great food and made full use of the facilities at Plas Talgarth which was a great bonus, all in all a great stay, will hope to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29felix29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thankyou for your kind review and very pleased you had another enjoyable stay with us, it means a lot when guests return. Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the Gatehouse 25 - 27 October 2013. The property is great, very well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, stylish finish, gorgeous garden area. A very comfortable stay.

On the Friday night we went to the nearby Plas Talgarth leisure centre on the basis that temporary membership was available as a part of our stay. We had a very embarrassing experience. Upon arrival and announcing that we were staying at the address as advised by the proprietor, the staff looked awkward and advised the subscription had not been paid for some time, the proprietor wanted to pay only when he had guests staying (rather than a monthly or annual subscription as required) and they had been trying to contact him to sort to no avail. Despite this they let us in and we had a great couple of hours in the gym and pool, but it was awkward.

I have since contacted the proprietor who advised it was a mix-up. Even so, I hope no-one else experiences it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thankyou for your review , we are pleased you enjoyed the cottage for your brief stay and are sorry you had a problem with the use of the complimentary facilities we offer at nearby Plas Talgarth, our membership is used by many of our guests and we have not heard before of anyone being refused use....the management there assure us that as with any members the facilities are available for their use subject to a capacity limit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First, whilst I have rated the Farmhouse as 4/5 I was in two minds about whether it should be 3/5. In my view, the property isn't "Average" but equally I don't think it is "Very Good", What I really wanted to say is that the property is "Good, but could easily be Very Good", which I hope comes through in the following review.

The location of the Farmhouse is very good. It is not walking distance to any local amenities (the nearest pub/shop etc is a good 5 minute drive in either direction) but provided you have enough cars this is not a problem. The view from the property out towards the estuary is nice and there is a nice view towards the trees from the sun deck. However, the first thing you see when you drive up to the Farmhouse is an extremely ugly partially completed breeze block building, which is also the first thing you see when you go out the front door. It is really not ideal. Similarly the garden leaves a lot to be desired and is certainly not really suitable for children.

Inside there are three double bedrooms - all ensuite - two living rooms, a dining room, downstairs WC and a kitchen. The accommodation is spacious and furnished to a high standard. Our party had only 4 adults and 2 infants so there was plenty of room to spread out. I'd say however that you wouldn't really want any more than 6-8 in your party, as although the snug could double up as a fourth bedroom it is nice to have that room as a permanent 2nd living space (especially if you have kids - we used it as a non-toy haven)!

Inside, the property is child friendly. Two high chairs and two travel costs were provided, which was appreciated. There were also stair gates.

The local area is lovely. Aberdovey and Tywyn are nice costal towns and the scenery is spectacular.

In terms of constructive feedback, I would suggest the following:

(i) There is no mobile signal at all in the property. There is wi-fi, but I would suggest that a landline be installed because it really is not good to be isolated with no phone signal when you are away with children.
(ii) The standard of cleaning could definitely be improved. Upon arrival the rug in the living room was covered in hairs and crumbs and certain parts of the kitchen (eg the oven and cooker hood) had not been cleaned properly.
(iii) When we arrived at the property there were no "basics" (eg bread, milk, eggs, etc). Having stayed in 3 or 4 similar properties in the last few years I would say that this is not the norm for a high-end property. It would be a nice touch if such basics were provided upon the guests' arrival, particularly as it is a drive to the nearest shop.

In conjunction with making improvements to the garden and the "building site", these minor improvements would, in my opinion, definitely elevate the Farmhouse from being "Good" to "Very Good". That said, we did have a nice time and we would recommend the Farmhouse to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bathdiner82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, as you can see from all the reviews posted since we bought the property we are getting some great positive feedback and your comments are useful in helping us make further improvements as we go along.

Once again thankyou and we hope you may one day revisit us.

Kind regards

Paul Tunstall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in the Gatehouse last week ('til 31st August 2013) and the accommodation is lovely, with luxury furnishings and fittings, such touches make you feel welcome, valued and very comfortable. The small things make a huge difference, and make you want to return. As another reviewer said the property is quite close to the road, but such things are out of the owners control, the road isn't busy but it is fast, that said I wasn't bothered by this at all and I slept extremely well. The gardens are lovely, I didn't have any problems with my dog, she was always quite happy out there and never once wandered off. I have many happy memories of this property and no negatives at all. Thanks to everyone involved, the booking agent and the owner, your approach to everything ensured I had a lovely break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultunstall, Owner at Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thankyou and so very pleased you were so impressed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
2.6 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
6.5 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.6 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 11 in Aberdovey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
3.0 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#9 of 11 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse

Property: Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse
Address: Panteidal Farm Aberdyfi Road, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0RG, Wales (Formerly The Old Stables Aberdovey & Panteidal farmhouse & Gatehouse)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Aberdovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panteidal farmhouse & gatehouse nestles in a small valley on the edge of the Dyfi estuary, the main house sleeps 8 and the gatehouse a further 4. With a booking at our properties guests can enjoy complimentary use of the facilities at Plas Talgarth, indoor pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, gym , childrens adventure play area etc.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panteidal Farmhouse & Gatehouse Aberdovey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing