We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.. Great Night”

The Boat House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 161 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$97
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The best of international cooking using great local produce served with flair.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow.. Great Night”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the Boathouse on 1st February.. The occasion was a surprise birthday party for a friend.. What a great evening. From the champagne and canapé reception, followed by the 7 course tasting menu. Everything was lovely.. There were over 30 of us, all served at the same time. The food was delicious and hot.. Service was spot on.. The Gin selection in the bar was a delight.. Pity, there wasn't time to taste more.. Thank you great evening..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rettendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    58
    25
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Northern Ireland”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Have eaten at the boathouse with my husband, both a la carte and the tasting menu, and then again once our daughter was born for a special anniversary lunch and each time we have left looking forward to our next visit.
Food and service first class making that special occasion really something special.
Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
2 Thank corrinaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Das Boat-house”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Dear Sir, welcome to our establishment. Tonight our chef will be painting a starter of watercolours and jus on a canvas of "big white or black p/slates." He will then follow this with an oil painting of delicacies that barely breaks into the 3RD Dimension & will follow it with a finely rendered mixture of Mark Rothko & Jackson Pollock for dessert. None of this will taste of anything sir, since it is in fact art. We will also try to ply you with as much alcohol with long waits for food to help you forget you are completely famished by the end of the "experience " & have been completely ripped off.
Why thank you very much, my good man.

In plain English - overpriced, reeks of self-importance, Nouvelle cuisine style food - deeply unsatisfying small portions, ponderous waits. Service just ok - nice actual space but bar/waiting area is a joke and basically a thoroughfare to the restaurant. Surrounding customers a mix of a) people that don't know/care about good food and think nothing of blowing a couple hundred of food/drink or b) people that have went based on Tripadvisor review, felt hungry and cheated at the end but everyone is to embarrassed to admit to friends/staff that the whole thing was deeply disappointing.

If you HAVE to go, order plenty of sides (expensive..but you won't be so hungry) and maybe the chef/s will come out onto the floor and you can congratulate them on the evenings artwork.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
19 Thank TheFlashingBlade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Memorable Christmas Day”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Instead of buying each other presents this year, my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to Christmas dinner here. The service was first class, food was amazing, excellent wine choice and there was a lovely festive atmosphere. It was truly an unforgettable experience. The Boat House never fails to impress us. We have already re booked for my birthday in February:)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every mouthful a delight”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I treat this place a real treat. I like to take my friends and family here to taste the wonderful food. Every visit is a real treat. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House Restaurant also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to The Boat House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing