We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Jamaica Inn
Ranked #4 of 160 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great location, right on seafront overlooking boat racing. Staff a bit over worked and service slow, but food excellent when it arrived. We try and sit outside as even on a chilly evening the view is worth it, patio heaters are built into overhead decking area. Bad points are, rarely any loo roll in ladies and always smells like stale beer when you walk in side the front door!! Have raised these points on the many times I have visited. I keep going back as the good points outweigh the bad, always enjoyable!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    172
    63
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Long wait all because of our starter”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have been coming to the Jamaica Inn over the last few years and have always loved it. We went there recently on the weekend and as we had not booked sat outside. We ordered a started between us and two main meals. Our started came out and was lovely. We had finished nearly 15 minutes and no staff had come near us. So I went in and told them that we were ready for our mains. We then waited and watched as everyone around us was served their mains. After another lengthy period of time I went in and seen the barstaff asking about our mains. I was told the kitchen was very busy and sure you had a starter! When the food did arrive it was great but I just felt that it wasn't worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craic32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not great but ok”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Char sui pork was not crispy and my fish had bones in it, which the staff told me were edible. My fiends went with the smoked haddock which was excellent as always.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A great bar and restaurant with lovely outdoor seating area, with a fabulous view. All day menu with a great choice. As a fish lover, I have never been disappointed here.
Always a warm atmosphere here. Tend to go earlier in the day as although I love live music - if eating here when it's on- its just too loud to comfortably chat at the table.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank coco40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Dissapointed but still a fav!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Always loved the Jamaica Inn but had not been for a few years. Recently called in for lunch and although nice....was definitely not as good as previous experiences. Still great place in a great location and will be returning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamaica Inn also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing