We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high tea”
Review of Station Hotel

Station Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Station Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ellon
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Went here for a high tea with friends, fabulous. No complaints about the service very attentive. Great choice on the menu, the food was served freshly cooked piping hot, very tasty, lots of veg too. would recommend this hotel for food without hesitation, well worth a try and very keenly priced.

Room Tip: we ate in the restaurant, might have been a tad noisy down in the bar. Lots going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanded55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

Our car club have for many years had our pre-Christmas lunch at this hotel for what we all consider are very obvious reasons.
This year we again booked the room in the summer and on the day 21 of us appeared for the meal.
We had a marvellous choice on all 3 courses and the food when it arrived, was hot and on hot plates. (apart from the ice creams!)
The end of meal coffee was clearly freshly ground and very enjoyable.
So what you might think is "delivering when it really counts" all about.
Simple. . . the kitchen and staff were not just catering for the 21 of us they was also looking after a separate dining room upstairs and a function suite of over 70 other guests.
Teamwork at its best . . . . . . . & yes we'll be back in Dec 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauriceMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at hotel on Saturday evening they seemed very busy and we were told our room was upstairs to the left and we were left standing, the room was very nice and spacious, the ensuite had cobwebs and the sink overflow required a good clean, we were very near function suite where there was a function in full swing which kept us awake, on returning to our room at night corridor very badly lighten and with 4-5 stairs to negotiate my husband actually fell up them, on mentioning the noise in the morning the waitress before taking our money went to speak to the owner before giving us our change no discount for noise as had been requested, though nice enough hotel customer service poor and expensive for what you get

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here when visiting for a family party nearby. Rooms were excellent for a small hotel, as was the food in the restaurant, although I felt it was a bit expensive. We stayed in the refurbished wing of the hotel, so it was very well presented and quiet for all the family. Even had free wifi which meant all the kids could keep themselves occupied on Facebook when the adults were talking and drinking. Would certainly recommend for any stopover.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junior_Biscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Hidden in the middle of an estate I had a bit of trouble finding this place and first appearances did not make for a good impression . Once inside though it is obvious that a lot of care and attention has been spent on this place,the room was spotless and well furnished with the on suit also looking brand new. Restaurant looked as if it had recently been refurbished and make sure you are hungry when you order as the portions are huge!
If this hotel was in a different location you could expect to pay double .
I will definitely be back the next time I am in Ellon

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Got married there last week. Little or no help from staff. Bride arrived with no one to meet her. No master of ceremonies. The manager even forgot that we'd paid deposit and tried to fleece us out of £300. Only the quick thinking of best men saved service.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is located on an old railway line which is used as a cycle track making it very handy for us after a long day in the saddle. We were able to take our bikes through the hotel for secure storage. We arrived on a Friday night and the bar was very lively but friendly. We had dinner in the hotel dining room which was very good. Rooms comfortable and there was a good choice at breakfast. Recommended for cyclists..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudburybob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ellon hotels
0.5 mi away
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ellon
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ellon
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Shallowplough
Shallowplough
#1 of 1 in Ellon
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Address: Station Brae, Ellon AB41 9BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ellon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ellon
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ellon, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing