We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The soul has gone out of this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here again in December! Never again, the staff were grumpy the food was average and the room was poor! I used to love this place when I stay in Bangor! The French manager was a pompous a arrogant guy who strutted about looking diss approvingly at everything and everybody! When I complained about an issue with my meal he tried to justify it by saying that was how it is done! Will not be back! Shame as it was previously very good!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

I had a meal in the restaurant last Saturday. It had a nice ambiance and lovely decor, the waiting staff were friendly, efficient and we had some banter with them. Even the French waiter that someone mentioned in one of the other reviews was fine if slightly aloof (I just put this down to him being French!)
My one big gripe is that it is one of those restaurants that seems to take great care on the presentation and serving of the food (with the waiters going so far as making sure your plate is in the correct orientation!) which is fine, but there wasn't much on the plate. What was there tasted great, there just wasn't much of it. There's nothing I love more than sitting back after a meal patting my belly feeling stuffed. Unfortunately that feeling was sadly lacking at the Salty Dog.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

we didn't stay in this hotel but had a superb meal in the restaurant. We are food lovers and eat out regulay. My meal of crispy pork belly and liver( i know not a lot of people like liver!) was beyond good served with black pudding(amazing) and mashed potato in a dish with caramalised onions/chutney underneath) a dream of tastes. Can't wait to go back for the 5 course tasting menu.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tactiledrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I specifically booked the Salty Dog after having a great meal there in September.
I booked the Deluxe Seaview Room (£65 BandB) and was more than happy.
Yeah, the room could do with being tarted up slightly, but it was huge!
The staff could not have been friendlier, and the breakfast (a fry of course) was superb.
I read the latest review with a bit of interest, as I stayed in the property just after the TV documentary about Trip Advisor contributors, I make no comment about the reviewer,but, I would just like to say that my experiences of the Salty Dog have been completely different.
I liked it a lot, and i'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank privatewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Went into the restaurant on friday afternoon at 12pm with my Mum. 2 Tables in the whole place and we had to wait to be seated. A woman who was obviously the manager told us that somebody would be with us in a minute, I have been in hospitality for 15years and have never left a customer waiting. We were seated then brought menus, the offer was far too evening dining led so we said we would just like to finish our drinks and then go. The waiter then rudely asked us to move to the bar as he could use our table for someone else. I would not have had a problem at this if there was a waiting list but this was now 12.15 and still only two tables in the place. We would have been 10mins more maximum. Again This may have been just a singular experience but I will never go to this restaurant again because of lazy management and a rude pretentious waiter. Bangor deserves high end, comfortable & great dining experiences. This is not one of them. Avoid, go to Jeffers instead.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rews76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Went for dinner with friends and the food was fabulous. Decor and ambience were perfect. Would recommend this as the best in north down.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed last nite room was basic and could do with an overhaul but the view from the room was excellent. Had dinner what can i say truely amazing by far the best i have eaten in a while. Staff where very friendly and helpful through out.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clownnwcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,747 reviews
5.1 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
251 reviews
7.1 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro

Address: 10-12 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £92 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old Victorian townhouse that’s been beautifully transformed into a stunning boutique hotel overlooking Bangor’s Marina and the Irish Sea. A perfect retreat from everyday hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and great food will make your stay a memorable one. Committed to fine local produce, our highly skilled, award winning chefs, offer a real alternative to Belfast’s restaurants. Whether you’re visiting North Down’s attractions or want a memorable Bangor night out – The Salty Dog offers accessible, nostalgic food in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salty Dog Hotel And Bistro
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing