We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Booked a table for party of four. Messed the restaurant about a bi due to over run business schedules. They were accommodating with smiles.... service good, so busy the staff were beginning to get hoarse ( always a good sign! ) wine good, food good, what more is there to ask for :))

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    110
    55
    42
    25
See reviews for
100
179
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Living far enough away for taxis to be expensive my partner and I choose to do the meal and stay package at The Salty Dog. This was the third stay this year and as ever we were not dissappointed.
Since our last stay, the rooms have improved, bath robes supplied, lovely smelling toiletries and the jar of cookies went down a treat! Beautiful views as always and the rooms nicely aired on arrival.
Our meal as ever was lovely, nothing to set the place alight but for a Sunday, lots of roasts on the menu etc, it would be nice to see more of the regular menu.
The restaurant was busy and fully booked, we heard table after table being turned away, they could have filled the restaurant twice over im sure. However, everything was lovely and not rushed, but definitely not as slow as some others have complained.

Overall, in Bangor, this is one of the best places to go, after dinner we wandered round to the Jamaica Inn and after we came back we were able to finish our night with a glass of wine at the bar. The staff are around as long as you want and you are not made feel as if you should be going to your bed!

Breakfast as ever is probably the best bit! Beautifully cooked to order, not rushed through, as much juice and coffee as you can manage and no one fussing around wanting rid of you.

Thanks to Maeve and Brendan for excellent service, as always.

Room Tip: check out the deals they offer, meal included etc in your stay, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumatronatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch and was sorely disappointed. Lovely location and friendly service was spoiled by truly terrible and overpriced food. Bland fishcake followed by steak in a puddle of spinach juice, both served with yesterday's hollandaise sauce. 3 courses and drinks for 2 came to £50. Can safely say will never return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Calvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just returned from an early evening tea. Having been many times before, we were so disappointed with our meal. We ordered breads, oils, butter etc. to share as a starter. There was a good selection of breads, ample for two. We expected the breads to be warm, they were actually cold, almost like they had been in a chiller. We felt very rushed as far as service was concerned. The bread board hadn't been removed, in fact I still had a piece on my plate and was still eating when our mains arrived. We both ordered the 'homemade burger', having had it before, I ordered well done and my husband ordered medium. I knew immediately that the burger wasn't a proper beef burger eg., a minced beef pattie. The smell was disgusting. I cut a cm sized portion. Needless to say that was all that I ate of it, my husband was unable to eat his either. The server asked if everything was ok and when I explained that the burger wasn't homemade he assured me it was and in fact spoke to the chef who told him it was homemade. Not in Salty Dog it wasn't.!! We were then informed that the burger had come from a 'supplier'! Why would you charge £12 for a 'homemade' burger and serve processed crap! A beef burger is surely one of the easiest things to make! The cost of the burgers were removed from the bill, but the meal has really left us with a 'bad taste' regarding the quality of produce used and served in Salty Dog.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugarpaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Table was booked for 8.30pm. Arrived a little early to have a drink in the bar, which was fine. Probably sat down at the table at apx. 8.40pm.

Service was so slow that Starter arrived at 9.30pm and it seemed like an age in between courses. After having starter, main course, dessert and coffee, it was after midnight. I like a little time between courses to enjoy the wine and chat at the table, but this was ridiculous.

As for the food, my wife and I both had Goats cheese tart for starter - toppings were tasty enough, but the tart itself (base) was burnt and spoiled the whole course.

For main course I had the Lamb Rump, which was just warm enough (on the verge of sending back). My wife had the fish and chips which was served in a wire basket set on a wooden platter. Sounds great, but when the basket slides off the platter almost onto your lap when the waiter tries to set it down, it comes as a bit of a nasty surprise - Fish was also overcooked.

For dessert it was Sticky Toffee Pudding and Chocolate Pot. My wife's chocolate pot was nice, but my pudding was far from sticky, quite bland and I had not expected it to be served cold!

Overall a very disappointing experience from a restaurant which looked and seemed so promising. The dishes sounded fantastic, but I get the feeling that this place is just "batting above its average"

Toilets were not clean and ran out of drying paper half way through the evening, never to be replaced.

We will certainly not be back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gesture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Table in the restaurant was booked for 8.30pm but yet we still hadn't received our starters at 9.20pm. Eating desert at 11pm is far too late. All in all a very poor evening - time between courses too long. Burnt pastry on the goats cheese tart and cold mushy peas with the haddock & chips. Toilets needed a clean and hand towel bin was over flowing. I don't mind paying for excellent food and service but I certainly didn't receive that this evening.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 88geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Been a few times before with ok experiences. Tonight started off ok, arrived 30 mins before time table booked, well received and had drink in lounge.

Then it went downhill.

If I have a table booked for 8.30 I do not expect to have to wait till 10.10 for my main course! Wasn't as if the place was overly busy, just very slow service. Starters were fine (overpriced in my opinion) my main course of lamb looked fine but whilst it was tender, was the most bland tasteless lamb I have ever experienced.

To be fair, the staff tried hard and were apologetic, but the problems are obviously in the kitchen/management area.

When we got our bill were were asked if it was ok - our reply was that a bit of discount for the wait would be good but were informed this was not possible. Whilst the service issues were acknowledged by the staff, no one was prepared to make any sort of gesture, even offer of free coffee would have been nice!

It is hard enough in Bangor to enjoy a good dining experience but this is one establishment we are unlikely to frequent again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
553 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,729 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
7.1 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro

Property: The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Address: 10-12 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old Victorian townhouse that’s been beautifully transformed into a stunning boutique hotel overlooking Bangor’s Marina and the Irish Sea. A perfect retreat from everyday hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and great food will make your stay a memorable one. Committed to fine local produce, our highly skilled, award winning chefs, offer a real alternative to Belfast’s restaurants. Whether you’re visiting North Down’s attractions or want a memorable Bangor night out – The Salty Dog offers accessible, nostalgic food in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salty Dog Hotel And Bistro
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing