We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a b & b”
Review of Hargreaves House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hargreaves House
Ranked #2 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much more than a b & b”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here in September and again in march, and have left very impressed on both occasions. Pauline is a lovely lady who is a very friendly and goes out her way to make you're stay very pleasant and enjoyable, the b and b is situated right on the shore making the views out to the bay very pleasing on the eye. The rooms are extremely nice and clean giving it a more upper class feel than the tariff suggests.all in all an extremely homely feel and made to feel more than welcome, I would definitely recommend and will hopefully be returning myself sometime in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmarkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hallo
Thank you for taking time to make a comment on the site about your stay here. I am very glad you were made to feel 'at home' and were comfortable. We do certainly agree with you that the view from the dining room is spectacular whilst you are enjoying breakfast - and at any time of the day or night..........Your comments were lovely and I hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
92
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed with my son who was competing in swimming championships in Aurora Centre. The room was perfect for relaxing during the day and sleeping at night. Only a short walk to restaurants and cafés The early start for pre competition warm up was no problem Pauline had breakfast prepared early. Wide selection of breakfasts available from cereals for athletes to fry up for hungry parents. Approx 5 minute drive to Aurora in mornings but takes a little longer in traffic. Pauline has best route printed off and ready for use. We have our room booked for next competition at end of March.
Also brought back happy memories of family holidays a few doors up the road as a child.
Rod

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0d58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hallo - Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here during the swimming event here in Bangor. I am glad everything was to your liking and that the new ortho mattresses proved a huge success. Sorry about the roadworks that you encountered but I am afraid you will meet them again at the end of March when you return!! But this time you won't need the 'route map'.......Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at this B&B for one overnight with my son last weekend 28/02/14. Pauline the proprietor couId not have been nicer with her warm, friendly and welcoming self you felt at home straight away and this made our stay just fab.
Her directions for travel were spot on - there was no need to worry about getting lost as it was not going to happen.
It was nice to come into the breakfast room with a warm open fire welcoming you and then have the pleasure of the seafront view to enjoy and to top this you had the excellent breakfast - yum yum :-) The variety was excellent and if you wanted anything it was sure to be delivered with a warm friendly smile.
The bedrooms were very comfortable and all you needed was on hand. A restful night certainly to be had at this guesthouse.
I would highly recommend this accommodation, location excellent, Pauline superb, what more can I say, but if travelling to Bangor this is your pitstop. Sheila :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi - glad you got home safely and that the last of my directions were as good as the first ones whilst you were trying to negotiate the one-way system!! Very happy that everything worked out for you both and that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon......and thank you for taking the time to make a positive comment on the site.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and thought it was excellent, very comfortable beds, and every thing you would need in the rooms. Great breakfasts, and a very friendly, helpful owner. I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. So glad everything was to your satisfaction and you were comfortable whilst you were here. Also very glad that the outcome of your visit was successful. Hope to see you next time.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Hargreaves House in 2006 & again in 2013. The accommodations are EXCELLENT. Miss Pauline is a gracious hostess. She is knowledgeable of the area, and quick to help make reservations or arrange a tour. The food is first rate. Bangor is a beautiful town, and Hargreaves House allows easy access to nearby amenities. Reasonable rates. Clean and quiet.I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockinRobin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Hallo
It was good to see you again and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit. We will certainly look forward to your next stay with us and hope that it will not be so long before we see you. Hopefully you can stay a bit longer next time. In the meantime we both wish you a very happy and prosperous New Year.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I went here for a two night stay for my girlfriends birthday, we got into room it was very comfy and homely feeling to it, Pauline was awesome, we had a laugh too :) but yes recommended very helpful and friendly stay :) thank you again hope to see you again:)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a nice comment on your 2 night stay. What a shame you did not tell me beforehand that it was for a birthday celebration - we could have done something extra for you. Next time perhaps? Anyway, we are glad you had a nice break and enjoyed yourselves.

Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed for three nights (December) and would strongly recommend Hargreaves House. It ticked lots of boxes - quiet, comfortable, excellent breakfast, good location and very helpful advice from Pauline. I liked the seafront position and it provides a good base for touring and walking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandTSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hallo
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment after your 3 day stay here. I am glad everything was to your satisfaction and look forward to your return.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,719 reviews
7.0 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
215 reviews
5.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargreaves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargreaves House

Property: Hargreaves House
Address: 78 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EZ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hargreaves House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing