We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed at the beginning of December for 3 nights. Had a room at the front of the hotel - plenty of room and nicely decorated. We were warmly welcomed by Maeve who looked after us very well throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble - even bringing my husband a tray of beers so he could decide which one he wanted to drink.

Food was excellent and we couldn't fault the service. Friendly staff throughout. Excellent breakfast and a lovely atmosphere in the bistro. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front with plenty of space and a huge bed. A bit of disturbance at chucking ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizalilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

Went here with my wife on Friday evening. It is a nice wee place, good surroundings, staff and atmosphere. It is however way overpriced for what it is. We found the menu somewhat limited and chose to have a main and both went for the steak. This was tasty enough, nothing brilliant. Steak came on a tiny bed of cabbage with a lump of butter on top, and was served with a bowl of wedges for two of us. At £24.50 a portion it was not something to write home about. Steak still quite bloody , I believe could have been rested longer. Opted for a cheese board after which was ok but had to ask for extra biscuits as they were somewhat limited. So two mains ,cheeseboard, bottle of wine (£20, was good) and drinks £120 incl tip which is way way overpriced. Wolseys do a steak which is twice as good for £13. At these prices it is getting Boat House territory (across the road) and it really is not that sort of league. It wasn't all bad as I say and it was an enjoyable evening. Recommendations:- go to Wolseys and get a better feed for half the price or if feeling flush, gob to the Biat House instead.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank neil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We waited more than half an hour for a main meal as part of Sunday lunch and it wasn't even busy. No apology, no excuses, just left sitting there.

When the food came, it was a huge disappointment: portions were soooo tiny, the smallest lump of mash and not even a tablespoon of cabbage.

Considering the prices aren't low, this was a disappointing experience all around.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 19,771,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth S, Owner at The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

I was very sorry to read your review as this is not our usual standard. It woud be great if you could let me know when you came and what you had it would be much appreciated. ken@saltydogbangor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

As a resident of Bangor I have never stayed or seen the rooms but decided to go there for lunch this weekend as I often call in for coffee and enjoy the surroundings and ambience and heard the food was good. Talk about disappointed!!! The menu was a little fancy for lunch for me personally so I choose something from the vegetarian selection ( although I am not one ). A very nice sounding cheese and leek tart with a rocket and walnut salad. Sounded like a lovely combination to me. And a side order of chips which were included in the £13 price. Expensive for one course but I had high hopes.To be fair the tart was very nice however the rocket and walnut accompaniment was a few mixed leaves from a bag and 3 pieces of hard uncooked or glazed walnut and the chips were not good!! very dark and the grease was sitting on them on arrival! I could have had a nice slice of home made quiche and salad from a well known coffee shop in Main Street for half the price. So all in all surroundings and service was good but sadly I wont be back for the food:(

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappycamperBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Used this Hotel 3 times this year for overnight stay. Cant fault it in anyway. Staff are very friendly and accomodating rooms are clean and spacious and food of a very high quality. You are within walking distance of the town but the Hotel is so quiet. The breakfast will set you up for the day. Well done to the staff and owners

Room Tip: This is an old converted Victoria House and you could get lost with all the turns in the stairs etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel in December 2012 and we were very impressed. Check in was quick and very professional. Room was spacious and clean. Staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent standard. Will definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aweetflossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed overnight Saturday 17th November in Rm 3. Beautiful view of bay and across to Carrickfergus plus what is known locally as 'the hole'. Greeted by Maeve who took our original booking and lived totally up to my first impression - friendly, informative, chatty and efficient. The hotel bar and restaurant is modern, warm and excellent - staff equally good. Our room was spacious with beautiful antique furniture and VERY comfortable bed. Friends had booked another restaurant for dinner but breakfast was excellent. Will eat in hotel next time we are in Bangor. No lift but this only added to its charm.

Room Tip: Rooms even at front are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
577 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,072 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
5.1 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
268 reviews
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro

Address: 10-12 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £94 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old Victorian townhouse that’s been beautifully transformed into a stunning boutique hotel overlooking Bangor’s Marina and the Irish Sea. A perfect retreat from everyday hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and great food will make your stay a memorable one. Committed to fine local produce, our highly skilled, award winning chefs, offer a real alternative to Belfast’s restaurants. Whether you’re visiting North Down’s attractions or want a memorable Bangor night out – The Salty Dog offers accessible, nostalgic food in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salty Dog Hotel And Bistro
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing