We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous New Year Break”
other travellers have booked this property
The 'Old Barn'. Large enough for the whole family to enjoy a film and the wood burner.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 'Old Barn'. Large enough for the whole family to enjoy a film and the wood burner.
The old barn is now a spacious sitting room with wood burner, 46in TV with SKY HD.  Maesywerngoch photographed from the lower garden.  Plenty of space for games and hide and seek.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The 'Old Barn'. Large enough for the whole family to enjoy a film and the wood burner.
The old barn is now a spacious sitting room with wood burner, 46in TV with SKY HD.
Maesywerngoch photographed from the lower garden.  Plenty of space for games and hide and seek.
This is our favourite room. Dining table for 12. Comfortable seating to watch the birds. Wood burner
large sitting room/dining room. Wood burner.  Enjoy the views over the valley and bird watching.
Kitchen with all mod cons including a Pillar Box red AGA.
Pilar Box Red AGA with kitchen seating for 4.
Master bedroom with super king size bed. En-suite bathroom with separate shower.
En suite bathroom with separate shower.
King size bedroom with en-suite shower room.
King size bedroom with en-suite shower room.  Lovely views over the quiet valley.
En suite shower room to king size bedroom
2 long singles can be zipped up to create a super king size bed. Stunning views over the valley.
Spacious shower room. Over looking the beautiful valley and front gardens.
King size bed can connect with the bunk room.  Very quiet.
bunk beds for children joins king size bedroom or can lock off.  Separate exit.
Spacious shower room overlooking front garden near twin beds.
Very comfortable twin room with wardrobe and dressing table. Beautiful views over the gardens.
Cozy sitting room.  Seating for 12.  Wood burner and 46 in TV with SKY HD.
Sitting room with 3 sofas, 2 extra chairs.  Wood burner, 46 in TV with SKY HD.
laundry room.  Bosch washer and dryer.  Hotpoint Fridge/larder. Sink.
Luxurious wet room with underfloor heating and separate bath.
3 acres of landscaped gardens with ponds, streams and waterfalls.
Side garden in full bloom.  Ideal for games of hide and seek.
Front patio with seating.
Courtyard at the back of Maesywerngoch.  Plenty of parking available.
Front garden overlooking the valley.
The front of 
 Maesywerngoch. Plenty of space.
Floor plan. Ground floor.
Floor plans.  Bedrooms upstairs.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sara H
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous New Year Break”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Having stayed at Maesywerngoch in May 2016, we decided to book again for New Year. We had a fabulous time. The house is perfect for large groups, it's very secluded and there are some fabulous walks from the front door. We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
We are so glad that you enjoyed ringing in the New Year with your large party. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flo M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas 2016”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is an outstanding holiday home. It is a beautiful house which has been cared for to the highest standard. It is set amongst stunning forests, very much away from anyone else. The older traditional part of the house has beautiful slate floors, huge fire places and a agar while the new conversion part of the house it modern and light. All of the furniture and accessories are of the highest quality and the gardens are huge and varied including streams and waterfalls. If you are considering visiting then you must, you will be thrilled. I would love to live here and will certainly return one day. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and there is plenty to do. The butchers in Machynlleth was outstanding. We bought some lamb and venison home back to Devon and it was the best we've had- shame it's so far to pop back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
We are so pleased to hear that you and your party enjoyed Christmas at Maesywerngoch. We find that the house is great for large groups with plenty of things to do in the surrounding area. We hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbury
Warwick, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous house, breathtaking landscape. (Repeat visitors)”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have had the privilege of staying at Maesywerngoch a number of times over the past few years and therefore seen the changes unfold as the house has been renovated and extended. The respect and vision for the house has been beautiful to see and each stage has only added and enhanced despite, we must admit, a small degree of anxiety in case character and warmth were changed. The house is a jewel set in a breathtaking landscape. We never tire or take for granted any feature of the house or the mountains. It is quite simply, bliss.’

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed the extensive house renovations, gardens and the surrounding beautiful forest.
We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_histo...
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful spot away from everyday life”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house and grounds are fantastic, with loads of space for everyone to play, read, watch TV, relax or do their own thing. We are a family of 12, comprising grandparents, 2 sets of parents and 6 children aged between 12 and 3. Everyone had a wonderful time. The children played lots of ball games on the big lawn and also played board games and did jigsaws in the house in the evenings and on the one wet morning.
We self-catered and found the kitchen very good with lots of equipment. We even tried out the Aga with reasonable success.
The track up from Pennal is 3 miles long and rather rough but we didn't mind that. We went to Aberdyfi, Borth Sands, the Osprey centre and the Centre for Alternative Technology. We also walked directly from the house up into the hills. We were blessed with lovely weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: The midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
We are so pleased that your large family enjoyed the grounds and house. We are blessed with many attractions in the area and of course the lovely beaches of Borth and Aberdovey. Looking forward to welcoming your family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keralavis...
keralavisitor
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay for three generations plus one dog”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a wonderful time at Maesywenrgoch. We were a party of ten - three generations of a family, aged from two to seventy, and one dog - and there was more than enough space for us all. It is in the most beautiful and peaceful location. We could have been happy just exploring the gardens for a few days, as they are beautifully kept, and full of surprises - but happily there is also a lot to do in the area. We enjoyed going for walks on the footpaths nearby, and took some trips to the seaside and to local pubs and restaurants. The house was perfectly equipped, and the information provided about the house and its surroundings were much appreciated. Thank you to the hostess for all your help and guidance in the run up to the stay, and Terry for looking after us when we were there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views, and the solitude
Liked least: Beware of the midgies! Luckily the host warned us of this and left out midge spray.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
We are so pleased that you and your multi-generational party enjoyed your stay at MWG. We are truly blessed to have spacious gardens and many walks and cycling paths straight from the front door. We hope to welcome you back to Maesywerngoch very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardwa...
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our long weekend at Maesywerngoch was excellent. The house is in a beautiful setting and the spacious interior is extremely comfortable and relaxing. The space allowed our party of 7 + 2 dogs to do our own thing when we wanted. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and we were able to go on long walks with the dogs. This is an excellent venue for any size of party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and surrounding countryside
Liked least: The weather could have been kinder but who knows what June will bring
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
We are so pleased to hear that you and your party enjoyed the house, grounds and peaceful setting. This is dog heaven! We hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general ambience and location
Liked least: Going home :-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
We are so pleased that your multi-generational group enjoyed all of the amenities that Maesywerngoch has to offer. We are blessed with plenty of space to roam both inside and outside of the house. Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing