We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in all ways!”

The Boat House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boat House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 181 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$97
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The best of international cooking using great local produce served with flair.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We had a perfect and delicious tasting menu, with the premium wine arrangement.
Every dish was amazingly good and the supporting wines were sublime.
Beautiful variated menu with everything in it what you would expect from a good restaurant.
Nice amuse, and 5 very variated dishes, from seafood, foie gras until a perfect tender steak.
Also a very entertaining explanation of the supporting wines who matched all dishes perfect.
And at the end a personalized menu on paper.
Be back soon!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TeamSTATO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were treated to the 7 course taster menu as a gift. It was a fabulous experience. We are not very adventurous eaters but really enjoyed the experience of foods we would never usually order. Everything we ate looked and tasted great. The building has a lovely feel to it, the staff are friendly, helpful and very attentive. Highly recommend it.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We visited here for a Birthday treat and sampled an exquisite selection of top quality dishes from the taster menu.

Particular highlights included symptoms crab caught by Noel, to die for foie gras, and miniature Veda that melted in the mouth.

The place is beautifully lit and decorated downstairs, with a funky but unobtrusive chilled sound.

Most of all, however, it is the staff who make things that big better. Special thanks to Jonathan and David for entertaining, informing and delighting us with their knowledge and appreciation of fine food and wines to match.
The chef behind the scenes Cathal deserves high praise for his skill and flair. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank TheMayorofNantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We had such a fabulous night at the Boat House - the tasting menu and accompanying wines were fantastic - far better that other Michelin starred type establishments I have visited! The food was all local and tasted amazing. The guys were funny, attentive and knowledgeable. A perfect night out.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank ClaireN991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

beautiful food well thought out with wines to match, great service, staff can't so enough for you, lovely setting

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jmccausland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth S, Owner at The Boat House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review ... much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Boat House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing