We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hightea visit”
Review of Station Hotel

Station Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Station Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ellon
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hightea visit”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I have been here previously and up until now really enjoyed the food and service. However today's visit was slightly disappointing. The service was very slow, considering there was only one other table and the waiting staff were uncertain as to what items on the menu are suitable for a nut allergy. The same thing happened when our cakes were brought out at the end. We had to ask if any of them contained nuts. I would have liked for our waitress to have identified if any were unsuitable for my niece and nephew to eat prior to bringing them out of the kitchen. We left a smaller than usual tip to reflect our visit.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanza1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    9
    10
    11
See reviews for
19
17
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anerdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had not been here for a while and were going out to celebrate my mother-in-law's special Birthday.
Service was very slow and haphazard - desserts brought but had to wait until three more tables were served before we were given the cream. It was fairly busy and there were only two members of staff, one of whom was very young.
Actual food nothing out of the ordinary. My husband's chicken stack was unusual and he said it was very tasty but with no sauce served, extremely dry. Accompanying vegetables also plain, no sauce.
The best part of the meal was definitely dessert. The sticky toffee pudding was delicious and there was an extensive choice of sweets.
Okay for an ordinary meal but nothing special and wouldm't rush back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I had a meal at the station hotel yesterday and it was the best meal I've had in a long time had no complaints waiting staff were polite and v.friendly I ordered my meal which was at my table within 15mins and was hot and well presented and very tasty would definitely be returning and bringing my family

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarastuart04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great place to stay, lovely big rooms, very grande building and retains many of its historic features. Very interesting looking at the old cutting and platforms. Darts are available in the bar along with pool which is always a good thing.

Food was lovely and breakfast was excellent, would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellon
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

first time we have gone out for Christmas lunch and it was very pleasant. Service was very good - accommodating half portions for the older members of our party. we were in the arches restaurant and will definitely think about it again for next year. Happy new year to all the staff at the station hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westiewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed at the Station many a time over the last 7or8 years and never a problem. The rooms are large very clean with big hot shower rooms. The restaurant has many tables with very friendly waiters that look after you for what ever you want. There is an excellent range of food but if you wanted something different and they have it in the kitchen they would have no problem in doing it for you. A very good price for a good night stay be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed during a 'function'- of which we were not informed of during the booking process. Very loud music/slamming doors until 00:30, followed by loud drunken people shouting/screaming and slamming doors until 02:30. Sent an email expressing my concerns and the owner did not even bother to respond. A shockingly bad place to stay- if functions are booked they should be advertised on the website so that customers can make an informed choice about whether to stay.

Will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ellon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellon
0.5 mi away
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ellon
93 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
235 reviews
13.3 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ellon
141 reviews
4.8 mi away
Newburgh Inn
Newburgh Inn
#1 of 3 in Newburgh
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: Station Brae, Ellon AB41 9BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ellon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ellon
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ellon, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing